List Mgmt. 2026 List Management

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

That must mean we do have that extra cap space. Bailey, Humphrey, King, and even Butters should be names to target although he will probably be out of reach.

Be very happy if we could land one

I have no doubt we are going to be very active and would have a lot of names targeted. These are just two I was told we are keen to have and are putting our best foot forward
I’d be stoked if we landed either Bailey or Humphrey. Perfect for what we still need imo

Will help if they can finalise the fs rules. How hard they go on that will dictate how much currency we have for trades.

Was mentioned that the expectation is we will use 2 x first rounders for Walker and get something like a end first round back. Nothing confirmed but seems to be the talk (or maybe hope?)

Good, hopefully they sign him up, and we avoid that pointless speculation about him coming to Carlton (even though we don't have the picks to get it done) for the rest of the year. One less messiah to worry about.
Don't we have two first round picks for each of the next three years?

I think we must have been close to Bailey Humphrey last season. The rumours seemed as if it was going that way. He'd be a good get. Zac Bailey is also a very good player. It's inline with something I called a few years ago that we will have a big clean out of forwards.

One of them with Hayward, Ainsworth, Byrne, Moir, Kemp, McKay etc would be one hell of a forward line. I would think that we would be looking for a forward or two who has the ability to go into the middle at times and make an impact. Bailey can do that. Byrne has done it in his junior days and Humphrey may be able to, he is very talented.

I am still of the opinion that getting Walker and Butters is doable and should be taken seriously.

I think we should trade Cerra. He's beginning to look a lot like Adam Treloar with his hamstring issues. Talented but likely unfixable. He would not net much but that opens up the salary cap. With Lord coming on and Walker and Butters coming onto the list, we wouldn't miss Cerra. This improves us a great deal and would give us a midfield of Cripps, Hewett, Butters, Walsh, Walker, Smith and Lord. Probably one of the best and quickest midfields in the game in 2027 and probably nets us a premiership. Cripps and Hewett likely retire soon after this, opening the door for Camporeale and Lord.

Our salary cap should be in a very good state. Particularly with the departures we have just had. Cripps 31, Acres 31, Hewett 30, Cerra potentially with unfixable hamstring issues. We have a need to bring in midfielders and where the game is, we have a need to inject pace, agility and run.

Our cap should be very open now and with the above listed players either about to retire or go onto a lower contract then we have the ability to bring in a player or two on big money and heavily back end their contract.

A lot of people saying Port could match our bid, I'm not sure about that. I think the amount our cap could be opened up could be quite significant.

We have Sydney's first pick this year. They had a massive fall down the ladder last year and while they have gained Curnow, they have lost players as well. Chances that we only need one first rounder for Walker because Sydney fall further is not out of the question. If that happens we have access to 4 first round draft picks. To me Sydney are too "gun" reliant now and in modern footy it makes you stoppable. Curnow up forward with no other significant targets means he gets swamped. No McKay to take some of the heat. It will be interesting to see how this plays out in real games. Maybe I am underestimating them.

Regardless of what happens we have a minimum two first round picks in 2026 and as it stands are the only team to have two first round picks in that draft. We also have access to our first round pick in 2027 and our 2028 first round pick so having currency could be a part of our equation to making a trade.

We also have two second round picks next season. A trade of Cerra for a second round pick would give us 3 and that could be used to get back into next year's first round as well.

The way the system works now, you simply cannot rule out anything. Carlton have the best currency going into next year's draft with two firsts, two seconds, one third and one fourth rounder plus two firsts in 2027 and I believe players to trade. We also have a strong salary cap, we would have to be a club in a strong position to land a gun or two, particularly if Sydney bomb out.

I would not rule it out at all. The question should be, if Butters is on the move, why would we not be the club in the box seat? What puts other clubs ahead of us? Strong salary cap, heaps of picks, connections at the club, destination club...

8 years for a player with a history of injuries and an average kick is silly.
Yes but if we can get 3 "A" Grade years out of walsh and it leads us to finals, the club can still attracts players from other clubs. Walsh leaves we are bottom 6 side, in a death spiral like 2015-2020 and we can not attract players. My view we had to keep Walsh

Good, hopefully they sign him up, and we avoid that pointless speculation about him coming to Carlton (even though we don't have the picks to get it done) for the rest of the year. One less messiah to worry about.
How many picks do we need for an OOC player??

Bailey as a FA with no loss of draft capital would be a big win.

Fits a position/skillset of need and allows us to bring in more quality talent through the draft in addition to Walker.
Can't imagine how we could have enough collateral to entice Humphrey over and get Walker without selling the farm and going into deficit big time. Bailey as a free agent would be near on perfect for us. To be fair with Bailey you know exactly what you are getting whereas with Humphrey you are more paying for what he might become.

He's a Free Agent at the end of 2026, Port can match any offer that we make and then force a trade if they so desire, so I'd say it'll take plenty. Look at what we got for Charlie, and remember he's worth more than Charlie was. PA is said to be offering upwards of 2 million a year.

Also, factor in that we will need high picks to get Walker next year as well.

We don't have the capital to get them both, and we are already committed to Walker.

Don't we have two first round picks for each of the next three years?
The next 2 now, but 2027 is when Tassie enters the draft with a swag of first round picks, albeit we might be in a position to trade for the ones they have to give up.

I'd suggest we need a gun HB more than a gun HF - we just added Ainsworth and Haywood, then we've Elijah and Moir who play that role...
You're talking periphery B grade types there. Humphrey had more game breaking ability with more scope to play high damage midfield minutes than any of them. He'd immediately be in our top 5 most impactful players.