Mega Thread 2026 Media & Miscellaneous Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Tonga Bob

The word is used recklessly these days, but Dennis is a Deadset Legend in so many ways. Listened & watched him since his playing days, absolutely brilliant with the ABC & the commercial networks.

Garlic Muncher, through and through.

I can see him reuniting with Wally and having a good yarn , ......... just don't let George in the room.

RIP.

Thing I'm loving about this (as sad as it is) is everyone getting onto SM and posting their favourite Commetiisms. Kinda similar to when Sean Lock passed and everyone posted their favourite clips of him.

The punning humorous Dennis is just a bit of side salad to the fact that he was an intelligent articulate and accurate caller.

Maybe at odds with that I strangely also think of him as a proudly WA commentator (and this probably originates with early memories of state cricket and football matches), but not in the sense that he revealed an unprofessional bias, more that he educated and informed his listeners/viewers of the quality of opposition teams to build up the drama of a contest and the merit of a winning result.

The punning humorous Dennis is just a bit of side salad to the fact that he was an intelligent articulate and accurate caller.

Maybe at odds with that I strangely also think of him as a proudly WA commentator, not in the sense that he revealed an unprofessional bias, but he educated and informed his listeners/viewers of the quality of opposition teams to build up the drama of a contest and the merit of a winning result.
I think that's why Dennis and Bruce worked so well together. Bruce was pure emotion while Dennis was astute at calling the game perfectly but also bloody funny in his own special way.

RIP Den. As a kid who watched heaps of footy during the 90s, I feel fortunate to have had such a great commentator shape my understanding and enjoyment of the game from a young age.

Here's something on a different topic. Some nice words from Jeff Horn about us.

Dennis C was the best. There was no artificial hype. So many of the dills today have egos so big they think that they have to amp up the footy to make it interesting. Dennis was so relaxed, his brilliant commentary was like adding just the right amout of seasoning. I can't believe how sad I am at his passing. Never got to say thanks. His best ever in my mind is describing Spider Burton as 'a galloping hat rack'. Where that came from I have no idea but it is so perfect. Dennis was always in direct communication with The Almighty.

My favourite Dennis moment is at 15:15 in this video. Just the raw brilliance of a spectacular moment

Imagine BT or Mark Howard ****ing this moment up, that's what we live with now

I want a derby and then unleash this - Kickett and Sonny coming out from the sheds….

My favourite Dennis moment is at 15:15 in this video. Just the raw brilliance of a spectacular moment

Imagine BT or Mark Howard ****ing this moment up, that's what we live with now

Or Kellie ‘bloody’ Underwood ….
Jesus wept

Great listen wouldn’t be surprised if he’s the next captain got me flipping excited for the year
Just listening now, I had to go and look up Josh's age, to discover he's still only 23, because he talks like someone who has lived 33+ years on the planet, so self-assured, articulate and cool/calm/collected.

I can see why people want him to be the next captain, makes a lot of sense to me.

I remember when we played Collingwood years ago and Dennis quoted "heading to the footy is Cook and Burns, usually a terrible combination" and being amazed. He was the voice to my (like so many others I'd imagine) childhood and I'll forever love his calls and charisma.

For those who haven't seen

He’s quite charismatic, isn’t he? Whilst it is only a brief glance, there are instances of high emotional intelligence which would no doubt make him pretty popular around the club.

In that old media environment, his easy going charm could have once made him a few bucks, spruiking male centric goods.

Dennis C was the best. There was no artificial hype. So many of the dills today have egos so big they think that they have to amp up the footy to make it interesting. Dennis was so relaxed, his brilliant commentary was like adding just the right amout of seasoning. I can't believe how sad I am at his passing. Never got to say thanks. His best ever in my mind is describing Spider Burton as 'a galloping hat rack'. Where that came from I have no idea but it is so perfect. Dennis was always in direct communication with The Almighty.

I remember seeing him strutting down Hay Street humming to himself like a Roald Dahl character. Just a very casual and easy going guy.

I would love each member of the commentary team, for each game, each work one "Comettiism" into their call as a tribute to the great man.