Position 2026 Midfielders

Id rather Walsh plus bye for slightly extra. If fit reckon he can go 115+, which it looks like he is. Has done it before.

Caldwell body issues, Steele similar and been going backwards.

PS watch on both no doubt though if weighing them up.
Don’t think you can judge the other two for injuries and than suggest Walsh

Yeah nah Walsh more upside and better is what i mean to say more directly assuming fit.

Steele downhill slope for years.
Caldwell a bit unsure PLUS injury prone.

Max King games:
12 in 2024
0 in 2025

Hayden Young games:
23 in 2024
8 in 2025

12 v 31 is hardly 'just'. it's almost 3 times the amount.

Young isn't injury prone at all. Had a tough run with it last season, but has played 23, 22 and 20 games in the 3 seasons prior to that. I think he's one of the least risky picks.
I really like Young as a player. Easiest lock of those in the $300-400k range.

Could be a big call and feel free to call me a dumb kent, but if he can get back to his best this year, I could also see that resulting in less attention being given tl Serong. Reckon Young is capable of being just as, if not more damaging.

young was an absolute lock in teams in 2024 when he was 520k, and we’re now getting him even cheaper. no brainer imo

I've seen Darcy Parish in a few teams - great player and nicely priced but will he miss games like the last couple of seasons?

100% he started to get attention in 2024 he was playing that well. Serong will only flourish with a fit and firing Young

Probably, the hope is he can go at 90+ for at least 7 rounds to make around $150k.
Bombers have a late bye. If you cross your fingers and hope he makes it until then you'd be stoked to swap him for a player who has had their bye. Depends who else you've got that's a risk, is rather role the dice with Ridley over Parish.

Probably, the hope is he can go at 90+ for at least 7 rounds to make around $150k.

Bombers have a late bye. If you cross your fingers and hope he makes it until then you'd be stoked to swap him for a player who has had their bye. Depends who else you've got that's a risk, is rather role the dice with Ridley over Parish.
Cheers, could almost be a keeper or a late season upgrade if he stays on the park

For what it’s worth Caldwell obviously only played the 11 games last year, but played 23, 21 and 20 in the previous 3.
:padlock: in my side ....I'm mindful of tag targets in my midfield, so prefer Caldwell over Serong currently .....that and focussing on transitional Mids over stoppage heavy mids 🤔

Caldwell ownership is at 2%... I have learnt the hard way that is not a good thing.

Players i looked at but have not enough support..

Freijah 3% - have been heavily considering him
TDK 5%
Thilthorpe 2%
Washcroft 8%
Dawson 7%
Baz 5%
Zerrett 3%
Blakey 1%

Names thrown up by others..

Salem 1%
CMcDonald 1%
Banks 1%
HLangford 7% - Surprised it's even that high
Steele - 8% - Should be higher if he were a legit bargain
Culley 4%
Rivers 3%
Wardlaw (via code sports plug) 5% - I looked at him closer and i like him if he hits 10%
Windsor 2% - lot of Melbourne players snubbed even tho lots of talk

Players i looked at but have not enough support..

Freijah 3% - have been heavily considering him
TDK 5%
Thilthorpe 2%
Washcroft 8%
Dawson 7%
Baz 5%
Zerrett 3%
Blakey 1%

Names thrown up by others..

Salem 1%
CMcDonald 1%
Banks 1%
HLangford 7% - Surprised it's even that high
Steele - 8% - Should be higher if he were a legit bargain
Culley 4%
Rivers 3%
Wardlaw (via code sports plug) 5% - I looked at him closer and i like him if he hits 10%
Windsor 2% - lot of Melbourne players snubbed even tho lots of talk
Back yourself mate. It's ok to start a couple of POD's if you think they are good picks. You just don't want 15 of them.

If Parish can make it to his bye that would be the perfect outcome, easy flip to premo that’s had the bye.

Caldwell ownership is at 2%... I have learnt the hard way that is not a good thing.

Will probably rise as the season gets closer but big issue is akward price.

Need him to be top 8 to justify his price point and that’s unlikely. Best case you get a top 8 mid for 440k worst case you bleed 10 points on the top mids and have to burn 2 trades to upgrade him

If you don’t have him and he. Starts breaking out you can just get him at 550k in week 6 and still get him cheap.

Swans fans, is Heeney gonna play exclusively midfield with Curnow coming in? I reckon he's got 10 points on last years average in him if so.
You'd assume so. Forward line loses Hayward but gains Curnow, McDonald, Rosas, and Cootee (probably not best 23 but unlikely that we take a mature ager if he's not thereabouts). Uninterrupted pre-season for Dattoli so far too.

Heeney will definitely still spend stints up forward, but it will be like his 2024 role.

Merrett and the Bombres going to see eye to eye this year? Will they let him play midfield?

he was rotating HHF with Durham in the match sim.

Would expect that to continue. Good chance at DPP rd 6

Had Parish Caldwell and Durham as first choice mids.

Id expect a defensive to start in place of Parish with group 1 being Caldwell Durham and defensive mid (Tsatsas/setterfield)

Then Sharpe Merrett Parish as group 2

🦢
DREAM A HEENEY?
🦢

Isaac Heeney could be the ultimate SuperCoach sleeper!
If you’re hunting a genuine point of difference, Isaac Heeney needs to soar to the top of your list and the reasons why take a bit of digging.
Shout out to @SuperCoach_DR on Twitter for pulling these numbers together.
It’s always hard to predict who will actually be a POD come Round 1, but I genuinely can’t see a world where Heeney’s ownership spikes. Most coaches seem happy to save the $30k and go with his teammate Errol Gulden instead… which leaves Heeney sitting in just 2% of teams right now. Two. Percent.
Here’s where it gets spicy:
❌
Heeney averaged 102 without Errol
❌
Heeney averaged 100 without Mills
✅
Heeney averaged 119 with both Errol and Mills
With Mills and Gulden fit and firing this preseason, it might be worth swallowing the early bye to chase the upside.
It’s also easy to forget just how scary the Swans were before last year’s drop off. Add Gulden, add Mills, add Curnow up forward and suddenly Sydney look like genuine contenders again.
Why does that matter? Because Heeney averaged:
✅
116 in wins
❌
102 in losses
If you priced Heeney purely off his games with Gulden and Mills, he’d be sitting around $640k which means right now you’re getting him at a $50k discount.
Low ownership. Elite ceiling. Underpriced.

Callahan is every thing LDU was supposed to be. Three years in a row I picked LDU with high hopes. I can rest easy knowing he will not be in my round one team.

If LDU moved clubs and was coached by RTB or Mitchell he would be a top 8 mid. Unfortunately think the saga has taken its toll on Clarkson.