Xav Bamert (North VFL)
Louie Montgomery (GWS VFL) left foot half back
Jackson Voss (Frankston VFL) dour half back
Kobe Ryan (West Adelaide) Inside Mid
Josh Tovey (Port Melbourne) 195cm inside mid/KF
Jaxson Artemis (TAS VFL) half back
Max Mapley (TAS VFL) Ruck

If we want a longer term option, Tom McGuane would be a decent option as a midfielder too.
Out of interest, having taught Tom, what do you think stopped Collingwood pulling any of the recruiting levers they have a picking him up by now? It really surprises me that he is on their list.

I’d say height and speed were the biggest issues. Sub 180cm mids really need an athletic point of difference. I think he is a pretty good runner but not genuinely elite.

Collingwood drafted Swadling and Angus Anderson over him who are both 188cm+ mids

Personally though, I would’ve thought his footy IQ and his ability to find the footy would’ve been enough to at least get taken in the rookie draft.

Louie Montgomery got pushed up onto a wing in the GwS VFL game. Slow first half but ended up with 18 posessions and 3 goals. Really damaging ball use fwd of centre.

Didn’t watch the Port Melbourne/Werribee game but Josh Tovey was influential again. 16 disposals, kicked 2.3 and had 6 tackles. Such a unique prospect, not many 195cm midfielders running around dominating the state leagues.
There has been several very good performances this weekend. AFL clubs have got a good bunch this year. roos_fanatic08 what position do u see Tovey playing at AFL? My gut tells me his speed is a major deterrent.

18 teams?

Wtf you have no idea

Soon to be 19, in 7 years I'd have thought ZERO clubs would have been in our exact position. I would like to see the correlation between it and those teams who won the premiership to be absolutely sure.
I’d say height and speed were the biggest issues. Sub 180cm mids really need an athletic point of difference. I think he is a pretty good runner but not genuinely elite.

Collingwood drafted Swadling and Angus Anderson over him who are both 188cm+ mids

Personally though, I would’ve thought his footy IQ and his ability to find the footy would’ve been enough to at least get taken in the rookie draft.

Is there a 2027 version of "Kingy" in the state leagues?

That would be a good place to start.

Hard, Fast and Skillful...

Xav Bamert (North VFL)
Louie Montgomery (GWS VFL) left foot half back
Jackson Voss (Frankston VFL) dour half back
Kobe Ryan (West Adelaide) Inside Mid
Josh Tovey (Port Melbourne) 195cm inside mid/KF
Jaxson Artemis (TAS VFL) half back
Max Mapley (TAS VFL) Ruck

If we want a longer term option, Tom McGuane would be a decent option as a midfielder too.
Xav Bamert should be our pick if we have one.

There has been several very good performances this weekend. AFL clubs have got a good bunch this year. roos_fanatic08 what position do u see Tovey playing at AFL? My gut tells me his speed is a major deterrent.

Speed and kicking the downside I’d say, but man the kid is a competitor. He is raw as anything but once he fills out he is going to be a specimen.

His best impact is as a clearance mid, but he has good hands aswell. Good forward craft and good midfield craft. So I think 3rd tall fwd with bursts in the midfield would be his go at AFL level I reckon.

Is there a 2027 version of "Kingy" in the state leagues?

That would be a good place to start.

Hard, Fast and Skillful...

That’d be the dream. There are players out there who tick at least 1 box but not many that tick all 3.

Jackson Voss, Hard and Skillful. Doesn’t provide that run though.

Louie Montgomery skillful, athletic, booming kick who provides drive.

Nathan Philactides, athletic, fast,
Loves to take the game on with run and carry. Not particularly good one on one and is probably on the softer side.

That’d be the dream. There are players out there who tick at least 1 box but not many that tick all 3.

Loves to take the game on with run and carry. Not particularly good one on one and is probably on the softer side.
I didn’t see any of the Frankston game but it looks like Voss had another strong game.
I watched half of the giants and Montgomery was very good. Uses the ball well.
I watched all of the Tassie game and Philactides was close to if not bog.

Some really strong prospects this msd.

Seems like we'll open a MSD spot? Hate to see it happen due to injury but looks likely. Watched a lot of footy of different clubs over last few weeks. Voss at Frankston looks ready, At Richmond El Nour a very solid key defender deserves a call up after a few years in the system, B&F's and a good start to the year. Sharkie trained with Richmond over summer and has played well in the VFL, runs all day, plays off HB damaging with ball in hand or on a wing which we need. If a small forward also liked Stefanakis from Tassie. Thoughts?

Who? Which spot?
Just saw a website listing we're a possibility to open a spot.

Craft of Draft: Melbourne and North Melbourne could open list spots before this months draft, with Demons veteran Tom Campbell considering retirement, while Roos rookie Blake Thredgold cold miss the entire 2026 season with a foot injury.

Being the money driven organisation the AFL is, I am surprised they haven't changed the list size and draft rules to make it compulsory each club must take at least 1 person - without having to "open a spot" - just a plus one for 6 months. would create more interest and with Tas coming in it would give some players AFL exposure if only for those 6 months.

Maybe when they bring in mid-season trading, they'll do it so you can trade mid or november draft picks....

Those three look like really good prospects. Philactides looks like a Massim D'Ambrosio clone, beautiful left peg.

Being the money driven organisation the AFL is, I am surprised they haven't changed the list size and draft rules to make it compulsory each club must take at least 1 person - without having to "open a spot" - just a plus one for 6 months. would create more interest and with Tas coming in it would give some players AFL exposure if only for those 6 months.

Maybe when they bring in mid-season trading, they'll do it so you can trade mid or november draft picks....

I've been on this for a while, give every club 1 selection and if a player or players go down then you get multiple picks.

Obviously it all has to fit in under the cap.

Seems like we'll open a MSD spot? Hate to see it happen due to injury but looks likely. Watched a lot of footy of different clubs over last few weeks. Voss at Frankston looks ready, At Richmond El Nour a very solid key defender deserves a call up after a few years in the system, B&F's and a good start to the year. Sharkie trained with Richmond over summer and has played well in the VFL, runs all day, plays off HB damaging with ball in hand or on a wing which we need. If a small forward also liked Stefanakis from Tassie. Thoughts?

I was a big fan of El Nour a few years ago, I personally reckon he has dropped off a bit. Doesn't provide as much run and carry as he used to. Also don't think he is a KPD despite his height.

Don't mind Sharkie, but from memory he didn't test particularly well at the combine last year.

Doesn't Stefanakis play for Sandy? Hagan would be the best small forward in the Tassie crop.

I was a big fan of El Nour a few years ago, I personally reckon he has dropped off a bit. Doesn't provide as much run and carry as he used to. Also don't think he is a KPD despite his height.

Don't mind Sharkie, but from memory he didn't test particularly well at the combine last year.

Doesn't Stefanakis play for Sandy? Hagan would be the best small forward in the Tassie crop.
roos_fanatic08 we've had this discussion before, Hagan does not come from a basketball background, granted he has a left AND right foot, but just can't kick with either and let's not go into his LEGO addiction!!! Simply no good! ;)

The guy I'd look at is a kid by the name of Geordie Payne.... can see him in the Royal Blue and White!!!

PS: I don't mind the look of Nick Williams, nice athleticism, is strong in the air, always beats his man and works hard. I'd like a little more height on him, but he's someone to keep an eye on, it's suggested he plays like Brandon Starcevich, I'd probably agree.

roos_fanatic08 we've had this discussion before, Hagan does not come from a basketball background, granted he has a left AND right foot, but just can't kick with either and let's not go into his LEGO addiction!!! Simply no good! ;)

The guy I'd look at is a kid by the name of Geordie Payne.... can see him in the Royal Blue and White!!!

PS: I don't mind the look of Nick Williams, nice athleticism, is strong in the air, always beats his man and works hard. I'd like a little more height on him, but he's someone to keep an eye on, it's suggested he plays like Brandon Starcevich, I'd probably agree.

Hope Hagan at least gets a shot with Tas once they come in. He has worked his ass off trying to get his shot.

Nick Williams was part of the GC academy a few years back yeah? Must be 21-22 now? Rated his competitiveness and marking but he hasn’t been on my radar.

How are you rating Rory Wright’s step up to VFL level? Still reckon he has enough traits to be on an AFL list too.

Hope Hagan at least gets a shot with Tas once they come in. He has worked his ass off trying to get his shot.

Nick Williams was part of the GC academy a few years back yeah? Must be 21-22 now? Rated his competitiveness and marking but he hasn’t been on my radar.

How are you rating Rory Wright’s step up to VFL level? Still reckon he has enough traits to be on an AFL list too.
He's probably been a little underwhelming (maybe a little harsh), but he's going to get it all to click for him soon I hope. Strikes me as being a little slow, but I've only watched a small sample size so far (only played 3 games I think? Injured? I should probably ask). Might come in for Zach Adams depending on team structure (ACL I'm hearing, I haven't seen it confirmed tho).

Yep, Nick was at GC in their Academy.

Caleb Mitchell been good, Jaxon Artemis consistent, but Jye Menzie has been outstanding so far!

Seen El Nour a bit this year. Very dependable, hates to lose a 1v1 - good trait for a back! Throws his body around but hard to match up on. Sharkie tests well for endurance at 2k and shuttle, not sure about combine, did a 6 min flat 2k at Oakleigh, the advantage is his quality ball use. Stefanakis plays for Sandy but a good watch if you have time.