Preview 2026 MSD Draft Prospects

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

Looking at Adelaide last week, none of them are skinny little weeds. We need players with size, skills, speed and guts.
That has basically been Adelaide’s recruitment profile since the early 2000s. 6ā€1-2, muscle, athletic, skill. Rinse and repeat.

Ok I'd kinda disregarded this because I didn't think we were gonna open up another spot.

So apologies if this has been done to death already.

What's the likelihood that
1) Bamert lasts until our pick, and
2) We select him

Feels like Artemis and Herbert are firming as likely top selections? Which would help, I guess.

What about all the teams between us and Richmond?

Ok I'd kinda disregarded this because I didn't think we were gonna open up another spot.

2) We select him

Feels like Artemis and Herbert are firming as likely top selections? Which would help, I guess.

Bamert to us mostly depends on whether * rate Bamert as their first choice. Artemis/Herbert both make more sense as ready-made options, while Bamert still has quite a bit of development to go.

The tigers have a few in mind, including Artemis, El Nour, Toner and a few others. Melbourne is the other team who likes Bamert, but they are after our pick.

Bamert to us mostly depends on whether * rate Bamert as their first choice. Artemis/Herbert both make more sense as ready-made options, while Bamert still has quite a bit of development to go.
Helps that both Bombres and Tigres have injury crises that need tending to.

Artemis straight in for McGrath, perhaps?
Herbert for Lalor?

Helps that both Bombres and Tigres have injury crises that need tending to.

Artemis straight in for McGrath, perhaps?
Herbert for Lalor?
Makes sense, but the msd can spring some surprises.

2) We select him

Carlton supposedly aren’t taking a pick.

GWS & Port have only really been linked to ruckman.

Bulldogs have been linked to tall forwards and ruckman.

Yep. The AFL.com.au article provides a little reason for hope in the meantime though.

View attachment 2619214
View attachment 2619215

Big if, but if all that comes to pass, and if Artemis and Herbert are taken at #1 and #2, that would leave WCE as the only threat to take Bamert.

Not that I've seen anything at all that links him to them.

WC like Jackson Voss and have interviewed him multiple times. Not sure if he’ll be in the conversation for their first pick though.

Sam Toner produced the best performance of his career at this level at the perfect time ahead of the upcoming mid season draft that takes place in a few days time. Toner is a raw athletic prospect who motored up and down his wing in this game, finding plenty of the footy and hitting the scoreboard. While he has some rough edges that need to be smoothed off with further development (as seen with some of his decision making and skill execution in this game) he seems like the kind of prospect the rookie list was made for, one that could pay off for a club willing to take a chance on his upside.

WC like Jackson Voss and have interviewed him multiple times. Not sure if he’ll be in the conversation for their first pick though.
Mod on the WCE board says:

"Caleb May, Kye Annand, Jackson Voss, Jasper Peace, Kane Bevan, Tom Bell and Moutaz El Nour are just some of the names we’ve been reported as talking to

Likely it’ll be someone from that group but no idea who"

Meanwhile, I feel myself getting more emotionally invested in us selecting Bamert with every passing hour, lol

Mod on the WCE board says:

"Caleb May, Kye Annand, Jackson Voss, Jasper Peace, Kane Bevan, Tom Bell and Moutaz El Nour are just some of the names we’ve been reported as talking to

Likely it’ll be someone from that group but no idea who"

Meanwhile, I feel myself getting more emotionally invested in us selecting Bamert with every passing hour, lol
I'm planning to do a Bamert game from this year (I have one of his on my channel from last year), do you guys have a recommendation? Round 2 against the Blues looks like it was productive.

Round 3 against the blues and round 4 against Sandy were his two best games mate.

Carlton supposedly aren’t taking a pick.

GWS & Port have only really been linked to ruckman.

Bulldogs have been linked to tall forwards and ruckman.

I think Carlton will take a pick now given Matt Carrol’s injury yesterday.

Sam Toner produced the best performance of his career at this level at the perfect time ahead of the upcoming mid season draft that takes place in a few days time. Toner is a raw athletic prospect who motored up and down his wing in this game, finding plenty of the footy and hitting the scoreboard. While he has some rough edges that need to be smoothed off with further development (as seen with some of his decision making and skill execution in this game) he seems like the kind of prospect the rookie list was made for, one that could pay off for a club willing to take a chance on his upside.

I have watched him a bit this year. Definitely has the talent. Suspect the tigers will take him.

Who would you be targeting?
Surely they will be looking to bring in some speed. A speedy HB or speedy small fwd. I believe there was some interest in Bamert but is he a bit one paced?
Hugo Hall-Kahan
Nathan Philactides
Jackson Voss
Marcus Herbert
Charlie Clarke
Andreas Stefanakis
Jed Hagen
Isaac Baldwin
Charlie Lazzaro

After being overlooked at last year's national draft Xavier Bamert could realise his AFL dream in the coming days at the mid season draft. Bamert is a versatile type who works super hard out on the field and plays with toughness and physicality. He's a nice size for a mid/flanker and strong overhead, which should allow him to be a bit of a swiss army knife type role player at the next level.

Who would you be targeting?

Got a feeling it’ll be one of Ollie Griffen, Joel Fitzgerald, or Sam Toner … probably depending on whether we want more run and carry off half back or a bit more firepower up forward.

We were linked to Bamert, but I can’t really see us bringing in another slowish type. I reckon that was more because he is dating Sophie McKay and had been around the club.