- Aug 6, 2021
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
Every club's new NGA zone confirmed after AFL review
Tasmania's impending entry into the AFL has forced a re-jig of NGA zones

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
So we'd have access to Archie Devine as an NGA then?Tasmania, however, will have access to Tasmanian talents from 2027, with North Melbourne retaining access to players in the state through to the end of 2026
Ssshhhh we can do a Trembath. No one talk about him.Can’t quite wrap my head around Sam Harris not being included on that list. He was one of the most consistent under agers in the Coates League this year.
Heaps of fun was correct, Mr Shaw was also correct, good player who got better in the latter stages of his footy career, consistency I guess was the key and then injuries came calling. I didn't rate Jasper, he had one good year with port and Jarod, well he at least had some really good games when he wasn't injured and then of course cameNic Newman. Ryhse Shaw had convinced north to take him but that fell through when we got pittard
Swans will ramp up the privileges this year and polish him up like they did with Blakey. Won’t choose us. Stays home with mum and dad too.
They can treat him like a prince, but there's a little problem, as well as an old saying, "The heart never lies"Swans will ramp up the privileges this year and polish him up like they did with Blakey. Won’t choose us. Stays home with mum and dad too.
We have Archie Devine lined up for this exact positionMidfielders/Wings (Some showed they could play across half back as well)
Bradys going to love this. We have axcess to players between 176cm to 180cm tall..
Cochrane is 194cm???Finally got around to watching the Futures game. Some impressive and interesting types next year.
I would say rebounding half back, key forward, speed/endurance through the middle/wing/hbf and medium defender depth would be the most urgent things we'd be looking to add.
I think it would be a no-brainer for us to bid on the half backs tied to other clubs like Archie Hill (Suns), Caylen Murray (Lions) and Garrison Kneh (WCE NGA). Similarly, you'd think we bid on McCartney if he chooses Swans.
I believe defender Tate Hodgson didn't play. I put in bold players not tied to other clubs I liked the look of.
Defenders
Kale Matthews-Hampton - 187cm or 198cm def?, athletic, rebound D50, good disposal
Darcy Szerszyn - 188cm defender, lockdown, intercept and rebound, good skills
Ethan Matthews (GWS Academy) - 185cm defender/wing, got some class, efficient ball user
Caylen Murray (Lions Academy) - 183cm def/hbf, good athlete, intercept, rebound, class
Archie Hill (Suns Academy) - 182cm defender/mid, Rebounding defender, Speed, Good ball user (85% DE)
Garrison Kenh (WCE NGA) - Speed and power as a rebounding half back
Heath Mellody - 181cm wing/def, agile, intercept, rebound off half back, dual-sided, used it well
Jack Gordon - 184cm def/mid, agile, accumulates, runs hard, clean hands, used it well
Xavier Ladbrook - 200cm def/fwd/ruck, athletic, covers ground well, potential unicorn but little impact
Dougie Cochrane (Port NGA) - 194cm def/fwd/mid, raw talent with athleticism, speed & power, limited touches
Mate I hope you are right, but the absolute joke that a former AFL player, who has played more than 100 games for that club, can have a son somehow tied to an academy of another club that is based interstate is absolutely farcical. That is benefitting one club and one club only. Ridiculous.They can treat him like a prince, but there's a little problem, as well as an old saying, "The heart never lies"![]()
Sure that's great if Archie can play that role for us, but it may be a Tassie loan situation for a few years.We have Archie Devine lined up for this exact position
Him, Harris and a KPF (McCartney or houndsome/van hattum) need to be what we come away with this draft
Seen him recently referred to as 196cm on AFL site, so key position height really with that athleticism.Cochrane is 194cm???
It would suck from a talent and romance point of view, but if he doesn't want to play for us, can't do much about it.Swans will ramp up the privileges this year and polish him up like they did with Blakey. Won’t choose us. Stays home with mum and dad too.
Ah yes the kid who has played AFL since he was 8 years old and who’s Dad has been involved in the AFL for the past 20 years in some capacity, would’ve been lost to another code if it wasn’t for Port Academy really nurturing his talent…
not only that it was his old man that was actively petitioning the AFL to allow his 3 sons to be admitted to the Port academy.Can’t quite wrap my head around Sam Harris not being included on that list. He was one of the most consistent under agers in the Coates League this year.
Laughable. He has been playing footy every year since 8 years old. He was never going to be lost to the system.