Fixture 2026 season

• Thread starter Thread starter Wild Bill

i'd like to be able to watch a game and not say "watch this he'll drop it" or "he'll kick to the opposition now... aaand yep"

basically, just wanting to trust the players again to do the basics would honestly make me very happy
When we somehow move the ball methodically it comes off as a pleasant surprise. Need to change that.

Yeah plonk it all on mate, easy money, I believe we should be 5/1 ish and I'll hit the pay out button, reckon they'll settle on about $4.50. And ching , ching.

I reckon JY will be ok in 26, but yes he will be traded. Has a new partner now, which is great news, hopes his pants don't fall down again. Was unlucky, the only target he hit last season was...

IMG_1457.jpeg

When we somehow move the ball methodically it comes off as a pleasant surprise. Need to change that.
Yep our chain of possession only usually last 3 disposals. Sometimes they last longer when we’re chipping it around the backline And you can see the opposition closing in to choke us into a turnover in a dangerous position.

A stat will never tell the full story, but I do look at them. In 2025..

We finished 3rd for centre clearances.
2nd for stoppage clearances behind the Lion.
Equal 18th for inside 50's
15th least turnovers ( surprising)
18th for intercepts- that's not good FYI. Crows ( 1st) were intercepting the oppositions kicks 17 times more per game than us. Yep lacking marking presence around the ground.
The rest of the stats; we're starting to move in the right direction.

But as I've NFI; how does one finish 3rd for centre clearances but equal last for inside 50's, are we running the wrong ****ing way. The other 3 clubs struggling to get the ball inside 50 all finished between 18-16th for centre clearances.

I think the pieces are falling into place, just the old coaching crew were rather cooked.
Some of those stats are a bit skewed because of our slow-motion uncontested game style. For example, we may have the 15th least turnovers but we have the worst turnover differential.

For me, a couple of the more significant stats are:

• we are the only team that scores more from stoppages than turnovers.
  • we are 18th for intercept possession differential

Basically, we can't get the ball back once we lose it. If X doesn't dominate the stoppages we can't compete.

Some of those stats are a bit skewed because of our slow-motion uncontested game style. For example, we may have the 15th least turnovers but we have the worst turnover differential.

Basically, we can't get the ball back once we lose it. If X doesn't dominate the stoppages we can't compete.
Have been saying this for years.

A gameplan that only allows you to compete if you dominate around the ball is unsustainable.

we aren't great and pressuring teams into turning over the ball, we did this against the crows int he last round though
Yep our game plan is we hope they score a point so we win possession or start again in the middle ( goal) with a 50/50 ball up.

we aren't great and pressuring teams into turning over the ball, we did this against the crows int he last round though
Yep our game plan is we hope they score a point so we win possession or start again in the middle ( goal) with a 50/50 ball up.
I watched the last 2 games on replay over the last week or so. There was a noticeable lift in forward half pressure. Hence our high scoring and larger number from turnover. Ball movement now seems to be the final piece. Obviously you can set up better behind the ball when moving it better/faster/deeper. By all reports ball movement is front of mind at Pre Season so far

That's good to hear. Hopefully we are trying to move it through overlap run and kicking and not by trying to possess it through the zone like we did with that 'Northball' garbage we tried a couple of years ago.

One stat that I think is underrated is metres gained. Footy is a territory game and this stat basically shows who is running to support their teammates and get the ball forward to either score or to where they can set up a zone defense. Our highest rated mid is LDU, but he is 71st in the league. Our top three players are Daniel, McKercher and Simpkin though the first two are quite inflated because they split the kick-ins. Now that Scott has fallen off a cliff, Jy (and maybe Stephens) is our only player who runs hard enough both ways.

That's good to hear. Hopefully we are trying to move it through overlap run and kicking and not by trying to possess it through the zone like we did with that 'Northball' garbage we tried a couple of years ago.

One stat that I think is underrated is metres gained. Footy is a territory game and this stat basically shows who is running to support their teammates and get the ball forward to either score or to where they can set up a zone defense. Our highest rated mid is LDU, but he is 71st in the league. Our top three players are Daniel, McKercher and Simpkin though the first two are quite inflated because they split the kick-ins. Now that Scott has fallen off a cliff, Jy (and maybe Stephens) is our only player who runs hard enough both ways.
On replay it was noticeable we were giving it to the runner and taking territory those last 2 games. The runners tend to keep showing up when rewarded. We have those types of players so why not use them

I wonder what all that was about the Whirlpool a couple of years ago. Seems they've had to tweak whatever it was, unless it was a dying whirlpool, which would explain our stagnant movement.

We're coming from so far back in the modern game; it would almost be a better idea to try and force a trend change with an effective zone defence without ball (not sure how smart our players are though), long kicking with ball, and significantly more energy expended defending than attacking

Paging Chip Scab1 for a disgruntled word or two in response
Yes, Jy be able to run, just not quickly. Unless he's late for his flight to shitsville (Middle East).

I'm prepared to lay off Dylan if he continues to improve. Does need to be pelted with stones if we see any more coward shit like we did at the start of his career with us. If he were to be reported for elbowing someone in the face, I'll be ecstatic. I'll donate to any crowd-funding required to pay his fines for any form of physical intimidation. Any.

I wonder what all that was about the Whirlpool a couple of years ago. Seems they've had to tweak whatever it was, unless it was a dying whirlpool, which would explain our stagnant movement.

We're coming from so far back in the modern game; it would almost be a better idea to try and force a trend change with an effective zone defence without ball (not sure how smart our players are though), long kicking with ball, and significantly more energy expended defending than attacking
We looked to be taking more ground which allowed us to be more aggressive with our defensive half positioning. Mainly because we could then pressure deeper into our front half. Its only 2 games but i think its the way we need to play

B: Archer Corr Hardeman
HB: Comben WDawson Daniel
C: O'Sullivan Davies-Uniacke McKercher
HF: Simpkin Trembath Zurhaar
F: Curtis Larkey Dovaston
R: Xerri Sheezel Wardlaw
I: Konstanty Parker Stephens McDonald Duursma

Wanted to, but could not find a spot for: Goater Banch Spargo Whitlock Darling Logue Fisher Coleman-Jones Powell Harvey RHJ

I think this is a good thing. Those names missing out will push up hopefully and create competition.

Will Dawson for mine is the incumbent. I feel as if he'll take the next step.

I put Duurs on the bench out of hope that he might start to show his talent more productively this season.

Trembath has gone past Darling. That's a good thing. No slight on JD. More of an endorsement for Trembath.

Simpkin on the wing, rotating through the centre. Still offers a lot.

Goater is best 23 when he's fit. If he's not fit, Whitlock/Logue/Fisher to come in.

Dylan Stephens over Tom Powell for mine. McDonald over Logue. Was very good last year, I thought. Griff would want to pull his finger out. In danger of becoming surplus at his second club, as at his first.

CCJ is the big unknown. In more ways than one. RHJ much the same.

Want Cooper Harvey to make it. Has showed enough at the level. But I want Dovaston to debut round 1. First round draft picks often do and he's ready. If not, probably Banch comes in. That's okay too.

Yes, Jy be able to run, just not quickly. Unless he's late for his flight to shitsville (Middle East).

I'm prepared to lay off Dylan if he continues to improve. Does need to be pelted with stones if we see any more coward shit like we did at the start of his career with us. If he were to be reported for elbowing someone in the face, I'll be ecstatic. I'll donate to any crowd-funding required to pay his fines for any form of physical intimidation. Any.
You'll be waiting a while. Unless he wins a Norm, my prevailing memory of him will be that all time pants shitting moment against (I think) Braves where he just kicked it aimlessly to the wing from the centre cos he was so shit scared of being tackled