List Mgmt. 2026 Trade/FA/Draft thread

oh good Lord. Port and Adelaide circling Tom Sparrow who has delayed talks. Source: the midweek tackle.

ANB all over again. please no.

oh good Lord. Port and Adelaide circling Tom Sparrow who has delayed talks. Source: the midweek tackle.

ANB all over again. please no.

Why wouldn't he delay talks? Dude is on track for a career best season, he would be stupid to sign now.

I reckon the situation between ANB and Tom Sparrow is different

Plus anyway, it's a wait and see.

well, not really. jsut another good year with a role change this year. A healthy long term contract should be on the table from Lamb which I'm sure it is.

He is averaging career bests across multiple stats and eye test would have him having much more impact on games, hence the career best year statement. Do you disagree with that?

Also isn't the same as ANB at all except for the fact they're both from SA. ANB and his partner were having some troubles with their newborn and wanted to go back to family support.

He is averaging career bests across multiple stats and eye test would have him having much more impact on games, hence the career best year statement. Do you disagree with that?

Also isn't the same as ANB at all except for the fact they're both from SA. ANB and his partner were having some troubles with their newborn and wanted to go back to family support.
Also he might have wanted to play his second half of his career back in South Australia
Plus, our club vibe was rancid, at that stage.

Just a vibe but reckon Sparrows the quiet type who just settles into the club and never seriously looks at what else is out there. Bit like Salem.

I also think it's wise to park the talks and just focus on footy.

He's averaging 56% cba's this year.

He had 7% last year. 38% in 2024, 45% in 2023. 32% in 2022, 25% in 2021.

So he's getting career best numbers, I agree with that, because he should be. And he's impacting games because he's playing his natural position. He's not playing any better or any worse. Just been given the opportunity.

Nah, I just mean that ANB was a whipping boy by some who wanted him dropped for years. But both played defensive HF roles and ANB has been really missed.

Yeah can't see Sparrow leaving tbh. Loves the club supposedly. Improving under Kingy. Wouldn't be a massive blow if he did leave, but doubt he's going anywhere. No doubt Lamb will panic and offer well overs.

would be a massive blow. but agree to disagree. I just love defensive guys that are tough.

He's averaging 56% cba's this year.

He had 7% last year. 38% in 2024, 45% in 2023. 32% in 2022, 25% in 2021.

So he's getting career best numbers, I agree with that, because he should be. And he's impacting games because he's playing his natural position. He's not playing any better or any worse. Just been given the opportunity.

Nah, I just mean that ANB was a whipping boy by some who wanted him dropped for years. But both played defensive HF roles and ANB has been really missed.
How are you missing smutts incredibly obvious point he was making to you that Sparrows contract at the end of this year is worth more than any other year if he waits 😂

I would love to see Sparrow leave if we could get an end of first round compensation or second round pick.

Use that and Gold Coast pick to move up draft board and get to elite kids.
Two top 10s before Tassie could set us up.

He's not playing any better or any worse. Just been given the opportunity.
Having his best year in terms of player rankings. Currently on 10.22 which is his highest ever, and well above his career average of 7.81.

Also, by your favourite metric the coaches votes Dan, he's averaging 0.83 per game compared to a career average of 0.11. I would suggest that clearly says he's playing a lot better, as coaches are known to give votes to the blokes who play their role.

Interestingly, in 2023 when he averaged big CBA numbers as well (45%) he had 0 coaches votes for the year.

Wonder if we'll have a look at the MSD? Anyone know of any decent prospects? We have at least 2 players that will be gone end of year and don't seem likely to play this year, so could get an early retirement maybe? Frees up a spot, and wouldn't hurt cash wise given it's just an MSD pick.
Twomey reporting on Gettable that Tom Campbell is weighing up a mid-season retirement.

That would be a bit bizarre, we're on track to play finals and if Gawn does a season ending injury Campbell is right there to get a game

Important to remember Campbell missed months with a neck injury and is still listed as TBC on the injury list. He's clearly done for the year. We also have Heath & Kentfield capable of taking over ruck duties if anything happened. Could always take a mature ruck in the MSD to replace TC if we were worried.

That would be a bit bizarre, we're on track to play finals and if Gawn does a season ending injury Campbell is right there to get a game
You'd expect Heath to play ahead of him. He's still listed as TBC on the injury list so who knows how far away he actually is.

Yeah but that still leaves only one guy ahead of him, we may decide to play 2, heath could be shit or he could get injured aswell. It's unlikely but far from impossible he could get a game

Could be we just recruit another ruckman in the MSD. He's probably been told this is his last year and he should use his remaining contract time to think about life after footy.

I'm not really fussed about it.