2026 Trade / FA Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

If I was Port, I’d be asking for McCreery as part of the package.

This is my thought/fear

If we even have a Top 10 pick to trade, we would definitely probably have to give up Beau

Which I think I'd ultimately do, but not without a massive amount of hesitance and teeth gnashing

I think our best model to look toward is what we did at the end of the 2022 season. Thicken the soup with 2-3 senior players that we can buy low, and still hold onto our first pick and take that to the draft.

Of the free agents, I’d be keen on:

• Mitch Lewis
  • Sam Switkowski
  • Sam Sturt
  • Nick Vlastuin (especially if Howe retires)
  • Joel Amartey (if our 2nd ruck becomes a big issue this season)
All of the above are likely to be cheap options.

For some who are out of contract, and could be a buy low:
  • Archie Perkins
  • Jake Rogers

Then they’re players like
George wardlaw and Jed Walter who would be great gets who you might get slightly lower
Jake Rodgers is the one we should be going after. He's going to be elite and won't cost as much as butters, who would require a kings ransom

lol, no one is gonna get pay JUH big money after his behaviour at the doggies.
So if he breaks into the team early, applies himself like a professional AFL footballer and kicks 50+ goals this year, you saying he won’t get a big pay hike at the Suns and big offers elsewhere? 🤣

I remember when I only lurked, JDG had no value, no place at Collingwood and had to be kicked out. 🤣

The best way for Butters to get to Collingwood if it’s his preferred option and the crows play hard ball.

Butters under Restricted FA says he wants to go to the Pies on a $2.5m deal for 1 year. Then the crows have the option to match it putting pressure on their salary cap.

If they match it then Butters becomes an unrestricted FA the following year and he can walk to the Pies only getting a First round draft compensation. A 12 month delay but Butters is still young enough.

By doing this, this puts pressure on the Crows and creates them to do a more reasonable deal.

Obviously the Pies would give the crows 2 scenarios.

Give a reasonable deal now with 1 year of the draft that’s not Tassie based.

Or force our hand and get allot less in 12 months whilst have a pick that is put back to about pick 12-15 based on Tassie compo.

Thoights
Not sure that the crows have much say on where Port Adelaide players get traded to.

I'm not sure I can see Nick still playing in 10 years time.
He has so many other opportunities, the world is pretty much his oyster.
Barring injury, he’ll play as long as he possibly can imo. Kid has a burning desire to considered the GOAT.

That's obviously making the assumption we'd pull that lever

I hope we do, I just kinda doubt it given all we've done over the last 5 years to finally get our cap under control and the looming Nick Daicos situation
It may not necessarily be us, but those are the numbers being suggested.

What i said was no one is giving juh a big contract after he spent the year sitting on the sidelines on full pay going clubbing because he didn’t like the coach. That is very obvious.

I never said he wouldn’t get a pay rise if he starts playing well, he’s on minimum chips right now

Not sure that the crowd have much say on where Port Adelaide players get traded to.
I'm not sure if we'd get a better deal from the Crows or the crowd? Is it our crowd? That deal will be a ripper for us.

Mr. Gone Critical . Jake Rodgers could be available at a reasonable price. Played 18 games in his first 2 years. This applies favourably to your theory
My only question is: Are you sure there's an AFL player called Jake Rodgers? Have you made him up, manic?

Don't tell me name isn't Jake?, he plays for GC. I could be thinking of Duck Dodgers in the buggs bunny cartoons

Don't know if you've got the first name right or not. The only Rodger I know is Ramjet - big barrel chested bloke. I reckon he'd be great leading out of the square.

Mr. Gone Critical . Jake Rodgers could be available at a reasonable price. Played 18 games in his first 2 years. This applies favourably to your theory
Are… are you talking about Jed Walter???

We haven't even entered the 24th and a half century yet.

1773300839051.webp

I agree, their description, not mine. He's a dwarf.
Have you seen him play?, perfect bobby replacement who can run through the midfield and have an impact. He's a little gun who GC want to run through the midfield but there's too many in front of him.