2026 Trade / FA Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

The club has already publicly said it wants to contend year after year like Geelong/Sydney rather than bottom out. If you bottom out, yeah we might be a big chest beating club with some decent facilities in a good location, but good players in the back end of their career aren't going to want to come as free agents. We need to always be seen as a club who can win a flag any given year, or in the next 2-3 years at least.

Best example is Butters. Whilst I'm confident he's going to the Dogs there's no way in hell he's going to waste his time going to Carlton, unless he's motivated by money, in which case he'd probably just stay put.

The club has already publicly said it wants to contend year after year like Geelong/Sydney rather than bottom out. If you bottom out, yeah we might be a big chest beating club with some decent facilities in a good location, but good players in the back end of their career aren't going to want to come as free agents. We need to always be seen as a club who can win a flag any given year, or in the next 2-3 years at least.

Best example is Butters. Whilst I'm confident he's going to the Dogs there's no way in hell he's going to waste his time going to Carlton, unless he's motivated by money, in which case he'd probably just stay put.

West Coast tried this too.

Premiership and perennial contender. Then their elite players aged or retired and poor drafting meant the cupboard was pretty baron. (sound familiar)

West Coast also suffered some horror injuries of course.

West Coast tried this too.

Premiership and perennial contender. Then their elite players aged or retired and poor drafting meant the cupboard was pretty baron. (sound familiar)

West Coast also suffered some horror injuries of course.

West Coast's biggest problem was not knowing when to walk away from the trade table when it came to Tim Kelly.

But you're correct, they also had a shocking run when it came to all of Nic Nat, Elliot Yeo and McGovern.

They've also made some average decisions more recently too IMO. Yes they wanted Harley Reid and he might still become a superstar, but they could've traded for 2 or 3 good players. Could've done it again in the most recent draft but took Duursma.

I reckon they're too determined to land the next big name rather than steadily improve.

Watch them go and get a cooked Lachie Neale next.

Let's trade Dan McStay for a half decent forward, someone that can kick 2 or 3 a game. Straight swap for the new bloke at Melbourne, Brady Mihocek.

Other than Butters, Bailey and King we should be going for players like Jed Walter, Jake Riccardi & Buku Khamis
I think we should be talking to them all as some will decline or accept new contracts at their current clubs along the journey. Let's be open to aggressive trading with the few chips we have on the table which of course unfortunatley includes Bobby.

West Coast's biggest problem was not knowing when to walk away from the trade table when it came to Tim Kelly.

But you're correct, they also had a shocking run when it came to all of Nic Nat, Elliot Yeo and McGovern.

They've also made some average decisions more recently too IMO. Yes they wanted Harley Reid and he might still become a superstar, but they could've traded for 2 or 3 good players. Could've done it again in the most recent draft but took Duursma.

I reckon they're too determined to land the next big name rather than steadily improve.

Watch them go and get a cooked Lachie Neale next.

Don't know about that. They're one of the few teams in recent years to trade down a top 3 pick. They split pick 3 to get Baker, Owies and a promising draftee

Sorry, I more meant getting 2 top 10 selections rather than 1 good player. Owies, man, now that's a punchable head.

Ideally its a combination of both.
Agree on a balanced approach.
I'd like to see us try and get in a suitable inside/outside running mate for Naicos around the same age profile if we are going to splash the cash (i.e Richards (WB), Callaghan (GWS), Ash (GWS), Bailey (Bris), Soligo (Adel) & Durham or Martin (Ess) types)
Then look to the draft to see if we can bring in additional young prospects in the areas of Defence & Wings.

Wouldn't bother targeting a Key forward in the off season as I think West & McCarthy should be given greater opportunities going forward.

I would love to target some recruiters or list bosses from either Dees or Dogs.
Taylor having previously worked here has done a super job at Melbourne.

It’s amazing how much a better job he has done than Hine in the time he left us.

It’s also amazing how lions land guys like Lohmann and Morris in later selections and not top 10s and we select guys like HDM.
That sets you back and doesn’t fast track much

I would love to target some recruiters or list bosses from either Dees or Dogs.
Taylor having previously worked here has done a super job at Melbourne.

It’s amazing how much a better job he has done than Hine in the time he left us.

It’s also amazing how lions land guys like Lohmann and Morris in later selections and not top 10s and we select guys like HDM.
That sets you back and doesn’t fast track much
Hine can't even pick his nose.

If we ended up with a top 10 pick this year. Lets hope they take that to the draft, and try get FA's for nothing.
Yep, we need to use our next couple of 1sts.
Hit the FA market hard, really hope we blow the Suns out of the water with our offer to Ben King.

RANDOM THOUGHTS & RAMBLES

While I was a strong proponent of getting Petracca last year (if we were going to top up again), I understand the risks and why we didnt.

If we wern't going to get a top-liner (Petracca, Merret, Butters) I am happy we didnt get impatient and pay overs for a b-grader (e.g. Simpkin) and instead kept our powder dry for this year.

As such, despite meaning that 2026 likely ends up being a downish year, I think last years off-season was the offseason we had to have as a club, finally making a material change in the age demographic of the list by cutting/retiring/trading multiple older players (Mitchell, Cox, Hoskin-Elliott, Markov, Mihocheck ect). The only regret I have is that I would have kept one of Cox/Mihochek.

SOLUTION

Now that I have had a few days to calm down, I am abit more optimistic than I was a few days ago. Looking at our squad, we still have a very strong core of players between 25 and 32, that should make us competative for the next 3-4 years, albeit more likely in that 5th to 10th range, than top 4.

These being:
  • Defence: Moore, Quaynor, Maynard, Houston, Perryman, Crisp
  • Midfield: N.Daicos, J.Daicos. De Goey, Long, Cameron (Ruck)
  • Forward: McCreery, Schultz,

However, I think we can compete again in coming years based on what we do this year (during the season and post).

I think most of the issues we have are structural, having an unnatural forwardline, defence and even midfied (1 star player surrounded by makeshift mids). Despite our success/competativeness in recent years, it feels like we are playing with 1 hand tied behind our back.

STEP 1 - Fill the 3 Structural Holes Via Trade/Free Agency

Despite some of the negativity relating our list, I honestly think I think we are literally 3 good players (easier said then done) short of competing again. These being 1 proper key forward, 1 high level mid, 1 lockdown defender.
- Best Case/Nirvana Scenario: A combination of something like King, Butters, Keane, hoping port finish bottom 2-3 and dont match, and King is front ended to the point where Gold Coast cant match, but more likely getting 1 via free agency and 1-2 via trade.​
- Realistic Scenario: Jobe Shanahan/Mitch Lewis assuming fit (1 forward, free agent) , Zach Bailey (1 mid, free agent ), Jordan Butts (1 defender, 2nd rounder). While this isnt as flashy as King/Butters, I think an offseason like this would fix our structural issues (without giving up a high end pick) and instantly make us top 4-6 competative again.​
STEP 2 - We need to find 3-4 good players from within, preferably quick.

If we arnt going to compete this year, then we need to ensure we use the season to find 3-4 x good 150 game players (i.e. the next hoskin-elliot, lipinski, noble types).

Of our younger brigade I grade them as following:

LIKELY BEST 12 to 18 types
- Charlie West: I am very bullish on him, and honestly think he would already be a better player than any of McStay, Membrey and Buller. He may not become the star I think he can be (although I am bullish), but at worst, he will be a good 2nd/3rd tall forward. Has too many tools not to be. Great contested mark, quick, good kick for goal/around ground, footy smarts. Should play the next game.​
- Harvey Harrison: Injuiries permitting, I think Harrison will end 2026 in our best team. Has power, speed, goal smarts and a leap, and many forget, before doing his knee at the end of 2024, he played something like 12 of our last 14 games. Only issue with him was that he needs to find the footy 15-20 times a game, rather than 8-12.​
LIKELY BEST 18 to 23 types
- Roan Steel: Not young (24), but I think he has already shown he is likely to be a best 23 player for us. Comes accross as a quicker Lipinski/Sam Dwyer type, who will run up and down wings all day and delivers the footy pretty well.​
50/50
- Will Parker: Has footy smarts/good skills and 1-on-1, but just worried about his pace/penetration.​
- Jack Buller: Abit raw, too soon.​
LIKELY TYPES BUT TOO EARLY TO TELL
- Joel Cochrane: Like him, but more 3rd tall​
- Will Hayes: Like him, but needs production​
- Tyan Prindable: Looks likely, albeit Jack Steel sort of mould.​
- Sam Swadling: Has tools​
- Jai Saxena:Silky​
- Zac McCarthy: Silky/Agile, needs to build frame​
NEED TO HAVE A BIG YEAR
- Ed Allen: Was bullish, think he is suffering from stage fright/nerves, but really needs to turn it around and use his burst.​
- Oscar Steene: as per heading.​
- Reef McInness: Thought he has potential as a third tall, lets hope he shows promise at either end.​
- Tew Jiath: as per heading.​
- Noah Howes: as per heading.​
- Iliro Smith: as per heading.​
GIVEN UP
- Harry De Mattia: Just don't see it, slightly quicker then average, but otherwise has no weapons, also poor footy brain.​
- Jakob Ryan: After a good first season, has never been the same player since being knocked out on debut.​

IN SUMMARY

- If we end the year in a scenario where West, Harrison, Steele, and 1-2 of Swadling/Prindable/Hayes/Cochrane have solidified themselves in the starting team, and then supplement this filling 2-3 of our structural weaknesses (1 kpf, 1 mid and 1 kpd) then I think we are well positioned to compete and rebuild/regenerate on the run. A midfield of Daicos and Butters by themselves pretty much ensure we stay competitaive for the next 8 years, despite Pendles/Howe's likely retirement.

- However, if we plod along to the end of the season, and we are still giving 16+ games to Membrey, McStay, Lipinski, dont get 16+ games into West, Harrison, Steel and the like and dont get any of our key targets, then I think we will be in for a world of hurt, compounded by the retirements of Pendles/Howe and in worst case scenaio Elliott/Sidebottom.

Yep, we need to use our next couple of 1sts.
Hit the FA market hard, really hope we blow the Suns out of the water with our offer to Ben King.
We could. He could stay for less given the upward trail they are on. Time will be seen.
But we do need someone to help up forward.

O'Bree and Leppa were watching our vfl practice game v Geelong on Sat.
Leppa did look like he had just come back from playing golf sporting a long bag wth him lol Though O'Bree may be still living up in Geelong. I think his kids still go to school there.

We would be better off not trading and looking for cheaper free agent gets to stock up the list. Bailey Scott from Nth, Jack Ross from Richmond, Justin McInerny and Joel Amartey from Sydney and Buku from the Dogs. From the list I see, these are free agents and wouldn't cost us the world. We need to keep our first rounder this year and stock up on more middling talent to fill for the older guys leaving.

Who knows, we get a young jet into the team at pick 4-8 this year, and suddenly we feel a lot better about the list to go with Nick.

Is there a chance Hill will get traded back to Perth? Even a second rounder for him would be helpful.