2026 Trade / FA Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

“Naicos would be smart to get the f**k away from this hellhole for the next 10 years”

I’ve read some melts in my time. This is up there

A lot of posters who feel entitled to support a team who is contention every single year and are having a hissy fit due to the reality that that's nearly impossible for a club to do in the AFL - although Brissy are going to have a good run with how many cards have fallen in their favour.

The drafting of Anderson shows that Obee has his fingers on the pulse and that we can look forward to a few more budget priced gems like Geelong have enjoyed in the past. Go get em Shane.
It’s so clear, Obee is the One.

There can be only One. Doh!!!!

Berry, Davies, Walter, Dear, McKenzie and Busslinger would be top of my list from those you've listed.

Other out of contract players worth a look would be Darcy Wilson, Matt Johnson and Max Gruzewski.

In addition to the above, the following are unrestricted free agents - Jordon Butts, Mitch Hinge, Tom Sparrow, Lachie Bramble, Darcy Gardiner, in addition to Bailey, Khamis and Fritsch who are restricted free agents whose clubs I don't think would be likely to match.

For me it would be Berry, Walter, Rodgers, Busslinger, George, Hewitt and Sims.

Missed Wilson altogether - but to be honest would cost too much anyway.

Matt Johnson I disregarded given he is getting games and is a West Australian (yes I know Hewitt is also - but he’s at a bottom dweller)

Gruzewski I also didn’t consider as he is too undersized and I’m sick of not having a proper sized key forward.

In my opinion the out of contract list actually has a lot more young talent than usual. However it is only early in the season and I’m sure half of those will re-sign before the end of the year thinning out the options.

NB. I’ll say it again this year. Boyd Woodcock is way too good to be playing VFL. Is still only 25 and would be a great rookie pick for us. Much better depth than a player like Sullivan.

Offer Trembath 5 years at 900k a year.

Going to be a star.

Interestingly, heard that North played him in 1 vfl game last year, immediatly knew he was a star, so they hid him in one of the eastern leagues at Blackburn until the mid season draft...

We were red hot on Archie May (who also looks likely, although more of a Larky style player), but someone had let the cat out of the bag before the draft, which means Essendon gazumped us, when the prob would of taken him with a later pick otherwise.

Like others, I see some real options for rejuvenating our list over the next 12 months. I reckon our pick will probably be in that 7-13 range - either in the wildcard or not far from it. Regardless, I think we'll see a few departures.

Delist: Allan - Sullivan - Smit - Ryan (maybe) - Howes (maybe)
Retire: Sidebottom - Howe - Pendlebury (maybe) - Membrey (maybe)
Re-rookie: those maybe retirements
Extend: Frampton - Crisp - Parker - Cochran - Saxena

We just have to go all in for Bailey and King. Butters just isn't happening, and Humphrey isn't either (at this stage at least). Getting at least one of them would be huge - both would be a complete turnaround for our list.

Then, try and get some combination of 2-3 of any of the following non KPP players:
  • Sam Berry
  • Alex Davies
  • Brayden Cook
  • Bruce Reville
  • Cam Mackenzie
And 1-2 of these keys, especially if we can't lure King away:
  • Jordon Butts
  • Cooper Trembath (offer him anything!)
  • Calsher Dear
  • Jed Walter
  • Jake Riccardi
Bring in 3 kids, overall maybe 7-8 changes? Sounds like a lot, but I think it's probably what we need. Cochrane, Walker and maybe Robinson will push the top few picks back, but we could still realistically end up around that pick 10 range. Would love to nab Kodah Edwards somehow.

Like others, I see some real options for rejuvenating our list over the next 12 months. I reckon our pick will probably be in that 7-13 range - either in the wildcard or not far from it. Regardless, I think we'll see a few departures.

Delist: Allan - Sullivan - Smit - Ryan (maybe) - Howes (maybe)
Retire: Sidebottom - Howe - Pendlebury (maybe) - Membrey (maybe)
Re-rookie: those maybe retirements
Extend: Frampton - Crisp - Parker - Cochran - Saxena

We just have to go all in for Bailey and King. Butters just isn't happening, and Humphrey isn't either (at this stage at least). Getting at least one of them would be huge - both would be a complete turnaround for our list.

Then, try and get some combination of 2-3 of any of the following non KPP players:
  • Sam Berry
  • Alex Davies
  • Brayden Cook
  • Bruce Reville
  • Cam Mackenzie
And 1-2 of these keys, especially if we can't lure King away:
  • Jordon Butts
  • Cooper Trembath (offer him anything!)
  • Calsher Dear
  • Jed Walter
  • Jake Riccardi
Bring in 3 kids, overall maybe 7-8 changes? Sounds like a lot, but I think it's probably what we need. Cochrane, Walker and maybe Robinson will push the top few picks back, but we could still realistically end up around that pick 10 range. Would love to nab Kodah Edwards somehow.

Would you give this year’s first and next year’s for B Humphrey if he asks for a trade again as a contracted player? I would, even with the risk of the finishing position. Would bring missing power and dynamism forward and in the middle. Though I think many would bemoan the move (gambler’s fallacy).

Yes - Blanket rule should be. No trading 1st rounders unless you are getting someone under 24 with star potential.

I personally would. Humphrey is almost 18 months younger than Anderson, for example - still super young, and incredibly good as a forward/mid. On his current trajectory I could easily see him becoming one of those super valuable 20+ touches 1+ goal players, which we sorely need

He is the only reason I would trade firsts
Why?
Well because he is YOUNG and a gun
Therefore your firsts are not only a guaranteed hit, but you have years of investment left

Yeah, I really want to keep firsts (and really wish we had kept our previous ones - but that’s done, I guess) but this way our first/s reach their true value

Let’s hope he still wants to come home, play the big crowds but that we can somehow convince him that we’re a better choice than the Hawks. We may need to get some of that war chest working hard and hope the Hawks’ $5m backline has meant they have less to offer him.

I like Humphrey, but can’t help to think he will be a JDG tease
I don't think De Goey is the norm. His body has betrayed him constantly, and his off-field indiscretions weren't great either (the hand injury, for example). I'd trade 2 firsts for a De Goey that could stay healthy

I think it will turn upwards in second half of the season.

Important and necessary steps are being taken Steene and Anderson have been introduced. Next is Swadling and West. Then Hill should return.

Just need to solve the connection to the forward line.

Fly also needs to start dropping some of the older players.
I really hope Hill is going to play some minutes at VFL level next weekend against Carlton, as what is been floated around.
I would like to see that West and Buller as the key forwards at some point this season, preferably sooner rather than later.
I think Swadling can have a debut similar to Anderson. Guys who can naturally find the footy, will always be able to get the footy, whether it's VFL or AFL, its just how they use it.
I would like to see Saxena be given the opportunity at some point this season, particularly if Elliott continues his poor form.
Our defensive unit is our only shining light, but l would still like to see Cochran given an opportunity in there, as the heir apparent to Howe.
I just fear these players will not be trusted by Fly, until the season is completely gone, which is pointless in doing....

I really hope Hill is going to play some minutes at VFL level next weekend against Carlton, as what is been floated around.
I would like to see that West and Buller as the key forwards at some point this season, preferably sooner rather than later.
I think Swadling can have a debut similar to Anderson. Guys who can naturally find the footy, will always be able to get the footy, whether it's VFL or AFL, its just how they use it.
I would like to see Saxena be given the opportunity at some point this season, particularly if Elliott continues his poor form.
Our defensive unit is our only shining light, but l would still like to see Cochran given an opportunity in there, as the heir apparent to Howe.
I just fear these players will not be trusted by Fly, until the season is completely gone, which is pointless in doing....
We’ve played Allan, Buller, Parker, Hayes, Steene, Anderson, Steele. Long continues to get games. Let’s not act like we aren’t playing new/younger players

Really think we are looking at 2-3 yr mini rebuild. There is just no getting around it.

Midfield and key position defense needs a complete revamp quickly.

I personally think we will bite the bullet hard at the end of this season.

We need to hit the draft really hard this year. Tassie will make list replenishments a massive challenge for the foreseeable future.

Swadling is going to be good but his debut won’t be like Anderson’s. He is far less physically ready. Anderson is 22yo and has played extensively against men.

Yeah I think Swadling will get his debut perhaps late in the H&A season.

He also doesn’t play in a bollocking inside mid style like Anderson.

Personally I don’t see his build hurting his chance of a debut. Hopefully we can ease him into the team in a half forward or wing role.

He’ll get midfield exposure around the ground that way. Away from the centre bounce.

Yes - Blanket rule should be. No trading 1st rounders unless you are getting someone under 24 with star potential.

What do people think about our first this year or next for a package of those uncontracted Suns players?

Our first for Walter, Rodgers and Davies.

IMO we really think we need to target some of those available uncontracted players, on top of chasing free agents. to bring in a swathe of talent before Tassie compromises the landscape.

Particularly since most of them have shown enough that the strike rate will be much higher than the draft.

If we can bundle up players, split picks etc to get as many as possible I think it’s worth it.