2026 Trade / FA Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

Didn't Humperhy from Suns follow Collingwood during the last Trade Period?
Nah, he's followed on social media for ages. Maybe even before he was drafted. Not the first player to do so though, for whatever reason.
Hamish Davis from the eagles follows the pies, but he grew up a pies fan so that makes sense.
Zeke Uwland from the suns follows the pies on social media too. It really doesn't mean a whole lot.

You offer Butters a blank cheque.

Daicos and Butters for 8-10 years would be incredible.

What is your trade bait to get it done ?

Nothing that will satisfy Port.

If they wanted to gamble on us finishing in the bottom 8 over the next few years, like every man and his dog is, then surely they accept 2 x firsts & a second, and a fringe player.

2026 first rounder + 2027 first rounder + 2028 second rounder + HDM/Jiath/Ryan.

Still looks like we’re giving up a fair bit.

Nothing that will satisfy Port.

If they wanted to gamble on us finishing in the bottom 8 over the next few years, like every man and his dog is, then surely they accept 2 x firsts & a second, and a fringe player.

2026 first rounder + 2027 first rounder + 2028 second rounder + HDM/Jiath/Ryan.

Still looks like we’re giving up a fair bit.
That sounds like putting too many eggs in the one basket. I think we should keep all our first round picks.

This draft is reported as a better one. With Tassie impacting soon and a lack of free agents this year Butters will be a hot bidding war. The cost for Butters will be huge. Many free agents determine their destination early. It will be fascinating. To complicate the Pies decision making is assessing where the list will be at the end of 2026 which is a transitional year.

Pretty easy sell. “Hey Zak wana play in blockbusters every week, 14 games at the G every year and only see Ballarat from row 1A as your flying over it. Or play for Bevo and flog shit teams by 100 points and lose to top 8 teams every other week? Plus you have to try and make up fake compliments when Rory Lobb turns into a Temu Dennis Rodman every second week and embarrasses the whole club”

There is no chance we get Butters if he's RFA even if he wants to come to us

We need to use our 1st on drafting or using to trade for a young player with heaps of potential

UFAs are our way to go - if none are available, move on

Re Zac Butters - usually I am fully against throwing first round picks at players as it always fraught with danger, for every "hit" there would multiple examples where it's missed (across the whole league not in particular to just us).

However, in this scenario I'm all in on joining the bidding war. Zac Butters is a genuine star player of the comp - and easily in the conversation as the best player in the league, this sort of guy does not come on to the market too often. Still only 25 so even though the outlay could be a lot, it would be 5-7 years of an elite midfield pairing between Butters and Nick that keep us in the premiership window for that duration - almost on their own.

For 99% of players I would be absolutely hesitant to move first round picks on - but I think for a player in that top 1% caliber of the comp, I'd be pushing the chips in to the middle to get that sort of player to the side

Re Zac Butters - usually I am fully against throwing first round picks at players as it always fraught with danger, for every "hit" there would multiple examples where it's missed (across the whole league not in particular to just us).

However, in this scenario I'm all in on joining the bidding war. Zac Butters is a genuine star player of the comp - and easily in the conversation as the best player in the league, this sort of guy does not come on to the market too often. Still only 25 so even though the outlay could be a lot, it would be 5-7 years of an elite midfield pairing between Butters and Nick that keep us in the premiership window for that duration - almost on their own.

For 99% of players I would be absolutely hesitant to move first round picks on - but I think for a player in that top 1% caliber of the comp, I'd be pushing the chips in to the middle to get that sort of player to the side
Butters is the perfect sidekick to Nick for a decade

If we don’t get King, I wouldn’t mind us going for Mitch Lewis as a UFA
Decent player, but I'm not sure you would want to be forking out big dollars on a guy who misses so much footy. You won't get a decent UFA without forking out over inflated figures. Having a another player constantly in rehab would be a real bummer. I agree he can play just the same.

Decent player, but I'm not sure you would want to be forking out big dollars on a guy who misses so much footy. You won't get a decent UFA without forking out over inflated figures. Having an another player constantly in rehab would be a real bummer. I agree he can play just the same.
I guess it all depends on how he goes this year. I don’t imagine he’d cost a fortune.

I'm still of the view a money-ball mix of Jake Riccardi / Darcy Wilson at the same $$$ as Butters would command is strategically better for the Club longer term than risking it one mid-fielder, as good as Butters might become.
We've lost our collective minds on Hill being unavailable on the $$$ he re-signed on, imagine if Butters did an ACL? Then again, if Nick did the same, the decision might well become a list management masterstroke.
One thing I do see as a benefit of having a player like Butters is it relieves pressure on Nick to carry this side week in, week out. Did I just change my mind?!

I'm still of the view a money-ball mix of Jake Riccardi / Darcy Wilson at the same $$$ as Butters would command is strategically better for the Club longer term than risking it one mid-fielder, as good as Butters might become.
We've lost our collective minds on Hill being unavailable on the $$$ he re-signed on, imagine if Butters did an ACL? Then again, if Nick did the same, the decision might well become a list management masterstroke.
One thing I do see as a benefit of having a player like Butters is it relieves pressure on Nick to carry this side week in, week out. Did I just change my mind?!

Is this a serious post?

I agree but any player with that dash and poise would improve our side. I wouldn't have overpaid for him though
I reckon he falls into the Perryman type, but forward of centre and better balanced. Perhaps Lipinski is too similar, but I reckon like all 3, they're good value & ready additions to any list. Out of the 3, I'd see McInerney more of a chance to have been given midfield minutes as he has breakaway pace. Anyway, looks like it's a done deal, unless his manager is trying to flush out some competitive counterbids.