2026 Trade / FA Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

The Patriots never sign the best players though. Soccer teams without a salary cap can’t really compare, and the LA lifestyle on tens of millions is not quite comparable to being paid less than $1m in Melbourne. Just seems apples and oranges to me.
Randy Moss went ok. So did Revis, Stephon Gilmore…

I think about this a lot as well, but honestly there could be a whole host of reasons:

• Far more pressure playing for Collingwood than arguably any other club?
  • Far more media scrutiny?
  • Is it possible that behind the scenes the environment isn't as great as it seems? (just speculating here)
  • Maybe our development isn't great?
  • Is it possible they hear about our insanely rigid structure and find it a turn off?

I'm just spit balling here as to possible reasons why outside of "We just can't pay them enough or don't have the trade capital"
I think you’re underselling the role you and others like you play in the decision making of AFL players. By you specifically I’m referring to your views on Schultz. The vitriol that bloke received from his own supporters was insane and twofold. The first being because he struggled to have his usual impact in a new system and the second that a much loved player in Ginnivan was moved on at the same time. I’ve never seen anything like it before and what he had to move through was disgusting, IMO.

McStay having to turn off his socials last year is another example. I have no doubt Houston copped it as well because he didn’t settle in instantly. I guarantee Moore received hundreds of messages last week on socials from irate nuffies (it’s likely some are amongst us). Sure most of us would be fine copping it in their shoes because it’s primal for us we’d feel exactly like Nick does when he loses or Moore would have on Thursday. Most of the population (especially those that come from outside the Collingwood bubble) probably can’t be bothered with making a life altering decision knowing they’ll cop that bullshit if they can’t perform to external perceptions.

I think you’re underselling the role you and others like you play in the decision making of AFL players. By you specifically I’m referring to your views on Schultz. The vitriol that bloke received from his own supporters was insane and twofold. The first being because he struggled to have his usual impact in a new system and the second that a much loved player in Ginnivan was moved on at the same time. I’ve never seen anything like it before and what he had to move through was disgusting, IMO.

McStay having to turn off his socials last year is another example. I have no doubt Houston copped it as well because he didn’t settle in instantly. I guarantee Moore received hundreds of messages last week on socials from irate nuffies (it’s likely some are amongst us). Sure most of us would be fine copping it in their shoes because it’s primal for us we’d feel exactly like Nick does when he loses or Moore would have on Thursday. Most of the population (especially those that come from outside the Collingwood bubble) probably can’t be bothered with making a life altering decision knowing they’ll cop that bullshit if they can’t perform to external perceptions.

Reckon there's world of difference between a forum poster in unrelated threads where the players don't even post and people who go after players on their personal social accounts which is way more direct

Unless you're suggesting that AFL players aren't aware people discuss their performances online in forums like this one?

I also don't think supporters attacking players on socials is exclusive to Collingwood mate

The stuff I was discussing is a little more Collingwood specific

The two highest-credentialed players we have ever acquired in my 25+ years of bieng a supporter at Treloar and Houston, who both despite being good, I only consider B+/A- at best, and never really in the top 20 players in the comp.
I would have thought Buckley was there. We recruited Woewodin as a Brownlow Medalist. Luke Ball.

Reckon there's world of difference between a forum poster in unrelated threads where the players don't even post and people who go after players on their personal social accounts which is way more direct

Unless you're suggesting that AFL players aren't aware people discuss their performances online in forums like this one?

I also don't think supporters attacking players on socials is exclusive to Collingwood mate

The stuff I was discussing is a little more Collingwood specific
Defending the actions is exactly why it’s so offensive. You just don’t get it.

Players are aware of it all. Their families are likely on here. They all know about this site and were perhaps even posters at some stage themselves. If you want to live in that space that’s on you I’m simply answering your open question of a potential reason why we struggle to attract big names.

To be clear though it’s not isolated to Collingwood. The thing is there’s many more of us than any other club so even if the peanut ratio is the same across the league we will always have the most. Not to mention it’s practically a sport to hate on Collingwood thanks to shitheels like Corn.

Judd actually wanted to go to the pies but his management determined that we wouldn’t be able to get a deal done. Blues were his second choice, he didn’t go there because they offered him more $$.
We would have gone back to back in 2010/2011 had Judd been in B&W.

He’s a cat b rookie, could we poach him by offering him a senior list spot?
Cat B probably makes him harder to poach. There isn't really a downside to being Cat B rookie - it's not like the old days when someone had to injured for them to play and Cat B rookies aren't part of the salary cap, so Hawks can match or exceed any offer without it impacting their salary cap - at least whilst he is still a cat B rookie.

Maybe the expectation from supporters and media along with the pressure to perform, because if you don't you will be all over the media and discussed about.
At the Pies this is x 10 compared to other clubs....
Zak would back himself in every time. He is a star with an ego like all stars. Performing at the G in front of 70K plus most weeks would be the perfect stage for a player like him.

Do you think that bullshit is uniquely a Collingwood issue? When you are a public figure involved in a very emotional game you are going to face horrible abuse from a tiny minority of utter imbeciles. If you have a social media presence, then you deserve to cop whatever comes your way. Why do players need to be on social media? They should be told to unplug and never look at social media feedback. Whether it's over the top praise and adoration or negative vibes and abuse, there is nothing good about social media if you are a public figure.

You should keep scrolling, his very next comment makes it clear he does not think it is a uniquely Collingwood issue.

Did you actually just victim blame footy players and suggest they not be on social media? Cousin of Daicos this is predominantly what I mean. I don’t think yours is vindictive or nasty this though reads to me like the views of someone that’s DM’d a player for the sole purpose of abusing them simply because they can.

Until you find out the players we would have had to get him across
May have even cost us the 2010 flag
Nah, we would have beaten the Aints in the 1st Granny, no draw.
Judd would have been the number 1 player on our list, more than make up for say handing over Beams/Dawes and 2 1sts back then.

How strong would our club be if our supporters didn’t go out and publicly attack our own online. What a bargaining chip that would be when signing FA’s and having players choose us over others

I am now hoping we miss King. Just feel the dollars etc will be too big for the output.

Neale would be a great get but probably wishful thinking. He would go a long way to resolving our centre square work.

The others apart from Riccardi.
Other than King who would you prefer? and for a key forward what do you consider output? I am concerned about King being a one trick pony... but his one trick is very good when you consider no forward has averaged more goals per game than him over the past 3 years (despite his limited kicks per game).