Training 2026 Training Reports

If he has potential why didn't any other AFL pick him up?
Couple of things could be true:
  1. He isn't good enough
  2. He is good enough, but isn't seen that way by other clubs
  3. He is good enough, and is seen that way by some clubs, but they didn't have a list spot
  4. He is good enough, and is seen that way by some clubs, and they offered him a spot, but he didn't take the offer (maybe interstate vs VIC)
We saw flashes, but not consistency. He has also dealt with some niggling injuries that would throw up question marks on his week to week availability. This isn't a hard and fast rule, but usually you recruit draftees based on skill-ceiling and veterans based on skill-floor, as you've got some exposed form on their output. At 23 years old, the floor for Eddie was still too low.

He's in incredible shape this year. Strongest he's ever looked.
He does look to have put on a little (much needed) size. He will definitely start the year barring mishaps but we are tall. IMO we will be planning for Logue and Comben to also roll out round 1. I know there's an extra interchange player so a bit more flexibility but most teams won't want to be wasting it on a tall defender.

With 3 talls of this size one of them needs to be willing to switch to attacking mode pretty quickly I think and it is critical they have attacking smalls around them (both defensively and offensively). I think this will be interesting, I know Comben's disposal has been criticised at times but watching him today live has reinforced my view that he is technically a good kick. Sharp, punchy, low travelling 20-30m bullets are in his bag as is a big fat roosting kick. Backline is finally looking like it might resemble a professional organisation but there is still a bit to work though.

I got down this morning for the first time this year, I was a bit distracted but a few thoughts / observations:

• It was mostly a pretty light skills session from what I saw with a few match style scenario things
  • Frustrating to see some players missing what should be regulation ~25-30m passes at this level under zero pressure (game or otherwise), yeah I'd miss as well sometimes but IDGAF hit them mofo's
  • Konstanty had his boots on, not sure if this is an occurrence regularly for him at training level but he was dobbing them from all spots. Needs to find this at AFL level to retain his spot as Dovaston will be hot on his heels. Personally I think this team needs two genuine smalls of this type forward sooner rather than later but I'm a bit worried that the team will rely on 1 to start the year due to a squeeze of mid sized forwards and the Larkey / Trembath / Darling conundrum. Feels a bit like a hard call for balance needs to be made elsewhere for mine even if "on paper" the non forward is better. If we had an absolute machine of a midfield you'd get guys like Sheezel forward more but honestly think that idea has sailed for now.
  • There was a bit of a drill with a bit of a 1-2 in the middle of the ground and a player simulating a break (often a backman, but not always) and the 2nd player in the middle needing to put the ball in front of a hard break pressing teammate. Some wonky kicks to these blokes to be honest which is annoying.
  • Not wanting to single him out (because others probably did the same thing) but I saw pink get on the end of one and instead of taking the snap / shot he ran it back up. Personally for me that defeats the purpose somewhat, if they're training a hard running all of ground player getting on the end of it, IMO they should take the chance to dribble it through especially so for players that won't get too many dobs on goal. Not a big thing but whatever.
  • McKercher has ice in his veins. Nailed a few good kicks and is pretty dead eye on goal. I kind of like the way he trains, seems like he takes it seriously with every shot / disposal and I think that has value.
  • Chom looks in good nick, definitely trains like a leader, he's vocal and fun - but serious about it. Good to see.
  • Logue gave me shit for my handball back coming off the fence rail which gave me a laugh, and you know, fair play I've given him the odd whack :D, I drilled him by foot afterwards though (from 10m away) and to his credit he was suitably impressed

Didn't see Curtis out there, nor Wardlaw but I might have missed the latter as I stuck to one end.

Still going with this song? It’s common sense that an individuals goal average will go up when the whole team is allowed to kick more goals. I made a comparison between Curtis and Cam last year. Curtis dines out on the bottom teams way more than Cam does.
PC 27 years old?

Heading into his third year and out of contract at seasons end. Should we be expecting more from Dawson?

I had really hoped he would be a lock for round 1 at full back. He's a beast of a kid size wise.
He's still only 20, and a bottom age 20 at that. Key defenders rightfully get a lot of leeway, because it's a bloody difficult position that takes a bloody long time to learn.

If he's listless for a long period in the VFL, that's when you start talking about expectations. Otherwise, leave him to his development

So having had a look at what I consider our best performance last year (vs Brisbane), as a way of getting a gauge on whether we can reasonably expect improvement this season, I went back to have a look at what I thought was our worst performance. Picking the game was an issue in itself - for reputational damage, probably Good Friday was the nadir, but the worst scoreboard result was Round 20 vs Geelong.

And seriously, what an absolute cluster. With Xerri, Larkey, MacDonald and Wardlaw missing, it was in one sense a test of squad depth, and on that measure, the game was a massive fail. I'm also not sure it was the match committee's hour of glory, because the side put out and their line positions looked like this:

View attachment 2521249
(Ps; Daniel rotated as the 7th back; FOS rotated through the wings; Sheezel mid-forward)

I suppose the match committee were endeavouring to test 'what have we got', but the answers were pretty clear by half time:

1. Charlie Comben is not a forward. Tried hard, but made no impact as a marking forward. Went back in the second half and immediately started taking intercepts.
2. Wil Dawson tried hard, but found the physical match up with Neale too much to handle.
3. Duursma was matched up on Jack Martin for most of the game at HB, and although Martin was only a marginal player for the Cats, Zane is not a backman, perhaps best indicated by his failure to lay a single tackle.
4. the ruck depth was cruelly exposed. Teakle won some hit outs, but he and Maley as the relief ruck were well-beaten by Stanley and Blicavs. I wouldn't be surprised if this was the game where a line was drawn through both names
5. North just didn't have a match up for Jeremy Cameron. Logue couldn't keep up when the game was on the line in the first half, and Pink (although good early) did no better when he got the job in the second half
6. Tom Powell spent on a lot of time on Bailey Scott, and - to put it mildly - got taught a lesson

Overall, it was a spare parts team that played like it, with connection a chronic failure, perhaps best indicated by the times Banch was picked out as the marking option trying to leave D50. Didn't end well, needless to say.

So, where does that leave us for 2026? I think it's fair to say depth is a bit better this year - if Larkey misses, it's reasonable to think Trembath and maybe Whitlock would give better options than shifting Comben from his best position.

But the big worry is Xerri - the side was a shadow of itself in this game, and if he misses this year, the options aren't great - a completely untried Goad, and CCJ who can't get on the park.

I thought having had a look at the Brisbane game, we've got grounds to believe we can improve against this year. This throw-back is more of a concern - although the match committee could have done a better job against Geelong, the ruck depth has not really improved, and we could pay again in the same way.
🤣 Tom Powell lining up on Bailey Scott was a suspect move. No surprise, Bailey Smith had a field day!

So having had a look at what I consider our best performance last year (vs Brisbane), as a way of getting a gauge on whether we can reasonably expect improvement this season, I went back to have a look at what I thought was our worst performance. Picking the game was an issue in itself - for reputational damage, probably Good Friday was the nadir, but the worst scoreboard result was Round 20 vs Geelong.

And seriously, what an absolute cluster. With Xerri, Larkey, MacDonald and Wardlaw missing, it was in one sense a test of squad depth, and on that measure, the game was a massive fail. I'm also not sure it was the match committee's hour of glory, because the side put out and their line positions looked like this:

View attachment 2521249
(Ps; Daniel rotated as the 7th back; FOS rotated through the wings; Sheezel mid-forward)

I suppose the match committee were endeavouring to test 'what have we got', but the answers were pretty clear by half time:

1. Charlie Comben is not a forward. Tried hard, but made no impact as a marking forward. Went back in the second half and immediately started taking intercepts.
2. Wil Dawson tried hard, but found the physical match up with Neale too much to handle.
3. Duursma was matched up on Jack Martin for most of the game at HB, and although Martin was only a marginal player for the Cats, Zane is not a backman, perhaps best indicated by his failure to lay a single tackle.
4. the ruck depth was cruelly exposed. Teakle won some hit outs, but he and Maley as the relief ruck were well-beaten by Stanley and Blicavs. I wouldn't be surprised if this was the game where a line was drawn through both names
5. North just didn't have a match up for Jeremy Cameron. Logue couldn't keep up when the game was on the line in the first half, and Pink (although good early) did no better when he got the job in the second half
6. Tom Powell spent on a lot of time on Bailey Scott, and - to put it mildly - got taught a lesson

Overall, it was a spare parts team that played like it, with connection a chronic failure, perhaps best indicated by the times Banch was picked out as the marking option trying to leave D50. Didn't end well, needless to say.

So, where does that leave us for 2026? I think it's fair to say depth is a bit better this year - if Larkey misses, it's reasonable to think Trembath and maybe Whitlock would give better options than shifting Comben from his best position.

But the big worry is Xerri - the side was a shadow of itself in this game, and if he misses this year, the options aren't great - a completely untried Goad, and CCJ who can't get on the park.

I thought having had a look at the Brisbane game, we've got grounds to believe we can improve against this year. This throw-back is more of a concern - although the match committee could have done a better job against Geelong, the ruck depth has not really improved, and we could pay again in the same way.
..but other than that?

Still going with this song? It’s common sense that an individuals goal average will go up when the whole team is allowed to kick more goals. I made a comparison between Curtis and Cam last year. Curtis dines out on the bottom teams way more than Cam does.
Curtis kicked 17 of 38 goals against top ten sides (and another three against Carlton on GF.) So did Zurhaar.

PC played three less games tho (2&3/4 technically) and missed the draw against Brisbane and then later on the GWS game (they were the only top ten sides he missed playing). So he probably would have ended up with another four goals against top 10 sides. Cam missed the Adelaide game in r24. So he might have kicked another two, one at least.

He also had an obvious form slump between the two suspensions so who knows what would have happened without that suspension.

Zurhaar has played well against good teams at times. He kicked five against the premiers in 2019.

I think a lot wanted to drill him by foot last year. Right up the clacker.
It was all good fun. Anyway, I'm going to go start the 2026 delistings thread...

He does look to have put on a little (much needed) size. He will definitely start the year barring mishaps but we are tall. IMO we will be planning for Logue and Comben to also roll out round 1. I know there's an extra interchange player so a bit more flexibility but most teams won't want to be wasting it on a tall defender.

With 3 talls of this size one of them needs to be willing to switch to attacking mode pretty quickly I think and it is critical they have attacking smalls around them (both defensively and offensively). I think this will be interesting, I know Comben's disposal has been criticised at times but watching him today live has reinforced my view that he is technically a good kick. Sharp, punchy, low travelling 20-30m bullets are in his bag as is a big fat roosting kick. Backline is finally looking like it might resemble a professional organisation but there is still a bit to work though.

I got down this morning for the first time this year, I was a bit distracted but a few thoughts / observations:

• It was mostly a pretty light skills session from what I saw with a few match style scenario things
  • Frustrating to see some players missing what should be regulation ~25-30m passes at this level under zero pressure (game or otherwise), yeah I'd miss as well sometimes but IDGAF hit them mofo's
  • Konstanty had his boots on, not sure if this is an occurrence regularly for him at training level but he was dobbing them from all spots. Needs to find this at AFL level to retain his spot as Dovaston will be hot on his heels. Personally I think this team needs two genuine smalls of this type forward sooner rather than later but I'm a bit worried that the team will rely on 1 to start the year due to a squeeze of mid sized forwards and the Larkey / Trembath / Darling conundrum. Feels a bit like a hard call for balance needs to be made elsewhere for mine even if "on paper" the non forward is better. If we had an absolute machine of a midfield you'd get guys like Sheezel forward more but honestly think that idea has sailed for now.
  • There was a bit of a drill with a bit of a 1-2 in the middle of the ground and a player simulating a break (often a backman, but not always) and the 2nd player in the middle needing to put the ball in front of a hard break pressing teammate. Some wonky kicks to these blokes to be honest which is annoying.
  • Not wanting to single him out (because others probably did the same thing) but I saw pink get on the end of one and instead of taking the snap / shot he ran it back up. Personally for me that defeats the purpose somewhat, if they're training a hard running all of ground player getting on the end of it, IMO they should take the chance to dribble it through especially so for players that won't get too many dobs on goal. Not a big thing but whatever.
  • McKercher has ice in his veins. Nailed a few good kicks and is pretty dead eye on goal. I kind of like the way he trains, seems like he takes it seriously with every shot / disposal and I think that has value.
  • Chom looks in good nick, definitely trains like a leader, he's vocal and fun - but serious about it. Good to see.
  • Logue gave me shit for my handball back coming off the fence rail which gave me a laugh, and you know, fair play I've given him the odd whack :D, I drilled him by foot afterwards though (from 10m away) and to his credit he was suitably impressed

Didn't see Curtis out there, nor Wardlaw but I might have missed the latter as I stuck to one end.
Thanks shintemaster some valuable insights there!

Everything that I've read and been exposed to this year suggest that Kerch and Konstanty are up there with the most diligent on field trainers when it comes to effort and intensity.

Couple of Q's from me, was Trembath and Goater out there? Anyone stand out with good skills/decision making?

Cheers mate!

Thanks mate. Love these reports.

Really pleased about JK. Definitely think there is a long term player there if he fixes a few fixable issues.

Reckon we get a match-sim this friday?
Today seemed very light so I would hope so. I might be a chance to swing by again if things work out. Only really a couple of weeks til they start rolling out in proper game scenarios so it should be ramping up.

Thanks shintemaster some valuable insights there!

Everything that I've read and been exposed to this year suggest that Kerch and Konstanty are up there with the most diligent on field trainers when it comes to effort and intensity.

Couple of Q's from me, was Trembath and Goater out there? Anyone stand out with good skills/decision making?

Cheers mate!

Honestly didn't notice either of them but it was very localised skill sessions so they may have been up the other end and I just never saw them. Based off the little I saw hard to read too much into it but I would say in addition to McKercher / Konstanty.

• Saw a bit from Dovaston, he's certainly high intensity. I actually can't wait to see him in a real match scenario as he also seems the type to feed off the attention / genuine competition
  • Banch looked lively as well, might just be a bit of bias (as I see the small forward situation as a very open question at the moment) but it feels like all of these players might be very much aware of the competition for spots for the first between Konstanty, Dovaston, Banch which can only be a good thing.
  • Comben as I alluded to looked in very nice condition, he is very trim and was attacking the ground and the ball with a lot of run. I reckon he is the most likely attacking tall in that Pink / Comben / Logue lineup just due to his sheer athleticism and willingness to make the odd mistake.
  • FWIW Simpkin also looked in great nick (although he usually is) and I'm hoping he will see the scenario at the end of the year as a personal challenge and be ready to **** shit up. I've been as critical as many on his ability to shin the ball when trying to hit those 25-30m kicks but there is no doubt whatsover that off a wing he offers a lot of what is needed - can run all day, physical, plays defensively when needed, can roost the ball and hit the scoreboard when pushing forward. If he can find a way to just cut 10-15% of those kicks by better choices / awareness of limitations or just offloading he has it in him to really hurt teams and provide accountability as well. Offers great flexibility to the team if he gets this right.
  • Stephens I noticed a few times and in particular during those drills pushing forward it is very noticeable how he's just not as prone to the complete miskick in delivery as others. I think a few see him as replaceable and in a sense so do I in that we have a few players that should be dragging his position from him but in reality for now he runs to all the right places and doesn't **** up the kick as much so it will be interesting to see how that falls.
  • Goad is really a specimen physically, I'm very keen to see him get an opportunity sooner rather than later as a resting type to see if he can grab a role and run with it, not sure how likely that is now with a bit of a puzzle already on Darling / Trembath in the squad. It seems likely they're leaning with these guys as the ruck relief now which probably pushes Goad back a touch as far as Rd 1 goes without injuries.

In all honesty for me personally I struggle to take too much from these type of sessions (outside of small snippets of how players train) and looking forward to seeing a more match style setup where you can make more of a judgement on how players have improved against their baseline.

PC 27 years old?
Lame argument.

I’m not debating who is the better player. Paul turns 23 in 4 weeks. For all intents and purposes I consider him a senior player. I don’t know what age has to do with who feasts more on weak opposition.

P.S. I didn’t realise Cam was so young. Heaps of room for improvement

Lame argument.

I’m not debating who is the better player. Paul turns 23 in 4 weeks. For all intents and purposes I consider him a senior player. I don’t know what age has to do with who feasts more on weak opposition.

P.S. I didn’t realise Cam was so young. Heaps of room for improvement
Lol Cam will never get close to being All Aus. PC is on the fringe. 😂 Bullfrog is more overrated than Sonja round here.