- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Fremantle
My exact thoughts after reading all those reports.So from what I’m gathering we need to start booking busses and tattoo appointments?

LIVE: Carlton v Geelong - Rd 12 - 7:40PM Fri
Squiggle tips Cats at 69% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 12 Games
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 12
SuperCoach Rd 12 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC - 2026 Fight MND Comp ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 12 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
My exact thoughts after reading all those reports.So from what I’m gathering we need to start booking busses and tattoo appointments?
Only if its your first RodeoSo from what I’m gathering we need to start booking busses and tattoo appointments?
Hi all,Training report
I won't go into the early warm up drills and just focus on our match sim.
The overall standard was good but not great with skills however the heat was full on.
They are fit and all the prime movers are keyed in and ready to push the club forward. Young split his time between mid and forward. I don't need to say how he is the best of the lot because he just is. He's injury free thanks to his off season prep and is looking menacing for the op.
Brayshaw and Serong are the hardest workers in the engine room and will help Young drive the ball forward. Jackson splitting time between ruck and midfield duties allows some bigger beasts run through. He is ready to go. The other prime mover i wanted to focus on is Bolton. He ran mostly mid today and cut his opponents up when driving the ball forward. His and Youngs skills are sublime.
Murphy Reid is developing his midfield craft and is running well. He looks more dangerous high half forward however why wouldn't you want to give him these opportunities during the preseason?!
Tracey Voss and Amiss looking like they are in the zone with Dudley looking a heap fitter ready to snap anything up that hits the ground. I'm almost convinced he makes the 23 at the start of the season.
Kicket also impressed me at both sessions I've seen. His chase down tackling is impressive and his skills are elite. One of his kicks reminded me of Walters. He may need some time but he does have the x factor a small forward needs to impact on big games.
I have my doubts that Ryan will be 100% fit come round 1. Draper may take his spot or go an extra small with points possibly Chapman taking the 3rd tall. Ryan's body looks beefed up more than ever.
O'Driscoll just needs to clean up his kicking skills and he'd be terrific. He almost has it. Carr also needs to improve his kicking.
I have a feeling Cox will play early on to see if they can find the right ballance. He could float forward to be that mark inside 50 if our key forwards are covered on the lead.
The thing i like the most is the options running past to drive the ball forward do the ball carrier can flick it to a player under less pressure. Yes this happens with all teams but Freo seem to have players willing to run in numbers and at full tilt. And that goes both for attacking play and defensive play too.
I wish Purple Reign a lovely day
Love and blessings King Huskii

you would be mad not too...I haveSo from what I’m gathering we need to start booking busses and tattoo appointments?
My "bus" is out the front, I have a couch booked in Williamstown and the tats are water soluble.Only if its your first Rodeo
I reckon you can cut yourself a bit of slack on this take lol. Wagner was played very deep in his first run in the team for reasons I will never understand. Once he was played higher up he looked better, and now that he's not even a defender he looks crucial.Corey Wagner
A couple of year's ago, I was in Bali, a few Bintangs in, watching Freo try to play Gold Coast. I'm in awe of those savants who have a long term memory which has no doubt not been obliterated from too many Wednesday pints at Steve's or too many lawnmowers at the Hippie Club, those posters who can vividly recall key moments from games in seasons gone by. However, Wagner's Freo debut personified the fetid stench that enshrouds Bali. His game was horrendous and I anticipated that he would not be purple for very wrong. More evidence that I have no idea what I'm talking about.
Wagner at training today was sublime. He moved with pace, was evasive, and showed classy disposal by foot. A highlight was when he handballed to himself before an inside 50 which was directed towards Leon Kickett (more on this later). The speed that Wagner brings to our midfield will enhance what we offer.
Really? Maybe it's because he was actually playing off half-back when they picked him up from the VFL? Not really hard to understand so don't act like you knew something better. His previous AFL exp. he was a forward, not a wing, not a midfielder.I reckon you can cut yourself a bit of slack on this take lol. Wagner was played very deep in his first run in the team for reasons I will never understand. Once he was played higher up he looked better, and now that he's not even a defender he looks crucial.
Are you OK mate?Really? Maybe it's because he was actually playing off half-back when they picked him up from the VFL? Not really hard to understand so don't act like you knew something better. His previous AFL exp. he was a forward, not a wing, not a midfielder.
We're gonna play a game called spot the difference. 1 picture has where got his touches from against Gold Coast, the other is where he got his touches from against Geelong that same year. I think most who remember the Gold Coast game in particular will know which is which.Really? Maybe it's because he was actually playing off half-back when they picked him up from the VFL? Not really hard to understand so don't act like you knew something better. His previous AFL exp. he was a forward, not a wing, not a midfielder.
All hats aside, we probably need more updates on Hugh Davies and Ollie Murphy. They are at a critical time in they careers if they wish to make it.
He actually played as a wing at Melbourne. Was a forward at North. (Edit - I might have mixed those up. But he was played as a forward at one and a wing at the other).Really? Maybe it's because he was actually playing off half-back when they picked him up from the VFL? Not really hard to understand so don't act like you knew something better. His previous AFL exp. he was a forward, not a wing, not a midfielder.
He actually played as a wing at Melbourne. Was a forward at North. (Edit - I might have mixed those up. But he was played as a forward at one and a wing at the other).
But yes, it was his play after transitioning to half back at Port Melbourne that made us want to bring him in in that role.
In my opinion an overlooked part of his struggles in his first game for us was the venue. Norwood famously narrow, not exactly an easy ground to play for a kicking hbf when the opposition defence is naturally compressed like that.
NoDid Simpson take part in the match Sim?
They have both completed every session I’ve been at this preseason but in saying that they really don’t stand out. Could be the position they playAll hats aside, we probably need more updates on Hugh Davies and Ollie Murphy. They are at a critical time in they careers if they wish to make it.
I completely agree with all of this above.. Great job KH. I too am very excited by Kicket.
Id only add I thought Sean Darcy was a star out there today. He rucked (without a break I think) against Harding, Riddlre and Cox with Sean dominating for his team at both centre clearances and around the ground. His combination with LJ playing midfield was terrific at the clearances.
It also has to be said the finish of the session included a ton of extra running and Sean put in great effort in those drills too.
Another who excelled today was Toby Whan. He had some great long kicks in the match sims and also excelled in the repeat running at the end of the session. Keeping up with the top runners.
O'Meara continues to excel at repeat running. In the match sims Im pretty certain he didn't play half back at all and was playing wing/onball.
Someone also giving great effort in the running is Oscar McDonald. I love how he gives 100% at everything he does on the training track. For a big man he is an exceptional runner.
Charlie Nichols had some really good moments in the match sims keeping a couple of goals. I think we have a long term player there.
Mathew Johnson excels at sprint work and looked terrific in the match sim. I think he is capable of a big step up in 2026. Erasmus is capable of a big step up too in my opinion.
Young spent time as the deepest forward and looked great in this role. He kicked a terrific snap goal on his non preferred right side.
This is a good call. I remember that game and I think all of us had doubts. He was nervous understandably given his first game with 3rd club and wet the bed more than a few times deep in defence. A last line deep in defence small defender is not his go. He has improved his one-on-one defending to the point l I feel more confident if he is dragged back to defend on occasions but as a run with, a attacking half back or wing he is confident and good ball user who takes the game on. I think part of the Wing rotation and then roles like he performed on Daicos etc. he had an important role as part of our preferred 23.I reckon you can cut yourself a bit of slack on this take lol. Wagner was played very deep in his first run in the team for reasons I will never understand. Once he was played higher up he looked better, and now that he's not even a defender he looks crucial.
Thanks - they are different types of key defenders. Murphy is a very good endurance runner. Good to hear he has bulked up. His speed is not a strength so a forward like Amiss who can create separation with burst lead will cause him difficulty (I realise you said he didn’t play on Amiss).They have both completed every session I’ve been at this preseason but in saying that they really don’t stand out. Could be the position they play
From Fridays session Davies gave away a free (or two?) against Amiss deep I50.
Murphy showed some aggression in going hard and marking a ball on the wing close to the new watching area. He really committed and made that ball his own which made me take notice …
I must admit I initially didn't rate Wagner but I have warmed to him now and he is very versatile and can fill a few roles.Good call.
I wonder how he felt mentally, having already been cut at two clubs and running out for a last chance. I could see either complete freedom or total stress.
Do either Murphy or Davies push past Draper (or McDonald) as the next tall defender?
Are all 4 of the above anything but depth/development for the next 2+ years?