List Mgmt. 2026 - What do we need?

Moving Reid from the forward line is robbing Peter to pay Paul. As much as I’d like to see him play mid, can we really afford to do that?

He’s our most effective small half forward.

You want the ball in his hands as much as possible. I think you play him as high half forward, wing and mid next year, and you see how he goes in each role.

Yeah.
Reid taking the next step and getting 25 a game anywhere on the field makes us hugely better

Carl Worner has been serviceable in the backline nothing special, he can take a mark. I think he may be more suited to try out on a wing, he has good stamina. Other than that I don't really see him in our best 22 , Simpson will be a huge upgrade and more attacking player.

He did his ACL. I think he is done now, too many knee issues.
So we need to recruit then. Frederick isn’t good enough.

I think there are 5 players from Saturday that simply must not be in the round 1 team if we’re going to compete.

Frederick - not sure but cannot be in the team.
Banfield - Simpson
Worner - recruit? McVee?
Dudley - Switta
JOM - Wagner/Johnson

All of the important stuff has been covered but the main thing for me is improving the way we transition the ball out of D50. Improvement doesn't necessarily mean more speed either (**** I hate that false equivalence), but we look pretty suspect when our one wood of kicking long to a contest on the wing and then setting from there doesn't work. Yes we are often able to eventually move it into our forward 50, but it's typically not very clean ball and well-equiped defensive sides are able to force a contest, which then just highlights our pretty sub-par pressure inside 50.

New players and/or someone like Simpson coming into the team may help but we can't rely on that happening. It's a luxury to have several strong contested marking targets but we need a few extra strings to our bow.

Now the season has ended it’s time to makes some fixes.feel free to post yours below 👇 will be interested to see yours

1. Positioning at center bounces. We always leave too much space for opposing player which gives the other team all the room in the world for clearance work. Clearances was one of the biggest issues of the year

2. Need to be more attacking out of defense half. Slow footy chipping around is a brand of football that won’t win games all year. Take the mark if there is someone running past handball to them and keep the attacking brand going.

3. Pressure work. When on we were one of the best teams at pressure. We missed swita in the final arguably one of the best.

4. This is for jlo if the team is down at half time done wait until the end of the 3rd to make sure move. Throw a few magnets around before it’s out of hand.

Carl Worner has been serviceable in the backline nothing special, he can take a mark. I think he may be more suited to try out on a wing, he has good stamina. Other than that I don't really see him in our best 22 , Simpson will be a huge upgrade and more attacking player.

Have said this for a while. That's what he was actually recruited as if you read the Freo bio when we drafted him.

There's only so many defenders we can squeeze in, especially when we need more speed and rebound from using the likes of Simpson/Wagner/Walker back there.

I'd also look at a Chapman/Worner rotation if neither can handle the pure 14-15 km running load that Sharp was doing by himself.

As absolutely putrid as he was - and after settling down after having a go at him - Freddy is still B22. He's always been this kind of player but finals pressure football has really puts his deficiencies under the microscope.

A big thing I hated about how we went about our List Management from like 2017 to even now is we would always trade out players in his age range, and it was just shit for balance and experience. This is why we always end up in the Bottom 4 for that shit.

I think its fair for people to be emotional - but in reality he is B22 and we shouldn't be trading him.

The miss and play on aside - I recognize he's a Glass Cannon type player and has no defensive side - but JFC - I really hope he can learn and smarten up on that aspect of his game. He doesn't need to do it all the time - but he needs to have the awareness to identify when it's his turn to go for the ****ing ball and put his body in the contest like his team mates do.

Also, I'm sorry - but if he has the speed to get separation and out the back on the end of transition, he can run a couple of meters to pressure the ball carrier instead of waiting like a statue for the loose ball to be created by a team mate that's further away than he ****ing is.

100+ games and maturing now into a senior figure. He needs to just add this 10% to his game now - because we all love it and forgive those acts in games when he's hot and firing - but when he's not, it literally loses us a final and drives everyone insane.
On Frederick as a senior figure, if Switkowski doesn't play, then Frederick is the forward line player who has most games at Freo. Bolton has more games total, but most of them at Richmond. Either way, Frederick is the one who should be setting the standard.

FWIW, my view is that we should be keeping him on the list, but giving him a real clear list of non-negotiables if he wants a game. And make it clear that B22 player or not, he won't be playing if he skips out on going for a hard ball. Meanwhile, get Dudley and a few other fringe players to do the hard yards pre-season so that they're chomping at the bit to step up.

Give or take some attitude adjustment, I think what we have on the list already is OK up forward, but if we happen to come across another Voss hiding out at Essendon, I wouldn't say no. (But taking the Voss from Carlton would be a mistake, unless he wants to take pay cut and be midfield coach.)

The distraction of having Fyfe coming back from injury is now gone after 6 years.
Love him but it's always been a silly distraction as he never really did much when returning.
Can focus on Ras taking that role on properly.
I reckon he signs on.

Pearce needs to lose the Captaincy.
Needs to step down voluntarily.
Being injured half a season & some of his candid comments about feeling jealous when the team wins without me & his political bias was a bit out there.
Love him as I love Fyfe, now we need to see the next gen step up.

I think Wombat will step up next year, we need to find a Moose replacement.
And our wings are shot without Sharp coming on this year.
Banners and Jom need to be upgraded.
And a bit of mongrel in the assistant coach department would be good. With some fresh eyes.

Another year of development to this young side will also mean a lot.

We have most of the chess peices..

I'm sorry, but this discourse around Frederick has to be some of the biggest hyperbole I've ever seen on here, he had a relatively good season, stayed fit, kicked 30+ goals, had his down points, but after one pretty bad game, all of a sudden it's panic stations and we need to get rid of him?

This can't be a real conversation surely. We'd be seriously stupid to get rid of him. Would genuinely be in contention for one of our worst moves.

I'm sorry, but this discourse around Frederick has to be some of the biggest hyperbole I've ever seen on here, he had a relatively good season, stayed fit, kicked 30+ goals, had his down points, but after one pretty bad game, all of a sudden it's panic stations and we need to get rid of him?

This can't be a real conversation surely. We'd be seriously stupid to get rid of him. Would genuinely be in contention for one of our worst moves.
Have a look at the games he does things in. One of the biggest front runners in the clubs history. Never turns up when it counts.

He’s got trade value… cut and run.

How much forward pressure does he provide?

How does he kick his goals? Do you get these opportunities in finals?

Is he clean enough with the ball (one touch player), and has good skills to provide opportunities for other forwards?

-------------------

In my opinion, we have 3 key forwards and only Switta providing forward pressure. I think Frederick, Bolton and Dudley all need to provide more pressure or leave. From my memory I remember Bolton chasing a few times, when I can't remember Frederick or Dudley doing the same.

Looking at the pressure stats, I think this back it up that both Frederick and Dudley need to provide a lot more pressure or be replaced.

His disposal efficiency for the year is 64% (Switta is 79%, Bolton 63%)

Tackles 1.8 vs 4.1 (Switta) vs 2.7 (Bolton) vs 1.8 (Dudley)
Pressure acts 12.8 vs 19.7 (Switta) vs 14.4 (Bolton) vs 9.8 (Dudley)
Tackles inside 50 (.7) vs 1.2 (Switta) vs .8 (Bolton) vs .9 (Dudley)

How much forward pressure does he provide?

How does he kick his goals? Do you get these opportunities in finals?

Is he clean enough with the ball (one touch player), and has good skills to provide opportunities for other forwards?

-------------------

In my opinion, we have 3 key forwards and only Switta providing forward pressure. I think Frederick, Bolton and Dudley all need to provide more pressure or leave. From my memory I remember Bolton chasing a few times, when I can't remember Frederick or Dudley doing the same.

Looking at the pressure stats, I think this back it up that both Frederick and Dudley need to provide a lot more pressure or be replaced.

His disposal efficiency for the year is 64% (Switta is 79%, Bolton 63%)

Tackles 1.8 vs 4.1 (Switta) vs 2.7 (Bolton) vs 1.8 (Dudley)
Pressure acts 12.8 vs 19.7 (Switta) vs 14.4 (Bolton) vs 9.8 (Dudley)
Tackles inside 50 (.7) vs 1.2 (Switta) vs .8 (Bolton) vs .9 (Dudley)
I agree with you, he needs to provide some more pressure, it's one of his flaws, however I think the whole "Get rid of him he's no good" mentality some have began spouting over the past couple of days is a little over the top. It's each to their own though of course.

Yeah I absolutely agree - we would be mad to just trade him out, but, he was so far off the pace on Saturday night it was completely embarrassing and he is one of a few that could benefit from a review of say, Serongs game. The lack of effort and refusal to make a contest simply can't be tolerated and should be highlighted in their review. If he can't take the criticism and turn it into fuel to get better then he doesnt have a place in the team.

Other thoughts:
For me, (and Im hearing he is gettable) Ah Chee would be a great addition, that would free up Bruce to spend some more time in the midfield, or upgrade Dudley if he can't take the next step - which I personally think he can.

Id also love to see Treacy training with the midfield group at times over the off-season. Not necessarily to be a full time mid but I think its a lever we can pull mid game if we are getting smashed in clearances or struggling to contain someone. It leaves a big hole in the forward line but it still leaves 2 talls up there, plus potentially Jackson as a third too.

Hopefully Cooper can pick up where he left off before his shoulder as that was looking really positive.

IMO Banners and MacDonald are great guys to have on the list, both very capable depth.

I agree with you, he needs to provide some more pressure, it's one of his flaws, however I think the whole "Get rid of him he's no good" mentality some have began spouting over the past couple of days is a little over the top. It's each to their own though of course.

He is 25, I am not sure he can change.

I think the best case is we get 1 or 2 more small forwards (yes I am being greedy), Dudley comes back in top nick and they all need to fight it out for a spot.

I think with out pressure for spots, there is no need for him to chase and tackle like his life depended on it.

Dude kicked 30 goals playing the role not many are good at. I'm not convinced he's as easy to replace as everyone thinks. Not every player in the 22 needs to be a hard nut.
They don’t need to be a hard nut in the Troy Cook mould, but they still can’t be shirking contests. It’s entirely non negotiable to be shying away from physical contact.

I'd still want to hear peoples plans on finding 30+ goals from somewhere. Our KPFs should kick a few more but we need them kicking more so we kick more in general, same with the mids.

Bobby Hill could be that answer but to say I'd be concerned there would be an understatement...

Yeah, he doesnt need to be reckless but he also can't be standing 2m away from the ball carrier and make zero effort to impact. But for me it was more the lack of awareness in the intensity of the game - he was a mile off it.

Dude kicked 30 goals playing the role not many are good at. I'm not convinced he's as easy to replace as everyone thinks. Not every player in the 22 needs to be a hard nut.

If we swap Dudley with another Switta then maybe it is ok (ideally one who kicks goals), but ideally you get Frederick to provide a bit more pressure.

He doesn't need to be a hard nut, he just needs to chase and tackle a bit more especially if we continue to play 3 talls and two rucks.

Moving Reid from the forward line is robbing Peter to pay Paul. As much as I’d like to see him play mid, can we really afford to do that?

He’s our most effective small half forward.
IMO assists are more valuable than goals that he personally kicks. The hardest kick in football is the one going inside 50, not the kicking for goal itself, so your best kicks should be given the task of kicking into 50 or setting up the play two kicks from 50.

The odd thing is, I can remember Frederick being a fairly energetic chaser and tackler when he first came into the side. Vague memories of a concussion or injury and then not being the same since?

Dudley has certainly put in a lot of chasing effort at times, particularly earlier in the season. With more fitness, he seems willing

List Mgmt. 2026 - What do we need?