20th AFL Team

Which location will be the home of the 20th AFL team?

Any increased demand over the next decade will get mopped up by the Lions' new capacity and leave a second team with very little support.

It doesn't work that way in reality.

Also, yes, Brisbane is bigger than Canberra, but Canberra is also the centre of the larger Capital Region.

So a tie?

After Tasmania, we have the largest unrepresented AFL fanbase in the country.

So the same as Tasmania it's the "we deserve an AFL team" card.

Canberrans are also wealthier than Brisbanites, so our smaller population doesn’t represent the size of our actual market.

Brisbane will have a great stadium, good weather and an good ambience for outdoor activity.
Canberra hasn't a stadium, has miserable weather and the ambience of "Deliverance".

Brisbane will have a great stadium, good weather and an good ambience for outdoor activity.
Canberra hasn't a stadium, has miserable weather and the ambience of "Deliverance".

Have you been try Canberra in the winter?

We have the least rain of all capitals March through September.

It's cold, but it's dry and still. Our daytimes in the winter are absolutely beautiful. Just rug up.

Weather is a factor, but the difference in weather between Brisbane and Canberra isn't worth one or the other being the preferred location for the 20th team.

Likewise disposable income.
IMO having an Olympic stadium available is a big plus and a big boost for BRS2 but
that doesn't mean it's better than Canberra a.t.m.
It means there is more pressure on Canberra to come up with a stadium.

Few points with a Brisbane II team.

Presumably they will represent Sunshine Coast/Northern Suburbs and have their training base, VFL and AFLW matches played out there. Women's footy is another strong consideration here, which people are forgetting. Sunshine Coast and Brisbane has great female participation and if you were merely looking at Women's footy there's an argument that even 4 of 20 teams in a national comp should be based out of Qld.

I think people are underestimating the buzz of the Olympics, the buzz that the new stadium will have, and the desire for people in Brisbane post-Olympics will want to have to visit both a world-class stadium (it is appealing itself) and to continue on the good feeling of the Olympics.

Fremantle haven't necessarily grown significantly as a club in terms of overall support in 10 years but the fact that Perth Stadium is highly valued as a good viewer experience has led to their crowds growing and growing. Fremantle having an average home crowd of 47k without even making a Prelim/GF in the time was not really in the imagination of people when the Perth stadium was being built.

I think a split model could be done as well. 5-7 high profile games at the Brisbane Stadium - against Gold Coast, Brisbane and the big 4 Melbourne clubs and maybe 1 or 2 more, 1-3 at Sunshine Coast (at their training/VFL/AFLW ground), and maybe 1-3 games in Mackay or Townsville if they get one of the two as part of their academy zone once you split Central/North Qld three ways between the teams. I think it w

Presumably they will represent Sunshine Coast/Northern Suburbs and have their training base, VFL and AFLW matches played out there. Women's footy is another strong consideration here, which people are forgetting. Sunshine Coast and Brisbane has great female participation and if you were merely looking at Women's footy there's an argument that even 4 of 20 teams in a national comp should be based out of Qld.

I think people are underestimating the buzz of the Olympics, the buzz that the new stadium will have, and the desire for people in Brisbane post-Olympics will want to have to visit both a world-class stadium (it is appealing itself) and to continue on the good feeling of the Olympics.

Fremantle haven't necessarily grown significantly as a club in terms of overall support in 10 years but the fact that Perth Stadium is highly valued as a good viewer experience has led to their crowds growing and growing. Fremantle having an average home crowd of 47k without even making a Prelim/GF in the time was not really in the imagination of people when the Perth stadium was being built.

I think a split model could be done as well. 5-7 high profile games at the Brisbane Stadium - against Gold Coast, Brisbane and the big 4 Melbourne clubs and maybe 1 or 2 more, 1-3 at Sunshine Coast (at their training/VFL/AFLW ground), and maybe 1-3 games in Mackay or Townsville if they get one of the two as part of their academy zone once you split Central/North Qld three ways between the teams. I think it w
I’m not really a fan of splitting games like that.

I get it with Tasmania. It’s footy heartland, state colours, mascot, a small distance between Hobart and Launceston. It works.

But Brisbane 2 cannot be a “state” team because a state team is the only team in the state, that’s the whole point.

It makes more sense for smaller markets, sure. Like a North Queensland side splitting games between Cairns, Townsville, and Mackay might work in the future.

Ditto NT splitting Darwin and Alice Springs.

Maybe you could have the Brisbane side play 2 games at the Sunshine Coast, but it’s tricky. Is it enough games to get a buy in from the Sunny Coast? Probably not. But neither is 7-8 games per year for this hypothetical Brisbane team.

You don’t want them to be Giants 2.0 where they’re not fully committed to one market.

I’m not really a fan of splitting games like that.

I get it with Tasmania. It’s footy heartland, state colours, mascot, a small distance between Hobart and Launceston. It works.

But Brisbane 2 cannot be a “state” team because a state team is the only team in the state, that’s the whole point.

It makes more sense for smaller markets, sure. Like a North Queensland side splitting games between Cairns, Townsville, and Mackay might work in the future.

Ditto NT splitting Darwin and Alice Springs.

Maybe you could have the Brisbane side play 2 games at the Sunshine Coast, but it’s tricky. Is it enough games to get a buy in from the Sunny Coast? Probably not. But neither is 7-8 games per year for this hypothetical Brisbane team.

You don’t want them to be Giants 2.0 where they’re not fully committed to one market.
Never claimed for it to be a state team. Just that their team would represent the Northern Suburbs of Brisbane outward to the Sunshine Coast, and then a handful of games further north in Queensland to make use of the fact that Townsville/Mackay have the existing high quality cricket facilities to host the game if those councils want a bit of tourism promotion and to link up with an academy - no different to the fact that Gold Coast already played a home game game in Townsville pre-COVID.

I'm also just being conservative with the fact that people are claiming that a new team might look empty in a 60,000 seat stadium. Presumably the new team will need a smaller secondary venue, just ensure it's up to AFL standard and host 10,000 there when they inevitably have to play Tassie or GWS in a home game, while they can host their home games against Collingwood, Richmond or Brisbane and the Olympic stadium. Ideally if the team is a success you play all home games in the Olympic stadium.

I don't see it being wildly different to Fremantle not representing the region where they've played their home games at the WACA, Subiaco or Perth Stadium in their history, and being half and hour away, but still training, playing WAFL/AFLW footy and training in their heartland area.

I agree with all your points except splitting across 3 areas is too much, I think just the north Brisbane based team playing out of the Olympic stadium and maybe the new rna redevelopment of 20k for Brisbane city games x7, then 4 games on the sunshine coast would do the trick.

Participation in QLD is going to crack 90k this year reportedly.

I don't see it being wildly different to Fremantle not representing the region where they've played their home games at the WACA, Subiaco or Perth Stadium in their history, and being half and hour away, but still training, playing WAFL/AFLW footy and training in their heartland area.

Fremantle have always represented Fremantle even though they draw support from over a large area.
Playing at the best available stadium has always been a part of of W.A. football
and F.Y.I. Fremantle is no more than 30 minutes away.

I like the Northern colour scheme, but not too sure about the Canberra one.

I reckon any of those colours could go well with any of the others on a two-colour uniform, but all three together just clash a bit.
What colours do you think would work well with a Canberra team?

Northern team most likely uses ochre colour I reckon. Plus predominantly white home kit would give them the edge in hot climate.

For Canberra it's a bit more broad because west coast already wears blue and yellow, so you'd have to go something completely new. Light blue, gold, Light green, pink? Any thoughts?

20 AFL teams may require serious consideration for 2 divisions of 10 teams each and promotion and relegation after each season. There are at least 5 VIC teams that currently seem to be in a state of permanent mediocrity - North Melb/St Kilda/Melb/Essendon/Carlton - so is it time to merge 2 of them?

20 AFL teams may require serious consideration for 2 divisions of 10 teams each and promotion and relegation after each season.

Divisions are NEVER going to happen. Conferences maybe,just maybe.

There are at least 5 VIC teams that currently seem to be in a state of permanent mediocrity

There are two West Australian teams that aren't going too flash either a.t.m.
That's why the AFL has equalisation measures to make things interesting.
The level of equalisation is always open to debate.

North Melb/St Kilda/Melb/Essendon/Carlton

All very strong clubs.

so is it time to merge 2 of them?

I ask again - why ?

20th AFL Team