20th AFL Team

Which location will be the home of the 20th AFL team?

Screenshot 2023-08-15 091324.png Screenshot 2023-08-15 091208.png Screenshot 2023-08-14 142852.png Screenshot 2023-07-11 142939.png Rams retro.png StKilda-Heritage-2023.jpg canberra rams logo.png
this was my take at a Canberra AFL team using the identity and colors of the tac Cup team, it was used in this year's nafl, and won awards for an art show it was entered into (made a real jersey and set of stickers all 3 logos) I know I have definitely posted this 3 times there's a folio of my idea and progression if anyone wants to look at that just let me know

For sure. It would be awesome to have some regional footy heartlands like those with regular games.

It would be a shame for NQ to continually miss out on footy. I’d love to see Cairns having 1-2 games in the short to mid term. Hawks could be their last, best chance.

Agree totally, I’m big on those three markets as the next for expansion - in this order. Got AI to generate some concepts:

Canberra-Riverina Rams (I actually prefer Canberra Pear’s Owls idea, but the AI was too influenced by Sheffield Wednesday and kept doing a crap job haha). Wanted to get some navy on the kit too but it kept looking too similar to West Coast. The guernsey pattern would be better if more traditional as well.

North Perth Quokkas - couldn’t get it right but want a predominantly red strip to distinguish them from the Eagles and Dockers and potential West Perth involvement. The Quokkas name is growing on me - don’t want another bird mascot. A non-animal one would be cool too - perhaps Pirates?

Moreton Bay Bullsharks - if Redcliffe and the NRL can blatantly rip off the Miami Dolphins with their “fins up” slogan then surely we could borrow a similar colour scheme. Bullsharks are one of the most common shark species found in SE Qld (even spotted in the Brisbane river). Used by Bond Uni’s AFL team. A different colour scheme for our league, v different from the Lions and Suns, but gives off coastey, warm climate kind of vibes.

Great stuff, remembering the rams can stand for riverina, act, murrumbidgee, southern nsw, it's a very appealing name, although the feminists might not like it.

I like the use of light blue, I wonder if the yellow could be changed to an orange though, if it would be more distinct from other clubs.

I agree Perth needs to be red or orange to contrast best but I'm not sure what combinations would work that haven't already been used. If not red then black white and gold like the new orleans saints, or green and black like western united or sydney thunder could work.

Great stuff, remembering the rams can stand for riverina, act, murrumbidgee, southern nsw, it's a very appealing name, although the feminists might not like it.

I like the use of light blue, I wonder if the yellow could be changed to an orange though, if it would be more distinct from other clubs.

I agree Perth needs to be red or orange to contrast best but I'm not sure what combinations would work that haven't already been used. If not red then black white and gold like the new orleans saints, or green and black like western united or sydney thunder could work.
East Perth Pirates, lime green and black.

Pretty sure, though, that if WA3 ever happens, whatever it ends up being called will be different. It'll probably be Perth something, and a mascot that isn't represented in the WAFL.

yellow is a colour used by the act rams so it fits well I initially tried orange didn't work before that I tried white didn't contrast enough tbf the shades of blue i used blended too much as well this was done with a horse idea but didn't work and the brumbies would throw a stink

East Perth Pirates, lime green and black.

Pretty sure, though, that if WA3 ever happens, whatever it ends up being called will be different. It'll probably be Perth something, and a mascot that isn't represented in the WAFL.
really want an ocean-themed team like sharks or dolphins or pirates or something, if there's ever an Irish team Kraken would be a good team, aqua black and white or something but theres already a sporting team called the Kraken

View attachment 1885632View attachment 1885633View attachment 1885634View attachment 1885635View attachment 1885636View attachment 1885641View attachment 1885643
this was my take at a Canberra AFL team using the identity and colors of the tac Cup team, it was used in this year's nafl, and won awards for an art show it was entered into (made a real jersey and set of stickers all 3 logos) I know I have definitely posted this 3 times there's a folio of my idea and progression if anyone wants to look at that just let me know
Great stuff, that’s just about perfect!

View attachment 1885632View attachment 1885633View attachment 1885634View attachment 1885635View attachment 1885636View attachment 1885641View attachment 1885643
Have you had a go at short and sock designs as well? I’d be interested to see how your guernseys look in a full kit with different combos of short and sock colours - sky blue, navy and yellow.

Well, if the AFL got a little savvy and added Top End round, even as early as 2027 if the Suns finish up in Darwin by 2026, the NT and NQ could be serviced every year, guaranteed.

If that happened, I like the idea of the Hawks playing 2 games in Newcastle, 1 each against the Swans and Giants, but I also like the idea of them playing 2 games in Auckland.

Now that I know the Saints are keen on Auckland, though, I suppose they'd take up the mantle there but I think a potentially huge market like Auckland needs 2 games.

Roos take Bendigo, Dogs stick with Ballarat, Dees probably take their Alice Springs game back to Melbourne.

If the Suns still needed to sell a game, which I'd doubt by then, then the Sunshine Coast would fit the bill.
That’s why 2 gather rounds could work in the imminent future, as you could have one early in the year at a rusted market (VIC/SA/WA/TAS) and then another later in the season at a developing market (NSW-ACT/QLD-NT).

Only issue would be the fairness of the fixture but the AFL will never be fair given the inequalities of it all.

Not a fan of state names used for a professional AFL team, although the colours of yellow and blue should make in.

What other fauna is common in Canberra/Southern NSW?

Not a fan of state names used for a professional AFL team, although the colours of yellow and blue should make in.

Politicians ;)

Wacky Races Lol GIF by Boomerang Official

That’s why 2 gather rounds could work in the imminent future, as you could have one early in the year at a rusted market (VIC/SA/WA/TAS) and then another later in the season at a developing market (NSW-ACT/QLD-NT).

Only issue would be the fairness of the fixture but the AFL will never be fair given the inequalities of it all.
That’s an awesome idea. The only adjustment I’d make is to have the Victorian one in regional Vic. Melbourne usually gets 4-5 games per week as it is, so how about have GMHBA at the central venue with a few games at Mars Stadium and one other regional city.

Agree that it should be regional Victoria and not metro Melbourne but the AFL will probably want more $$$$$ at the end of the day, given you could fit more people at the MCG than somewhere regional at their golden excuse unfortunately.

Reckon the AFL’s format for a Victorian Gather Round would be something like: 3x MCG, 3x Docklands, 2x Geelong, 1x Ballarat, 1x Bendigo (once 20 teams are in).

feral horses and that is a no-go idea, the brumbies would 100% spit the dummy, rams is the best not to mention the abbreviation plus no one in the AFL uses a double blue colour scheme so that has to be a lock

would be good to do gather round in NSW or QLD to help grow the game and over take rugby
Yes, if we’re gonna have two gather round games, then I’d prefer one in WA/SA/TAS and one in NSW/QLD.

Two gather rounds = 24 games though cause I can’t see clubs giving up their 11 home games per year set up.

So it’d either be one extra gather round a year or top end round, and I’m sure the former would be much more profitable.

So if it pans out that way, then I’d rather have the Hawks play 2-3 games per year in Darwin than in Cairns.

Pretty much anything in the ACT will be present in southern NSW, too.

Our most common one unfortunately is probably the kangaroo.

But we've also got wallabies (territory mammal), wombats, echidnas, platypuses, cockatoos (territory bird), kookaburras.

View attachment 1885753View attachment 1885754
don't really do socks or shorts this is what i ended up with DB works better than the light blue
I had a go at putting it all together on paint haha. I particularly like the third one with the sky blue and yellow stripes. That would be my pick for home guernsey. A unique colour scheme as well compared with existing AFL clubs. Good job mate, it looks great.

Attachments

• Chippa's Canberra Rams Kit.png
    Chippa's Canberra Rams Kit.png
    146.2 KB · Views: 18
My preference for a Canberra team would be green and blue. A bit like Seattle teams. I reckon it could look good in a classic hoops or chevron look (but I'm no graphic designer).

But we've also got wallabies (territory mammal), wombats, echidnas, platypuses, cockatoos (territory bird), kookaburras.
Not going to lie, that guernsey design would look pretty good too. I’m contradicting what I said earlier about bird mascots, but your Owls suggestion is as good as any I’ve heard.

My preference for a Canberra team would be green and blue. A bit like Seattle teams. I reckon it could look good in a classic hoops or chevron look (but I'm no graphic designer).

Green would represent the bush capital and the blue would represent the lake. Or it could represent the Riverina.
green will already taken by Tassie can't have both new teams wearing green, hoops taken by Geelong and Adelaide (i reckon that's enough) chevrons taken by Port and Freo hope they go to first port away, and Anchor would be nice to see Canberra rep chevrons but need to have some difference from the ACT side (the retro kit I made is a modern version of an old act kit in the new colors), but I used a design that wasn't in the AFL one lined stripe with side panels (the panels were needed) double blue isn't used so would be good to see that used but a highlight color is needed and yellow was the best option is used less than white

I had a go at putting it all together on paint haha. I particularly like the third one with the sky blue and yellow stripes. That would be my pick for home guernsey. A unique colour scheme as well compared with existing AFL clubs. Good job mate, it looks great.
no one has sky blue as a base so it's the logical choice for the home kit, even though in my opinion the navy looks better, and could do what the dees do and lions with a dark and light kit, but the yellow is nice provides great contrast and will be needed

Pretty much anything in the ACT will be present in southern NSW, too.

Our most common one unfortunately is probably the kangaroo.

wallabies taken by rugby can't do that, wombats are not strong enough image, echidnas cool idea but not strong enough, platypuses love that idea, as much is like the kookaburras idea that is an NSW thing, and other than that there is already enough bird teams no more bird teams so platypuses would be good but not as strong as rams, and for the "feminists" who may complain the Brisbane female team still goes by lions with the same logo despite lioness being the right term for a female lion and there would also be no mane but I haven't seen anyone throw a stink about that

20th AFL Team