Player Watch #21: Noah Balta

• Thread starter Thread starter Grockadoc

Balta could be Richmond's next long term ruck option long term - surely the club at the very least will consider this? Nankervis is coming to the end of his career. Balta can also pinch hit in the forward line too, which would add much needed extra firepower on the scoreboard.

Mac Andrew, Leek Aleer, Noah Balta. All undersized for a traditional ruck but supreme athletes that probably lack some footy smarts but have excelled in the last few weeks with stints on ball. The new rules are perfect for Noah and being a bit of a dumb campaigner, he can just chase the ball around rather than trying to read the play as a defender.

Leave him there Adem ffs. Even when Nank comes back leave Balta up forward and chop out in the ruck when we need to change things up a bit or when Nank needs a rest. Gray is looking better and better settled into a KPD spot too.

Possibly mate, but since the ruck rules changed, he is even more built for it, and I hope he sticks with it for now atleast.
Absolutely agree, just trying understand what would be the thinking behind Yze’s comments

Balta could be Richmond's next long term ruck option long term - surely the club at the very least will consider this? Nankervis is coming to the end of his career. Balta can also pinch hit in the forward line too, which would add much needed extra firepower on the scoreboard.

I think he makes a good 2nd ruck, i wouldnt play him as primary ruck.

I really struggled with that response. The bloke was just BOG, wouldn't the plan be "hey we're going to look at this more moving forward and it might be a new role for him".

If we've found gold by accident, why not cash in?

Anybody reasonably should have that thought process. It's like he's uber insecure and rather than contradict his previous statements on the back of Balta's performance, he'd rather back his previous judgement in. Dan Rioli was a fwd for majority of his career, the positional move down back was a master-stroke as he was having lousy to average output as a fwd. Balta got that massive extension as he was brilliant at intercepting and was in AA calculations 2024. He's been average to 💩 majority since them.

Look at Richo to the wing as well!

If Balta's output is kept as the Ruck/ utility like the WCE game and he produces 70% - 90% of the weekend's efforts thats a Brownlow worthy career. Also Baltas brain farts further up the ground don't cost goals automatically killing momentum. But Uzi is itching to revert to the status quo. He's clearly pig headed and if he's not adaptable..... adios muchachos.

I would start Balta in the middle and leave Nank on the bench. Nank is better around the ground when he doesn't need to leap but Balta is better forward. Having both as our rotating rucks gives us flexibility around the ground to stretch the opposition depending on the need.

I think its a match made in heaven

I would start Balta in the middle and leave Nank on the bench. Nank is better around the ground when he doesn't need to leap but Balta is better forward. Having both as our rotating rucks gives us flexibility around the ground to stretch the opposition depending on the need.

Maybe Nank spending a little more time forward, like the Dees are doing with Gawn now they're using Heath as another Ruck? If we're going to bomb it in, nobody better than Nank to contest down there.

I like this a lot. Big bad bustling Nank making his presence felt by the oppo in our forward line. Like it a lot.
Definitely worth a try...

Might help extends Nanks career a little bit too. The bloke deserves it. Absolute warrior our captain.

We wouldn't want our forward line to be too tall though (too slow). Lynch, Faull, Lefau and Nank is too many big guys up there.

Even down back
It’s gone a little bit un celebrated over his time with us but Nank has saved a lot of goals and even saved games with a strong mark in the backline

We wouldn't want our forward line to be too tall though (too slow). Lynch, Faull, Lefau and Nank is too many big guys up there.
I think Mykelti could be the one in a bit of trouble when Nank comes back. I think we even probably play Armstrong in front of him.

Mykelti needs another weapon if he's to hold his spot when our list is healthier. His forward 50 pressure is solid, as is his lead-up to a marking contest, but neither will compete with Mansell/Rioli when they're fit, nor Harry/Sims if they ever get back on the park.

If somehow in the next few weeks before Nank returns he develops really clunky mitts, or a bit of magic at ground level, then he might survive the cull.

That said, he's being an adequate servant in a few roles at present imo.

I think Mykelti could be the one in a bit of trouble when Nank comes back. I think we even probably play Armstrong in front of him.

Mykelti needs another weapon if he's to hold his spot when our list is healthier. His forward 50 pressure is solid, as is his lead-up to a marking contest, but neither will compete with Mansell/Rioli when they're fit, nor Harry/Sims if they ever get back on the park.

If somehow in the next few weeks before Nank returns he develops really clunky mitts, or a bit of magic at ground level, then he might survive the cull.

That said, he's being an adequate servant in a few roles at present imo.
Agree, he’s a little bit in that Caddy mould where he’s a little bit caught between being a genuine key position marking target and a small pressure player and when we have the choice of one or the other coaches tend to pick the specialist at one role over the player who is adequate at both

The other medium options like Lalor, Cumming or even Mansell ect have the benefit of being able to play in the midfield/wing so that versatility impact not just multiple roles but multiple lines across the field position wise makes them an easier sell

Unfortunately for Lefau he hasn’t quite got the attributes to do the same

Absolutely agree, just trying understand what would be the thinking behind Yze’s comments
if i was to read between the lines....he was thinking he has had more great games down back than up front.

A few days later.....Think tank in progress......we need him in the centre or forwards of the centre.

I reckon Yze might be tempted to sometimes start Faull further up the ground in the vein of Richo. He can run, has a thumping kick. Jonty is more a utility type hybrid forward than a key forward for mine. It could work well.

Even down back
It’s gone a little bit un celebrated over his time with us but Nank has saved a lot of goals and even saved games with a strong mark in the backline
Who could forget big Nanks match saving marks down back in the last qtr in the epic 2020 PF against Port.