Player Watch #21: Noah Balta

I am not sure Collina is anything yet. So he could be made into a permanent forward. Has anyone seen him play?
Yet !! Thats because he is not here

Give him 2-3 years to become the finished product and he very well could become top 5 Ruckman in the game
213cm 110kgs men that can run and jump dont grow on tree's and are always a handful for any ruckman or backman

Give him 2-3 years to become the finished product and he very well could become top 5 Ruckman in the game
213cm 110kgs men that can run and jump dont grow on tree's and are always a handful for any ruckman or backman
Or he could be another Mason Cox.

Far more likely the latter than the former.

that would depend on how we develop him.Reckon ruck is the go and Soldo is a good example of how non players can develop in the role.

As a former tall fwd myself im a bit miffed that everyone thinks you can just become a fwd. There is a craft to the role and a hell of a lot of instinct as well.
And it doesnt just apply to tall fwds either.

Mason Cox has been training and playing as a foward and not a Ruckman

He is also 'Timid' when playing both Ruck & Foward and easily moved under the ball in both positions and struggles to hold his ground
Looking at the little vision of mate that i have seen he is more solid and physical and is a more physical looking athlete

Balta could easily become our modern day Richo - amazing mark, speed, mercurial and can win the game off his own boot. I also think he would have his own mental demons and could easily kick 0.6 as 6.0.
If he could play the high half forward wing role like Richo.... lookout!

His 'Brownlow Year' I think you are referring to :p I could see Balta playing that role. Would be incredibly hard to match up on and probably kick more goals on the run than he would trying to be a stay at home forward. Worth a look I say

Welcome to the forward line son. Too attacking and gifted to be stifled down the backline with all the other plodders 😁 wonder if there's a market for most goals kicked beyond the arc??????
mcqualter said today it's still suck it and see. didn't think he looked a good fit. so we'll see.

His 'Brownlow Year' I think you are referring to :p I could see Balta playing that role. Would be incredibly hard to match up on and probably kick more goals on the run than he would trying to be a stay at home forward. Worth a look I say
I think we sometimes forget Richo had an incredible tank. I'm not sure Balta has that (yet). Having said that, Caddy has been playing there, so might not be an issue for the game plan.
Highly unlikely to be in this year's plans though imo, he has only just started being trialled up forward, so it's there or back.
Perhaps when Balta is 30+ hr moves there ;)

On paper this looks like it could work, could be real damaging on the wing when drifting forward/back as well as being around the ball. I like Balta as a defender he's good but to me, he still screams he's a no.2/3 not the fullback, which is potentially a contributing factor to him training forward this preseason (as well as plenty of other factors)

He's played some good footy down back, but I still think I've seen him at his best when playing as a ruck and following the ball around contest to contest. He's not a full-time ruck we know that, but a wing is probably a nice blend of all the things he does well. With some pinch-hitting in the ruck.

We probably won't see it in 2022, but it's something that is probably worth trying down the road at some stage.

Why not have both ???

If we can develop both Balta & Gibcus to play both roles then we have 2 players that are incredibly hard to matchup on swapping and creating havoc for the opposition.

Why pigeon hole the players into 1 spot when we can have 2 extremely athletic dominant swingman

Oh My Love GIF by WWE
Oh My George Takai GIF

That's a wicked comparison. Wonder if all the flogs who were sookiñg last year anytime someone had the audàcity to suggest moving Balta out of defence will still argue now that Balmey and the coaches are all over it. Good luck to opposition trying to match him up. Kouta MK2 is here finally!!!!!
Of course you could keep your powder dry until he does a Kouta against Carlton R1.

Then off to the Carlton board and ask if they saw the similarities. They are famous for their good humour.

Pretty sure he played a bit of footy aswell as bball so hes not foreign to the game i hope he kicks on nicely

Player Watch #21: Noah Balta