Player Watch 22. Luke Breust

Re: 47. Luke Breust (Rookie)

Box Hill v Coburg pt 2:

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...l-smashes-coburg/story-e6freck3-1226044188966

Hawthorn rookie Luke Breust's AFL hopes again swelled.
After four touches in the first half, the livewire finished with five goals.
"He reminds me of the Collingwood small types, in that things happen when he's around the footy," Carroll said.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...l-smashes-coburg/story-e6freck3-1226044188966

http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/news-read.aspx?NewsId=743

Box Hill 21.22.148

Coburg 11.6.72

Goals: Bruest 5, Lisle 3, Hoegel 2, Smith 2, Schneider 2, Schoenmakers 2, Gibson 2, Whitecross, Cust, Jackson

http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/news-read.aspx?NewsId=743

"Breust set to debut"

http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4742/newsid/113778/default.aspx

Hawthorn rookie-listed player Luke Breust is set to debut for the Hawks in Sunday’s Blue Ribbon Cup clash against St Kilda.

Breust was promoted to the senior list earlier this week as a long-term injury replacement after three years at the Club.

Hawthorn’s General Manager - Football Operations Mark Evans said the decision to promote Breust came after impressive performances at the Box Hill Hawks, Hawthorn's VFL affiliate.

“Breust got close to senior selection on a number of occasions last year, but over the last few months at VFL level he’s been super impressive and certainly earned his call-up to the senior side,” Evans said.

http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4742/newsid/113778/default.aspx

A debut a long time in the making (and well earned)

I just wanted to get the take from you guys that see VFL games each week as to why Luke didn't get promoted to the main list?

I read with interest all year the B.H. reports and he seemed to get glowing reports.
With Hooper and Peterson gone and a less than usual output from Ossie last season, I thought Luke would be promoted to fill that spot.
With Cyril tipped for more time in the centre, who do you think we leaving the small forward role to this year?

Just message me Clarko instead of waiting 4 months next time.;)

My man crush has kick started with this bloke and Savage, both taken low in the same draft and have come out and made statements that this is were we belong!
Ossie watch out cause this kids giving you a run for your money. Loved his game on the weekend

"Consistency the difference"

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/114018/default.aspx

Midfielders Shiels and Shane Savage were among the best on ground with 51 possessions and 13 tackles between them, second-gamers Isaac Smith and Paul Puopolo were once again important, and promoted rookie Luke Breust bagged two goals and looked lively throughout his debut.

"Not only do they come in and contribute, they bring a great energy to the side," Lewis said of the Hawks' new brigade.

"Luke Breust came in on the weekend and kicked 2.2, but it's his off-the-ball stuff.

"It's him being out there and seeing the smile on his face that really lifts the other guys.

"I think they're complementing the side really well. It certainly makes the older guys like Sewell and Mitchell really happy."

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/114018/default.aspx

"They call him Hawthorn's Luke Breust"

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...orns-luke-breust/story-e6frf9jf-1226056928621

HAWTHORN may have unearthed the AFL's newest cult figure with rookie upgrade Luke Breust. He has got the perfect name for it, and he's now put in the performance to boot.
He was named as the Hawks substitute, but was activated early in the first quarter after defender Steven Gilham went down with a season-ending knee injury.
"The experience was great,'' Breust said after the game.
''It's been a two-and-a-half year apprenticeship on the rookie list, so to get my first game was outstanding."The first (goal) was a little bit more comfortable with a set shot, nice and easy. The second one, in the pocket, I was going to centre it to Buddy (Frankiln) but decided to kick it . It was nice.''

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...orns-luke-breust/story-e6frf9jf-1226056928621

Round 10, 2011 Season.

Hawthorn v Western Bulldogs @ Eithad Stadium, Sunday 29 May 2011

Luke Breust again starts as our substitute player and again is on early in the first quarter when Chance Bateman went down with what turned out to be a high grade ankle sprain.

Played well

Stats
6 kicks
3 marks
4 handballs

only 1 behind

3 tackles

and 1 free for and free against.

Hawks won the game by 29 points

From Patrick Keane on twitter

Thursday 2 June 2011

AFL_PKeane Patrick Keane
Hawthorn returns Jarryd Morton to the senior list, from long-term injury list. Luke Breust now upgraded from rookie list in place B Stratton"

Ben Stratton is listed as 'indefinate' on the AFL and Hawks web sites.

Good news for Luke as he is named in the round 11 clash against Fremantle at the MCG on Sunday.

Rnd 11 v Fremantle MCG

The tradition continues with Breust sporting the green subs vest for Hawthorn's rnd 11 encounter with Fremantle; this time being activated 20 minutes into the third term. His performance in 40 odd minutes of football was extraordinary helping Hawthorn surge late, defeating Fremantle by 22 points.

Kicks - 4
Handballs - 5
Goals - 3
Behinds - 0
Marks - 2
Tackles - 2
I50 - 0
Assists - 1

*Thanks to Rusty for taking over in my absence

"Clarkson craves consistency"

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/115550/default.aspx

Clarkson praised the performances of Luke Breust, who was the substitute player for the fourth time, and Max Bailey, who played his third game since his return from three knee reconstructions in four years, for the way they both influenced the game.

"[Bailey] showed us he can ruck. We were really pleased with his whole game really, but particularly his last quarter," he said.

"We're just stoked for him. It was a pivotal game for some of these lads, same with Breust.

"To not just be playing and be part of a 22 but actually really play a role and assist the side to win, the 20 other blokes they play with sit and say, 'Gee, Breust can do some things and wasn't Bailey great in the last quarter?'

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/115550/default.aspx

"Front and Square"

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/115666/default.aspx
Hawthorn: Four games, four times in the green substitute's vest for Luke Breust. Fascinating Leigh Matthews interview with coach Alastair Clarkson on afl.com.au recently revealed that choosing the sub had added big time to the selection meetings. Perhaps not any more: Breust has made the job his own, kicking six goals after tossing off the vest.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/115666/default.aspx

Rnd 12 v Geelong MCG

Another game, another green vest for Breust - this time coming on following a hamstring injury sustained by Clinton Young. Breust put in a serviceable performance as the Hawks were run over late by a strong Geelong outfit.

Kicks - 4
Handballs - 7
Goals - 1
Behinds - 0
Marks - 3
Tackles - 2
I50 - 0
Assists - 0

"Breust hopes for Tassie start"

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2011/06/15/237801_afl.html

YOUNG Hawk forward Luke Breust is putting his hand up to start on the ground for this week's Aurora Stadium clash with the Gold Coast Suns.
"I've started as a sub for my first five games, so I'm hoping I can slot in somewhere on the forward line this week," he said.
Breust, 20, came on as a substitute and kicked three goals against Fremantle in round 11 and in last week's thriller against Geeelong had a critical shot at goal in the last quarter.

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2011/06/15/237801_afl.html

Great work on this thread, CharlieMitchell! Really love seeing all those Bruest goals.

At the St Kilda game my girlfriend asked me who i wanted for a badge and I went with Luke. She came back 5 minutes later with Cameron Bruce. I explained it was a different guy and sent her back. 5 minutes later she came back later saying they'd never and asking if I'd meant Grant Birchall. 5 minutes later, we both went, and found he wasn't available. Found his badge later at the Hawthorn tent. Anyway, I'm sure they all know who he is now.

Great work on this thread, CharlieMitchell! Really love seeing all those Bruest goals.

At the St Kilda game my girlfriend asked me who i wanted for a badge and I went with Luke. She came back 5 minutes later with Cameron Bruce. I explained it was a different guy and sent her back. 5 minutes later she came back later saying they'd never and asking if I'd meant Grant Birchall. 5 minutes later, we both went, and found he wasn't available. Found his badge later at the Hawthorn tent. Anyway, I'm sure they all know who he is now.

Quality story; Cheers mate

Rnd 13 v GC Suns @ Aurora

The "complete game" by Luke as the Hawks steamrolled the Suns in Launceston. Luke needed to take on greater responsibility in the forward line with Rough injured and he did exactly that.
Kicks - 14
Handballs - 6
Goals - 4
Behinds - 2
Marks - 6
Tackles - 4
I50 - 5
Assists - 0

Final observation - Breust is as good as Cyril at turning an opponent inside out; brilliant to watch.

"Breust-star"

The past three weeks have seen Breust shed the green vest and his football has steadily improved to the point where he earned the round 15 nomination for the NAB AFL Rising Star.

He kicked two goals and had 15 disposals in Hawthorn's 41-point loss to Collingwood.

While the game was all but decided by half-time, Breust says there were some encouraging signs to come from it.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/117804/default.aspx