22 Under 22 - 2016

So I am little confused are 22 year olds eligible? Elliot Yeo is only 22 surely gets in before a lot of the guys nominated, including Duggan.

Big lads. I think Viney has gone past Wines as well (in terms of performances this year). Wines has dropped off a little.

I'm not sure Wines has dropped off at all. Port have been poor but Wines I'd say is having a very good season.

Not as good as Viney perhaps but I'd say that's more because of Jack really kicking on than Wines dropping off.

I'm not sure Wines has dropped off at all. Port have been poor but Wines I'd say is having a very good season.

Not as good as Viney perhaps but I'd say that's more because of Jack really kicking on than Wines dropping off.

Yeah, fair call. I didn't realise Wines stats were as good as they are. Indicate he is having a better year than I first thought.

Overrated, was very lucky to make the 50 man squad.

He'd be ahead of Petracca for the rising star who also made the 50 man squad...

So I am little confused are 22 year olds eligible? Elliot Yeo is only 22 surely gets in before a lot of the guys nominated, including Duggan.

Must be 22 or under for the entirety of the season including Finals. Yeo shares his birthday with the Grand Final this year - literally missing out by one day otherwise an auto-include into the top 50.

Overrated, was very lucky to make the 50 man squad.

I agree that he was lucky to make it, but kudos to the kid. He is the only first year player out of the midfielders to make the squad. Most of the other players are in their 3rd or 4th seasons (a couple are even in their 5th).

I don't think people's issue is that he's dropped off, but that he hasn't improved. His kicking is still atrocious.

Wines doesn't make this side. And that's saying something about him.

I had high hopes.

He doesnt make it in over Cripps, Bont, Coniglio, Merret or Viney.
You might make an argument for him on the bench, but i think Kelly and Hunter are better for a bit more run and dash.
Whilst I agree I think he'll bounce back up with or close to those other guys soon. A decent ruckman would certainly help him, being a clearance mid without one is a lot harder job. Plus I think he needs to get his body sorted, he's just too big at the moment. No surprise that his form - whilst never all that bad - has probably been better at the end of the year once match fitness and fatigue kicked in compared to the start of the year where leaner guys were too quick for him.

good to see Dunstan recognised for the job he does. will be a champion inside mid, already the best at his particular job in his age group.
What are you talking about? He's nowhere near as good as Cripps, Viney or Wines, and Bont and Merret whilst being not exclusively inside mids would do a better job at inside mid than Dunstan.

Dunstan is literally vanilla ice cream personified.

What are you talking about? He's nowhere near as good as Cripps, Viney or Wines, and Bont and Merret whilst being not exclusively inside mids would do a better job at inside mid than Dunstan.

Dunstan is literally vanilla ice cream personified.
A lot of Dunstan's inside work is tying it up when outnumbered - doesn't register as a stat (sometimes gets given a one percenter). rarely has a clanger, high rebound fifty entries. i'm not suggesting he is equal to cripps and viney, but he plays a different role, and he's bloody good at it. it's why he gets given game after game - the coaches know he sacrifices stats for his role. when other mids share this load he will grow his other stats - currently he, steven, and ross are our three best mids, each with different roles.

B: Laird - Lever - Vlastuin
HB: Docherty - Weitering - Mills
C: Macrae - Bontempelli (C) - Merrett
HF: Stringer - Heeney - Petracca
F: Moore - Daniher - C Cameron
R: Grundy - Cripps - Viney
Int: Williams - Wines - Coniglio - Hogan

http://22under22.com.au/#/app/2654/page/6776/item/2538915

In all seriousness, the consensus underrating of Macrae and Vlastuin is truly baffling. Particularly Macrae.

B: Laird - Lever - Vlastuin
HB: Docherty - Weitering - Mills
C: Macrae - Bontempelli (C) - Merrett
HF: Stringer - Heeney - Petracca
F: Moore - Daniher - C Cameron
R: Grundy - Cripps - Viney
Int: Williams - Wines - Coniglio - Hogan

http://22under22.com.au/#/app/2654/page/6776/item/2538915

In all seriousness, the consensus underrating of Macrae and Vlastuin is truly baffling. Particularly Macrae.
Vlastuin? A b-grader's definition of a b-grader.

And Macrae is surpassed in talent by Kelly and Coniglio and in terms of raw ball magnet ability by his own team mate Hunter. He's decent but doesn't make the side.

Macrae is surpassed in talent by Kelly and Coniglio and in terms of raw ball magnet ability by his own teammate Hunter. He's decent but doesn't make the side.
And this is exactly where the underrating is rooted; the notion that Macrae is just a ball-magnet. I would defy one to find a 2-way runner with better combined ability to apply direct defensive pressure, attend stoppages anywhere on the field, handball effectively out of contests and provide offensive drive with ball in hand more adept than Macrae. I'm not surprised that this goes unnoticed by 95% of onlookers, but the fact is that while Macrae may not be the most talented endurance-running outside mid or ball-magnet extractor, the bonuses he provides for the Dogs outweigh those of Kelly, Whitfield, Hunter (in my opinion), and even Coniglio (when comparing the weight of output over their whole careers - Coniglio burst onto the scene late-2015 v Macrae beginning of 2014). That's better than decent.

I also don't really believe that talent is a large factor at all in judging U22s like these. It's far-fetched, I know, but Dayle Garlett and Waylon Mansen have more talent then Macrae ever did and yet you still don't see them on this list. Jimmy Toumpas was drafted 2 spots before Macrae given he was considered more talented than Macrae, however it would be downright insane to say that he is more worthy of a position in this team. Performance and potential are the deciding factors in teams such as these and speaking purely on output, past and present, I reckon Macrae has Kelly and Coniglio covered.