Past #23: Geordie Payne - Will not be extended 2026 - 3 NM games/3 NM goals - Thanks Geordie

No doubt bringing Spargo caused it.

Im going on a limb, I would rather see Payne grow and fail at north than giving spargo a 3 year deal

Tasmania squad bound surely
I'm not a great fan of Spargo's recruitment (and I've got a feeling he'll get back to his 2021 form and make me look stupid for doubting him), but Geordie doesn't have the same level of tank to work up the ground or skills kicking the ball inside 50 that Spargo has.

I wonder if we are interested in someone late in the draft like Byrne, Mikunda, Peucker or Gilchrist with more tricks.

Good luck and thanks for your service Geordie, still only 19yo, so a bit stiff to get the axe, i will always remember the VFL game v Footscray with 17 tackles and a couple of goals. Possible future with Tassie Devils if they ever manage to build a stadium with a roof.

Our VFL program would be keen for sure.

Possibly. Finnbar would've seen the same fate if he hadn't been traded. The spots just aren't there.
Geordie's papers were signed the minute the AFL randomly decided to cut our rookie spots.
And Cooper who has arguably shown more competing for the last spot.

Wasn't the emotion I had, but I respect it nonetheless.

Imagine being delisted by Norf. Your ego would take an absolute battering. You'd be eyeing off the over 28's at some far from exclusive establishment by end of the week (as a young buck). I'd have thought.

Wasn't the emotion I had, but I respect it nonetheless.

Imagine being delisted by Norf. Your ego would take an absolute battering. You'd be eyeing off the over 28's at some far from exclusive establishment by end of the week (as a young buck). I'd have thought.

Mate we have this love affair is smallish CHF's, if you can't run you cant play the modern game. Spargo is a much better option. Yes he has some AFL traits, does Geordie!

Wish him all the best, no doubt will end up VFL bound for the tassiemania

Mate we have this love affair is smallish CHF's, if you can't run you cant play the modern game. Spargo is a much better option. Yes he has some AFL traits, does Geordie!

Wish him all the best, no doubt will end up VFL bound for the tassiemania

We somehow overcomplicate a seemingly easy position.

A small forward needs to;

1. Kick Goals - 2 per game is good target
2. Be an option if we win ball
3. If we aren't in possession, tackle or pressure who is.
4. Don't **** your teammates Mrs, don't steal their shit, if you borrow cash from them, pay them back in full and on time.
5. Rock up to every training or club-sanctioned meeting early, timely and in full uniform (do extras if you can be ****ed).

That's it.

They're the rules of engagement.

(Btw old mate could tackle and kick snags - ie his job). He was no Winston Abraham, of course, nobody unfortunately is.

We somehow overcomplicate a seemingly easy position.

A small forward needs to;

1. Kick Goals - 2 per game is good target
2. Be an option if we win ball
3. If we aren't in possession, tackle or pressure who is.
4. Don't **** your teammates Mrs, don't steal their shit, if you borrow cash from them, pay them back in full and on time.
5. Rock up to every training or club-sanctioned meeting early, timely and in full uniform (do extras if you can be ****ed).

That's it.

They're the rules of engagement.

(Btw old mate could tackle and kick snags - ie his job). He was no Winston Abraham, of course, nobody unfortunately is.

I think we aim for 20 goals each from our non KPFs.To expect near 50 goals is imo too much.

It is interesting to me the perception that you carry about someone and how first impressions last.

pretty much every time I saw his name or thought about him this was my mental image:

1761616318821.png

Past #23: Geordie Payne - Will not be extended 2026 - 3 NM games/3 NM goals - Thanks Geordie