Senior 23. Jacob Weitering

As long as we temper our expectations and remain patient, I think these two will play a huge part in our rebuild.
We always hear about how tall forwards take time, and Curnow and McKay will be no different.
This core group of youngsters will grow together though, and I can see good times coming.

We have a great forward core coming through. Although Curnow may be seconded into the midfield, he remains as a forward for now. The great thing is that Jack seems to be the goods. His footy smarts is obvious to all. He already has a great hoof, and just seems to be able to get to the right positions. Once he puts on the muscle he McKay and Curnow will form a great nucleus of a forward line

Then you get assertions on the draft board that Weitering may be the best footballer, but not necessarily the best defender of the new draftees. Has to be the same Dogs fan that played down Cripps to promote Bont and now is touting Collins.

There is nothing to suggest JW is not the best defender of his class. .. yet. Certainly no reason to imply he couldn't play on Schache.

The silly games to promote your own are on in earnest.

Had a discussion with a mate on Thursday night that JW could realistically be all australian this year, with Hooker and Hurley gone from the occasion there and not many obvious choices for the 3rd tall defender.

We all have high expectations for JW but that's unrealistic, you need more than one AFL pre season to be able to keep up with the big boys....

One of the scribes, can't remember who, said that Weitering could have stepped up and played AFL last year. That's scary. Glad he couldn't/didn't though. That extra year of getting more physical as the boys around him also developed was very important.

I guess just his manner on the field last year seemed to be that it was all too easy, maybe a bit boring. I think that's just the way he comes across ... effortless.

I just hope that he doesn't burn out and fatigue too much towards the end of the season. I think Bolts management of all of our first year guys will be interesting to see, in regards to the amount of games they play and how much game time they get.

Interesting reading in here people. Couple of points, positive mainly.

Love him. Will obviously fill out, but uses body well already. The thing that struck me was his poise. Yes, disposal great, positioning great etc, etc. You can have great disposal but shit yourself when pressure is on. This kid doesn't do that. Cross sports, I was thinking of Mark Waugh. All the time in the world, balanced and effortless. You have a ripper on your hands, absolute ripper.

Certainly doesn't lack confidence. The cheeky sledge on Jack in his first game was something else. I didn't love it, but I didn't mind it. Probably should earn at least one stripe before firing a shot, but if thats his biggest issue,,,,

Did laugh at a couple of statements. Outmarking Cotch and Edwards? If outmarking leprechauns as a KPD counts i suppose.....
And Elite/All Aus first year? lets just calm the farm and let him develop.

From what I've seen, he has all the hallmarks to be a Top 3 if not best KPD in the comp........but not this year.

Congrats on a superb selection.

Certainly doesn't lack confidence. The cheeky sledge on Jack in his first game was something else. I didn't love it, but I didn't mind it. Probably should earn at least one stripe before firing a shot, but if thats his biggest issue,,,,

What I liked about that was the fact that it said that he wasn't going to just stay in his shell like a lot of first year players do.
If he is playing his footy like an experienced player would, no reason why he can't do that kind of stuff too. Could have backfired on him in the end but he did back it up with his performance.

In saying that, I would be saying the exact same thing if a Richmond player had done it.

Love him. Will obviously fill out, but uses body well already. The thing that struck me was his poise. Yes, disposal great, positioning great etc, etc. You can have great disposal but shit yourself when pressure is on. This kid doesn't do that. Cross sports, I was thinking of Mark Waugh. All the time in the world, balanced and effortless. You have a ripper on your hands, absolute ripper.

Did laugh at a couple of statements. Outmarking Cotch and Edwards? If outmarking leprechauns as a KPD counts i suppose.....

From what I've seen, he has all the hallmarks to be a Top 3 if not best KPD in the comp........but not this year.

Rioli was a liability and probably won't make it in the AFL. :cool:

What I liked about that was the fact that it said that he wasn't going to just stay in his shell like a lot of first year players do.
If he is playing his footy like an experienced player would, no reason why he can't do that kind of stuff too.
Could have backfired on him in the end but he did back it up with his performance.

In saying that, I would be saying the exact same thing if a Richmond player had done it.

BB "no ceiling" at work

Jack loved it

Came up on 360. He thought it was great

I'm slightly bigger than Weitering and if I could outmark Cotchin - a product of many years of elite coaching and training - it would be a minor miracle. So Weitering doing it is worth mentioning at the very least lol.

If this is any indication of an opposition poster bring it on I say. Top marks. Unfortunately though it ain't........
Mate, thanks. Full on Tiger, but just a lover of football. And what I saw I thought worth coming over to say hello and compliment. I can sling shit with the best of them when the time is right. Plenty of peanuts in both (or all) sets of supporters. Plenty of unrealistic/delusional people on BF, but thats half the fun. Some of the tripe on the Yarran trade thread was ridiculous. And I tried not to bite.

But he is a beauty young Jacob. And with Cripps you have two pillars. Anyway, best be off before I start abusing someone. It would come out sooner or later..:p

Most people keep talking about Weitering as the 3rd tall, however, will his position in the team eventually be FB or CHB, taking the best or 2nd best forward?
Will he naturally develop and take over those positions?

I liked it for two reasons.

1. Shows he's comfortable out there immediately.

2. He has been very straight-laced, conservative, not shown a lot of personality to date. It was great to see this side.

Riewoldt himself said he liked it, said it qas something he would have done. Also said Jacob was suggesting he had a little look ... and based on the kick he probably did.

If Jack is fine, it's all good.

We have a great forward core coming through. Although Curnow may be seconded into the midfield, he remains as a forward for now. The great thing is that Jack seems to be the goods. His footy smarts is obvious to all. He already has a great hoof, and just seems to be able to get to the right positions. Once he puts on the muscle he McKay and Curnow will form a great nucleus of a forward line

I like summary of Jack.
Just one more thing to add, I did see him play on a back flank for Vic Metro last year and he did ok. Having said that though, he'll be developed as a forward for sure.

Senior 23. Jacob Weitering