Player Watch #24 Sam Grlj

Did We Get This Pick Right

I am gunna come out and write it. I will be surprised this is not a bust. Hope I am wrong but, nothing against Grlj, but picking up this type this high makes no sense, unless exceptional, if have to pick him trade back.

I reckon could have picked Grlj in the twenties and if not the teens. For example I would rate Barker higher than Grlj.

Do the recruiters know more?? Maybe but we shall see. I am not wasting my time investing to much about, but I will have a look at the sidelines and we will know more in 4 years or so and I hope I am wrong, but I will not be surprised if Cumming leaves Grjl in his wake
Lock him in for the rising star people

He will start on a wing in the AFL. Run up and down all day.

In a few years our midfield rotation will be Lalor, Smillie, Hotton, Cumming, Grlj
I am gunna come out and write it. I will be surprised this is not a bust. Hope I am wrong but, nothing against Grlj, but picking up this type this high makes no sense, unless exceptional, if have to pick him trade back.

I reckon could have picked Grlj in the twenties and if not the teens. For example I would rate Barker higher than Grlj.

Do the recruiters know more?? Maybe but we shall see. I am not wasting my time investing to much about, but I will have a look at the sidelines and we will know more in 4 years or so and I hope I am wrong, but I will not be surprised if Cumming leaves Grjl in his wake

Imagine being so self absorbed you think you have more of an idea than professionals

He will start on a wing in the AFL. Run up and down all day.

In a few years our midfield rotation will be Lalor, Smillie, Hotton, Cumming, Grlj

Imagine being so self absorbed you think you have more of an idea than professionals
not a good enough mark for wing.

he is not big enough threat in defence and forward like Ollie Dempsey, Barker etc..

i guess things would be different if there was a better track record

how is your premiership team kicking goals and stopping goals??? relying on another three time norm smither in DUSTY??

at the end of the day do you know where premierships are won, on the scoreboard. Premierships are won on the scoreboard even after normal time in time on the scoreboard determines victory or defeat.

the wing is not just about space, it is also about the defensive and forward arcs

What’s the scoreboard got to do with Grlj? We have Faull, Armstrong, Hotton, Campbell, Lalor, Cumming all goal scorers.. that’s leaving a few out too

are you too absorbed???

it is a team game.

great teams mean many kick goals, defend no matter what the position.

it is about treating players as human and not cattle pigon-holeing them into ultra-specific roles and saying the are limited to this and that

at some point to win you need to let the players play and not repress them with roles and strategy. If the players are good enough usually they win. good players make good coaches

Why was Richo a great wingman??? Sure he could move but it was about his marking?? are you a sheep and never learn't anything from the greats?? Keith Grieg, great wingman, great mark, Dippa good mark to. all the good wingman could mark like Doug Hawkins and Flower

The wing role is involved a lot of space. Do you know what that means?? It means players with ability can do a lot of things including in one on ones with space. So it is handy to have wingman that can do a lot of things well including marking and winning one on ones.

What if the slingshot modiifes and the game movement changes??? some player/trait specific roles can be redundant and limited players and structures get trapped by smarter evolving teams and methods

are you too absorbed???

it is a team game.

it is about treating players as human and not cattle pigon-holeing them into ultra-specific roles and saying the are limited to this and that

at some point to win you need to let the players play and not repress them with roles and strategy. If the players are good enough usually they win. good players make good coaches

Why was Richo a great wingman??? Sure he could move but it was about his marking?? are you a sheep and never learn't anything from the greats?? Keith Grieg, great wingman, great mark, Dippa good mark to. all the good wingman could mark like Doug Hawkins and Flower

The wing role is involved a lot of space. Do you know what that means?? It means players with ability can do a lot of things including in one on ones with space. So it is handy to have wingman that can do a lot of things well including marking and winning one on ones.

What if the slingshot modiifes and the game movement changes??? some player specific roles can be redundant and limited players and structures get trapped by smarter evolving teams and methods

Josh Daicos, Hugh Mcclugage, Gulden some of the best wingers of the last 5 years all known for their elite marking?

Gaff, Sidebottom, Hunter, Hill, Langdon all notorious marking threats.

Just sit down mate, you know next to nothing on every topic.

Issac smith averaged 0.1 contested marks a game for his career.

are you too absorbed???

it is a team game.

What if the slingshot modiifes and the game movement changes??? some player specific roles can be redundant and limited players and structures get trapped by smarter evolving teams and methods
How many flags for dougie and flower?

Josh Daicos, Hugh Mcclugage, Gulden some of the best wingers of the last 5 years all known for their elite marking?

Probably never seen a poster who literally thinks they know it all, but actually has no idea at all, like that guy.

Gonna wait and see what he turns out like. Cant help feel we paid way overs for him though due to us being slow as treacle. Cant believe we didnt trade back to get him as im convinced he would've still been available another 8- 10 picks later. Considering the following pick swap:
West Coast receives: Pick 17
Hawthorn receives: Pick 18 and 2026 Round 2

If a club was happy to give away a 2nd rounder (pick 19-22 range) to move up 1 measly spot 10 picks later then surely the worst trader could've got a similar deal minimum but maximum way better. We were the only team really linked to Grlj. Most mocks that had us taking Robie and Cumming had him at earliest 14 but usually 20 range, even further.

Personally i wouldn't consider a hbf in the top 10 unless they're generational talent with Leon Cameron kicking and 30+ possies who can kick goals. Pick 4 seems mental. Time will tell

Happy with Cumming selection. Peucker sounds good too....Who knows maybe Roberts Thomson and Peucker could be guns and great pickups but the fact both played for Sturt and Woodville West Torrens (Kellaways and Leys teams that our scouts were forced to watch) has a potential lazy feel to it.

Personally i wouldn't consider a hbf in the top 10 unless they're generational talent with Leon Cameron kicking and 30+ possies who can kick goals.
How much of this is just because everyone's internalised the rule you can't pick hbfs in the top 10?

We got more for rioli with dodgy ankles than bulldogs got for prime dunkley. Houston's on nearly a million a year to average 17 disposals for the pies.

Inside-mids are like BMWs, they lose half their value coming out of the showroom.

How much of this is just because everyone's internalised the rule you can't pick hbfs in the top 10?

We got more for rioli with dodgy ankles than bulldogs got for prime dunkley. Houston's on nearly a million a year to average 17 disposals for the pies.

Inside-mids are like BMWs, they lose half their value coming out of the showroom.
So do ferrari's and just about any car thats not a limited edition or a classic of sorts

Happy to disagree with you on that.

Smith is a interesting one. Smith was a cog in a very good team I think is fair to write.

Never rated Gaff. They won the premiership without Gaff, did not miss him in the GF versus the better opposition. If Gaff could mark and was a better wingman would he have felt the need to hit Brayshaw in the chops?

Sidebottom could play in a lot of positions, happy to take him out of wing for his career and slot him in other positions

Hill, meh, Langdon who??? Not Karl Langdon??.

Gulden is a freak kick, bit like Sidebottom in terms of quality but Gulden is just a great mid.

Mcluggage is a good player, but in a good team, no special wing traits there for me. I do not regard Mccluggage as a great wingman, he is handy, likes his space and plays well

Daicos is a bit like Sidebottom, very good kick, solid player and they have to put him somewhere. none of the players you mentioned are great wingers in my book. bit like Smith really

Hunter who??? If you are talking about the Carlton legend I liked him when he was forward

Some of these players are great players like Sidebottom, Gulden, but none are great wingers, some are handy, the analysis becomes a little grew with positionless football and players moving all over the ground. It is easy to see how Geelong beat other teams at times because some understand the game better and get better value from players abilities and synergies to play in their own team when you see comments like yours.

when you rattle off names like that, it is easy to see how Richo threatens the Brownlow when he is played on a wing for extended games, I appreciate your input, I stand corrected and happy to not adjust my viewpoint with even more confidence in my position.

look at a guy like Matt LeRay. How is he a good wingman??? little endurance apparently?? Well can mark and kicks well off both feet and can play other roles changing the tact. You can go on about run all you like. The ball moves fastest in the air no matter what they do in a GF sprint. Get the footballers to line up against Gulden kicking a long ball and see if the footballers beat the football over 60 metres??. Hawks picked Matt Leray. Mitchell is not a moron is he???

If we wanted a wingman could have picked Robey, he is a better mark and more like Dipper.

Was Conca a bust because he could not mark well, especially contested? I am wondering if our recuiting team respect the value of a mark enough?? What is going through their heads??

Sam Grlj gives me big Jason Johannisen vibes, flashy on the outside, but I’m not convinced there’s enough substance underneath. Hopefully he’s more than just pace and highlights, because right now I’m not sold.

212 games and a Norm Smith out of a pick 8 would be a pretty decent result

yeah they looked thrilled.

you do realise i actually watched it? They were not thrilled & was not who they were hoping
There was a lot of shock for the first couple of minutes cause like most supporters we all have different selections in our heads. Don’t think that’s exclusive to just us 4.

Then after you take a deep breath and process it, we all universally agreed it was the best pick for us and the kid is going to light it up on the G.

Everyone is right behind this kid.

But like allot of others we just got initially swept up in what we all thought was going to happen, we are real people too!

I understand it’s fun to try frame a reaction a certain way but if you look past the first minute of shock it’s clear we all understood and agreed with the selection.

There was a lot of shock for the first couple of minutes cause like most supporters we all have different selections in our heads. Don’t think that’s exclusive to just us 4.

Then after you take a deep breath and process it, we all universally agreed it was the best pick for us and the kid is going to light it up on the G.

Everyone is right behind this kid.

But like allot of others we just got initially swept up in what we all thought was going to happen, we are real people too!

I understand it’s fun to try frame a reaction a certain way but if you look past the first minute of shock it’s clear we all understood and agreed with the selection.
Seems an obvious choice to me. It was a toss up between he and Robey with our second pick, and I'm sure we all would have been happy with Robey, but there isn't much separating them, but we would have loved Grijl's speed. We all get like kids in a lolly shop on draft night, I'll have one of those and one of those.

But we have a swag of forward mids, Lalor, Hotton, Cummings, Campbell, Algar, Ross, Taranto, Rioli, maybe Mansell. And we have plenty of lead up marking forwards in Armstrong, Faull, Lefau, Fawcett, Lalor again. So was Robey necessary.

We have no fast aerobic defensive mid types like Grjl. Ralphsmith is quick but a straighline player. Mansell if we used him in the middle maybe. So he is a definite need. Maybe he won't be as pretty as some, but he could be very effective. He could be a hell of a tagger as well with his agility and hard-nosed attitude, with licence to run off. Daicos would hate chasing him up the ground.

Seems an obvious choice to me. It was a toss up between he and Robey with our second pick, and I'm sure we all would have been happy with Robey, but there isn't much separating them, but we would have loved Grijl's speed. We all get like kids in a lolly shop on draft night, I'll have one of those and one of those.

But we have a swag of forward mids, Lalor, Hotton, Cummings, Campbell, Algar, Ross, Taranto, Rioli, maybe Mansell. And we have plenty of lead up marking forwards in Armstrong, Faull, Lefau, Fawcett, Lalor again. So was Robey necessary.

We have no fast aerobic defensive mid types like Grjl. Ralphsmith is quick but a straighline player. Mansell if we used him in the middle maybe. So he is a definite need. Maybe he won't be as pretty as some, but he could be very effective. He could be a hell of a tagger as well with his agility and hard-nosed attitude, with licence to run off. Daicos would hate chasing him up the ground.

I was actually more shocked it wasn't XT on the back of Rhy's gettable interview lol.

But back to Grlj, his athletic profile is unicorn like really, when you look for other comparisons in that sense I keep landing on Max Holmes. I'm not sure if that is a high bar to set, but I see Grlj's blend of speed and endurance allowing him to torch teams relentlessly like Holmes does.

Which is going to be golden!

Then when you look more at his VFL highlights, he is right at home out there, this is a clear signal of where our footy is heading and It's going to look fantastic.

Player Watch #24 Sam Grlj