• Thread starter Thread starter syphon

Originally posted by robbieando
My point is the crowd was only as good as the stadium its played in. The novality factor played a big part in the size of the crowd

Why is it a novelty factor......the Bulldogs play SA a number of times during the year.

I think you are trying to undermine the fact that rugby league got a decent crowd to one of their games...:p

Originally posted by Ms.Storm
Why is it a novelty factor......the Bulldogs play SA a number of times during the year.

I think you are trying to undermine the fact that rugby league got a decent crowd to one of their games...:p

Not at all, the proof is that the Bulldogs have only once got a crowd over 20000 for a game at the Showgrounds Next door, while each of their TS games this year has been over 20,000. It down to the ground more than anything and this is true of the Swans games their. Over 30,000 for each game their so far and only one over 30,000 at the SCG in the last 2 seasons

"Crooked - you're paying extra to watch country AFL games? That's impressive..."

When someone else in the house pays for it, it's worth it.
:)

Can't wait to watch Sydney Uni verses the Campbelltown Catastrophes next week!!!

crooked.

"Not at all, the proof is that the Bulldogs have only once got a crowd over 20000 for a game at the Showgrounds Next door, while each of their TS games this year has been over 20,000. It down to the ground more than anything and this is true of the Swans games their. Over 30,000 for each game their so far and only one over 30,000 at the SCG in the last 2 seasons."

The Bulldogs have a lot of supporters who will not go to the showgrounds, because they don't want to be trapped with the rat bag element of their supporter base in a small ground.

The novelty factor of Telstra Stadium is wayyy gone and alot of their fans will only go to those games because of the room factor. It is also a much better ground to watch footy than the baseball ground that is the showgrounds.

Also, the Knights would be the biggest football team in NSW on a consistent basis if they had the right facilities. Agree with Ms Storm, but that's no shock hey!!

crooked.

Robbie

Not at all, the proof is that the Bulldogs have only once got a crowd over 20000 for a game at the Showgrounds Next door, while each of their TS games this year has been over 20,000. It down to the ground more than anything and this is true of the Swans games their. Over 30,000 for each game their so far and only one over 30,000 at the SCG in the last 2 seasons

But the Swannies/AFL give away heaps of freebies to SA games and also present a good package for 3 game tickets....which helps their cause.....I doubt very much that the Swans would draw those sort of crowds, if they play SA every home game......its a novelty factor there......and also other factors contribute.....I guess.

I think the Swans have done well in Sydney but we have to remember, afl culture is so different to r/l culture......and they (Swans) have been helped enormously financially by the afl...and good luck to them.....they are a blessed team......the afl know where their bread is buttered.
:D

Re: Robbie

Again Ms Storm we only sold 4000 3 or 2 game packages and the saving wasn't that huge (I think it was 4%)

Also the Swans only give away 1000 free tickets per match at the most.

Plus the AFL haven't given us the huge amounts of money that you like to think they have. As I have said before most of the money given to us is for AFLNSW. They also give simular grants to Football Victoria, the SANFL, the WAFL and the QFL. Plus they give smaller grants to NTFL and the TFL.

Any money the AFL gave the Swans was in the form of loans and have since been paid back.

Stop using the same crap everytime when you have been told otherwise

bulldogs fans last year even though they were 1st all year before the salary cap drama simply hated the SHowground.

They averaged 9000 there at one stage because it is simply the worst oval in a australia to see a game of rugby league at.

Stadium australia is a league ground and with excellent facilities and people would rather watch a game of footy there than the showground. Nothing to do with novelty but simply how much better it is to see a game of footy at Stadium Aus.

"Also the Swans only give away 1000 free tickets per match at the most."

I've been to a couple of Swans games this season and they've been compliments of 2ue and 2ky. They have been giving away tickets by the bucketload this season, in fact one guy was offered 12 tickets on sports today and didn't want them. They haven't been giving them away as much recently (last month).

crooked

Re: Re: Robbie

Again Ms Storm we only sold 4000 3 or 2 game packages and the saving wasn't that huge (I think it was 4%)

Also the Swans only give away 1000 free tickets per match at the most.

Plus the AFL haven't given us the huge amounts of money that you like to think they have. As I have said before most of the money given to us is for AFLNSW. They also give simular grants to Football Victoria, the SANFL, the WAFL and the QFL. Plus they give smaller grants to NTFL and the TFL.

Any money the AFL gave the Swans was in the form of loans and have since been paid back.

Stop using the same crap everytime when you have been told otherwise

And I keep telling you stuff you don't want to know about or acknowledge!

The money handouts to the Swans directly may not have been so great (but at the same time I have my doubts about this......call me cynical if you like) but what is important and when you consider that they (Swans) got the support from the general public because long term the afl has put millions and millions of dollars into NSW and the same scenario applied to Q;ld.

Please note once and for all :

Quote from Demitriou in one of the papers in Melb. (I pulled this out....because I wanted some definate figures to quote for a change! (lol) :

"We have been pleased with our development of Auskick and the way numbers are trending upwards, particularly in NSW and Q'ld.

In NSW we are spending $7M. TO $8m. per annum AND HAVE INVESTED OVER $30m. OVER THE LAST 4 YEAR TO 5 YEARS.

In Q'ld. we are spending around $3.5M a year, $10M has been invested in recent years......

Sydney is the toughest market in the southern hemisphere ...in Q'ld. there are quite a few former Victorians.

End of Quote.

And these figures are only for the last 5 years....imagine what has been spent to date.

And that is the reason why the Swans are successful because of the promotion of the code......and the help the Swans have got directly and indirectly thru the afl...

And you can bet your bottom dollar that some of that money is spent on free tickets to Stadium Aust. for various patrons.

This was from an article that raised the issue on the popularity of soccer in Victorian schools and how many kids are playing the game.
Hope that settles a few things.

Don't get me wrong.....I just wish the NRL would do the same thing here in Victoria....and you would see rugby league grow in leaps and bounds...over 21 years...I am certain of that.

Originally posted by Crooked Rain
I've been to a couple of Swans games this season and they've been compliments of 2ue and 2ky. They have been giving away tickets by the bucketload this season, in fact one guy was offered 12 tickets on sports today and didn't want them. They haven't been giving them away as much recently (last month).

The Swan don't give away more than 1000 tickets for any one match and that is a policy of the club. I don't doubt tickets are given away in the media, but not on mass like you like to think.

Re: Re: Re: Robbie

I never said the AFL doesn't put money into the Auskick program, but it does it in ALL States. The amount of money we do get isn't enough though and the Swans put in an extra 25% to what the AFL does.

The formula has only been in place since 1997 when the Swans and the AFL moved to take advantage of the explosion of interest in the code following the Swans 1996 Grand Final.

Before than, funding was not there and their was no junior program in place. Also Auskick prior to 1997 was known as VICKICK.

Nothing was in place for over 14 years

Re: Re: Re: Re: Robbie

I never said the AFL doesn't put money into the Auskick program, but it does it in ALL States. The amount of money we do get isn't enough though and the Swans put in an extra 25% to what the AFL does.

The formula has only been in place since 1997 when the Swans and the AFL moved to take advantage of the explosion of interest in the code following the Swans 1996 Grand Final.

Before than, funding was not there and their was no junior program in place. Also Auskick prior to 1997 was known as VICKICK.

Nothing was in place for over 14 years

You don;t want to listen.....the afl has admitted that they have spent millions and millions of dollars in NSW.......even prior to the Auskick programme....and that money for the last 5 years above was not all for the Auskick programme.

The Swan don't give away more than 1000 tickets for any one match and that is a policy of the club. I don't doubt tickets are given away in the media, but not on mass like you like to think.

The Swans themselves might give away 1,000 tickets, but the afl, give away tickets as well......

I heard Wayne Jackson admit on radio (after some duress) after the Swans vs Essendon game....last year....that the afl gave away over 2,000 tickets alone to aboriginal children......some callers phoned in later on talkback and laughed and joked that you can rest assured that triple that amount was given away apart from the aboriginal kids.....even the commentators pointed out that it was a good thing to bring more people to the game.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Robbie

You don;t want to listen.....the afl has admitted that they have spent millions and millions of dollars in NSW.......even prior to the Auskick programme....and that money for the last 5 years above was not all for the Auskick programme.

Your not listening. I know what was in place and when it was in place and trust me when I say there was no funding for junior development in NSW until at least 1996. It is my club after all and I do, know what goes on in my club and I can tell you that no funding came from the AFL in NSW or QLD until the 1996 season when interest in the game exploded. Before then NSW Football had to find funding themselves. In 1997 NSW Football changed its name to AFLNSW to mark the start of AFL funding

The Swans themselves might give away 1,000 tickets, but the afl, give away tickets as well......

I heard Wayne Jackson admit on radio (after some duress) after the Swans vs Essendon game....last year....that the afl gave away over 2,000 tickets alone to aboriginal children......some callers phoned in later on talkback and laughed and joked that you can rest assured that triple that amount was given away apart from the aboriginal kids.....even the commentators pointed out that it was a good thing to bring more people to the game.

That is utter bull****, the AFL can't do that. We control how tickets are sold/given away, so if we the AFL wanted tickets to give away they would have to pay the Swans the market price for the tickets, like they do with every other club. So the AFL might of given away 2500 tickets, but it doesn't mean they weren't paid for.

the crap that comes out of peoples mouths sometimes is staggering, so i havent read most of this thread. i'll cut to the chase

"ooh, 2ue gave me a free ticket... ooh, my friend got me a ticket so i got in for free" never mind that those tickets are paid for to begin with. and people will only believe what they want to believe, and the fact is, that the swans only give free admission to registered local junior players, exactly what the NRL clubs do, but because it doesnt suit some peoples agenda on here, they will claim otherwise, of course :rolleyes:

and as for the AFL giving tickets away, what a joke. love it when people start pulling stuff from thin air to try and prove a point.

Originally posted by Richoagain
Firstly - Yes, Syphon was trolling....

But excuse me? Nine Aussie Rules teams in Sydney?

Lemme see - the Sydney AFL has eight clubs alone, then about another twelve clubs in the Sydney AFA.

Add to this that all of those field at least two senior grades with quite a few playing a third senior grade in the SAFA divvy 2.....

Then there are three separate junior Aussie Rules leagues (not counting Auskick) - with about 30 strong junior clubs fielding multiple teams in multiple age groups.

Check your sources mate - I don't want to be a troll, but I will stick up for the code.
Don't take it personally. It was exaggeration to prove my point.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Robbie

What is wrong with that? If the NRL isn't spending money in Victoria... then the failure of the Storm to get any attention is COMPLETELY the NRL's fault, for lack of support, and the MEDIA HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH IT!

It is the responsiblity of a sport's ruling body to fund the development of the game at a grassroots level, and in new markets. That is exactly what the AFL does, and if the NRL doesn't... they are their own worst enemy. The media, surprise surprise, would be nothing more than a scapegoat for their own failures.

Before you go and spout your ridiculous blame game for Storm's lack of interest... look in your own backyard. If the NRL IS funding RL in Melbourne (I'd be shocked if they weren't), then what exactly are you complaining about with the AFL doing the same thing in NSW?

The Swans have their moments, but they are not the biggest club every year. They are more a fashion in Sydney, they can be cool sometimes and othertimes, uncool. You can sprout on about club members, but that is just an AFL thing - BE A MEMBER. I know a few people who signed up to members around 96/97 but haven't been members for 3 or four years. (my girlfriend is one of them). They'll be back all excited when it's cool again. They will have to learn the names of a whole new bunch of players though.

Not much under the surface.

crooked

Hang on. This entire thread is about a crowd of 26,000 by a club that apparently averaged just 9,000 last year. And you are accusing the Swans crowd of being fickle? At least our fluctuation isn't 300%!!!!

Originally posted by crippler
Newcastle easily have the best travelling fans in the competition.

For sydney games they take 10 busloads of fans on average.

10x average coach size = 10x57 = 570

570. 570 fans.

The Swans have at least 5000 MEMBERS in Melbourne. Bearing in mind that a Swans membership in Melbourne saves you... oh... about $10 all up. Less if you want a GF Preference card.

That's just the members. There's close to that number again in non-members at Docklands and MCG games. Generally, I dare say we'd get more than a hundred people from Sydney to each game as well (there's often up to 20 in the cheer squad alone)... and that's INTERSTATE.... not a couple of hours down the highway.

Also, the Knights would be the biggest football team in NSW on a consistent basis if they had the right facilities. Agree with Ms Storm, but that's no shock hey!!

IF. IF. IF.

It's much easier too deal with "IFs", isn't it? You see... with an "IF", you don't have to back up your statements. They're open-ended. You can say this WOULD happen IF... as much as you like, without it being refuted because it HASN'T happened or not happened. Hmm. How convenient.

Let time be the judge of that one champ. :rolleyes:

BTW, which team only averaged 9,000 last year? (bulldogs averaged more than that) Fickle? They finished on top of the ladder until they were done for cheating. Better crowds this year despite poorer performances.

It's called better facilities. Bulldogs fans hate the Showgrounds and are virtually only turning up for Telstra Stadium games.

Maybe Knights fans will do the same when they get BETTER FACILITIES!!

crooked

Let time be the judge of that one champ. :rolleyes:

BTW, which team only averaged 9,000 last year? (bulldogs averaged more than that) Fickle? They finished on top of the ladder until they were done for cheating. Better crowds this year despite poorer performances.

It's called better facilities. Bulldogs fans hate the Showgrounds and are virtually only turning up for Telstra Stadium games.

Maybe Knights fans will do the same when they get BETTER FACILITIES!!

crooked

"Maybe" has alot of similar characteristics to "If".

Unless I read the post wrong, didn't an earlier post in this thread say that the Bulldogs were averaging 9,000 last year?