Player Watch #26 Zane Peucker

Did We Get This Pick Right

Small forward is a tough and often thankless role. Here’s hoping Zane adds more competition to our small forward lineup before becoming a regular.
Doesnt really have to be foward
He has a beautiful dart of a kick and has speed and smarts going by the vision and could also become a mid or HB

Small forward is a tough and often thankless role. Here’s hoping Zane adds more competition to our small forward lineup before becoming a regular.
Not if you play it like Papley, Weightman, Elliot, Pickett etc. Hill won a Norm Smith. We have a pressure hangover that has lasted to long.

Campbell and Hotton are class and will take up to forward positions. Lalor, Cumming will rotate. Algar has some talent. No room for purely pressure forwards. Will be an exciting forward line to play in next season or two. Mansell, MRJ and Green will need to become more rounded players to get a gig.

Not if you play it like Papley, Weightman, Elliot, Pickett etc. Hill won a Norm Smith. We have a pressure hangover that has lasted to long.

Campbell and Hotton are class and will take up to forward positions. Lalor, Cumming will rotate. Algar has some talent. No room for purely pressure forwards. Will be an exciting forward line to play in next season or two. Mansell, MRJ and Green will need to become more rounded players to get a gig.

Mansell can also play as a defensive back on dangerous opposition forwards. I'm a bit concerned about MRJ tbh. I hope he's a bit liked MR senior in that he matures a bit later, as I've mentioned in other posts.

Mansell can also play as a defensive back on dangerous opposition forwards. I' m a bit concerned about MJR tbh. I hope he's a bit liked MR senior in that he matures a bit later, as I've mentioned in other posts.
Mansell can also kick goals. He has improved a lot but might get squeezed up the ground, which is fine by me, his best work is up to the wing and back. Still a lot a talent coming for his position. MRJ will have to get going early on, because he'll have to earn it.

Looking at Peucker's highlights

He reminded me of Richmond game style under Damien Hardwick
He would have fitted in perfectly in our Kaos game style in relentless attack and running.

We have identified a few players with late birthdays that have worked out well in the past with Shai & Balta
and more recently Seth & Alger. Im probably the only 1 here that also see's abit of a Jamie Elliot in this kid in his movement
Agree, an 18 year old has much less upside than a 17 year old generally. Huge difference in development.

Mansell can also kick goals. He has improved a lot but might get squeezed up the ground, which is fine by me, his best work is up to the wing and back. Still a lot a talent coming for his position. MRJ will have to get going early on, because he'll have to earn it.
Honestly I have seen enough of Mansell and Rioli for them to be traded to Tassie. Are definately not premiership 22 players long term, Seth is.

Agree, an 18 year old has much less upside than a 17 year old generally. Huge difference in development.
I look at it this way
If we look at players like Jasper Alger and what he produced in the VFL and showed glimpse
If he was in this draft he would have been drafted on the 1st day. 8-10 months is alot of development time as a 17 year old both physically and mentally

Saw something on socials and it sounds like he had already met Yze and Yze said this man here is very excited I think talking about either Rhy or who I assume is the SA/WA scout (not sure if it was him sitting between Rhy and Yze on draft night)

Had been pretty high on the whiteboard I’d assume.
I would say its Sam Cousens as he would have been the person that watched him the most - just a guess

Saw something on socials and it sounds like he had already met Yze and Yze said this man here is very excited I think talking about either Rhy or who I assume is the SA/WA scout (not sure if it was him sitting between Rhy and Yze on draft night)

Had been pretty high on the whiteboard I’d assume.
Just saw that as well. We had him in our sights for a while!

Yze even said "round 1" haha.

*round 1 isn't opening road, it is the round after opening round, even though it's called round 1.

Just saw that as well. We had him in our sights for a while!

Yze even said "round 1" haha.

*round 1 isn't opening road, it is the round after opening round, even though it's called round 1.
Sounds like the nonsense my parents used to use trying to explain to me why PM changed to AM after 12 midnight when previously they called 12 midday...

I never said Zane plays as a pressure forward. I don't know much about him, but if he can perform as an elite small forward, that would be fantastic.

Fox footy lab... the draft Oracle

a quick search of bigfoot for "Peuker" suggest he was on on one's radar hear. He made his way onto a "Pick 56" Phantom on the Melbourne board & as a "consideration" for pick 57 on the Port board, but they felt he was likely available later.
So there is no Oracles here either. There is no Phantom Draft you can point to anywhere that suggest his number was going to be "31". Feel free to prove me wrong though & post anything that might suggest 31 was where he sat

I reckon that if I had posted on here saying "I reckon Sam Grlj & Zane Peucker are who we should take with pick 4 & 31, you guys would have fallen off your chair. But when Hartley does it, ya'll immediately lean back and say "genius".

Just remember, a "professional" drafted Aaron Fiora & Jarryd Oakley Nicholls too :rolleyes:

a quick search of bigfoot for "Peuker" suggest he was on on one's radar hear. He made his way onto a "Pick 56" Phantom on the Melbourne board & as a "consideration" for pick 57 on the Port board, but they felt he was likely available later.
So there is no Oracles here either. There is no Phantom Draft you can point to anywhere that suggest his number was going to be "31". Feel free to prove me wrong though & post anything that might suggest 31 was where he sat
Talking nonsense mock drafts etc how many missed out on mock drafts to that we're supposed to go. So many clubs recruit players out of the blue or not we're so called experts rate them. Very weak argument

Let's not forget to as a 17 year old was playing at the championships to in the winning side and playing sanfl colts says alot. I see him as that Lambert style midfielder forward.

I reckon that if I had posted on here saying "I reckon Sam Grlj & Zane Peucker are who we should take with pick 4 & 31, you guys would have fallen off your chair. But when Hartley does it, ya'll immediately lean back and say "genius".

Just remember, a "professional" drafted Aaron Fiora & Jarryd Oakley Nicholls too :rolleyes:
Our Premiership team was full of smokies and undrafted players.

just because someone gets paid does not make anyone a professional

Player Watch #26 Zane Peucker