Player Watch #29: Will Phillips - 20d/12 tackles in VFL vs Brisbane - returns to the team vs Hawthorn

His balance is superhuman.

I have never seen someone run flat out and remain perfectly vertical from the hips to the top of their head.

I swear if you strapped a spirit level to his spine, the bubble would not move.

He was the most influential mid on the ground today. His composure is off the charts.

Really good around the contest and has great hands. I think playing at this level for now is better than a bit role in the AFL, particularly for a player who has not had much football in the past 12 months. He should be targeting 2022 as a cog in the AFL midfield machine. Although after a couple of weeks happy to swap him and Powell to expose both at the different levels.

The clearest thing other than his class and long term value is that he is a Center Square mid.

Not a flanker. Not a wingman.

Inside mid.

That is all.

That really is all. He was born to hunt in traffic.

Grappling is legit, my kids do 5 hours a week of BJJ and an hour of MMA. Tell ya what mate, the bloke that teaches striking has a karate background and has the kids punching from the waist. I literally train it out of them. It’s for another thread, but I do wish I learned some grappling. All I did was karate, kickboxing and boxing. If one of these grapplers gets a hold of you you’re f’ed.

Omg my dad was a professional Muay Thai fighter, worked for a company that specialised in kickboxing and stuff like that. He can teach a lot of like kickboxing, karate, etc. I did Karate and kickboxing when I was younger but I never went through with it. And in 2015 he went to nationals in Spain :))

I think WAP was really good today, got into the right spaces in contests but did have a few sloppy kicks but that doesn’t matter.

His tackles were pretty good as well

Omg my dad was a professional Muay Thai fighter, worked for a company that specialised in kickboxing and stuff like that. He can teach a lot of like kickboxing, karate, etc. I did Karate and kickboxing when I was younger but I never went through with it. And in 2015 he went to nationals in Spain :))

I hate the way they teach punching in karate. No protection at all. I spose it’s because they believe in their kicking game, but if you’re face to face legs (apart from front kicks to push the person back) don’t come into it. Anyway it’s not a discussion worth derailing the Phillips thread over.

Was there til half time and then hit up the telly for the second half (after the three year old had done her dash).

He is a level above anyone we’ve had come through in the last ten years.

Was there til half time and then hit up the telly for the second half (after the three year old had done her dash).

He is a level above anyone we’ve had come through in the last ten years.

He must have had 10 touches in the 2nd quarter.

I still reckon he's being time managed.

He was doing today what he was doing as a junior. Reading the tap, hitting the contest at pace and cruising out with the ball, feeding his team mate by hand then running to become an option again. Great balance, super composure, neat diaposal and a super work rate.

He's gonna be a gem after a preseason or two.

I have never seen someone run flat out and remain perfectly vertical from the hips to the top of their head.

He was the most influential mid on the ground today. His composure is off the charts.

This! Balance and poise.

Good description, remember thinking same thing when I first watched him in u10’s. amazing balance and power, which buys that extra bit of time to make a decision. Can’t wait till he gets a good pre season in him, was elite endurance runner in juniors, I expect same in afl. Very exciting

I was clearly not switched on & had no idea our game was on telly today...
It is so bloody awesome we had a win & that Will dominated!
Reading all these reviews on Will’s game & the game in general, is making me so very very happy!!

If Will ever gets out on the ground with fit Polec, Stevo and Jed + our present starting midfield, the synergy effect will absolutely turbo boost our team. We’ll seriously need a KPF that can withstand leather-poisoning! BBB will be offering himself to return for free.

Dont want him back.

Bear with me on this.

I am nicknaming him: Tolt / Tolta / The Tolt.

Those of you with passing knowledge of Icelandic horses will need no further convincing.

For others:

Bear with me on this.

I am nicknaming him: Tolt / Tolta / The Tolt.

Those of you with passing knowledge of Icelandic horses will need no further convincing.

For others:

I can't be the only one embarrassed for all those on here that had to admit to having no passing knowledge of Icelandic horses prior to this post.

It's a pretty good metaphor for motoring along whilst appearing to stand still (Will has this), but I have to admit that it's not the first one that popped in to my head.

Will Phillips impressed in his second game back in the VFL, with the talented midfielder taking the game by the scruff of the neck in the number 77 jumper, due to his favoured number 29 being ripped in the first half.

VFL coach Leigh Adams says his 28-disposal performance can be a great launching point for the youngster.

“It was probably the first time since he’s (Phillips) been at North that he’s had a full game through the midfield,” Adams told North Media.

“For him to get a full four quarters and just be able to hunt the footy and work on his craft will do him wonders.

“We all know internally that he’s a seriously good player, but for him to get that nourishment of playing really well can only help him.”