Beerfish
Unscripted Hot Takes
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Essendon
- Other Teams
- Nic Martin

Parish is staying. We're definitely at least winning a final this year
I’ve looked at the draw and I can see us finishing in the lower parts of the 8. It means **** all though unless we can actually win a final or 2. Hopefully the list is healthy at the pointy end.Season is open enough and we've given ourselves a good chance to be there
12 more winnable games this year after this fortnight...and port is a 40/60 prospect.
This essendon just needs to keep turning up.
Ergh, i am unrecognisable from before Rd1. This optimism feels weird
Focus is finals wins but i think there's a priority ahead of that and its consistency across seasonsI’ve looked at the draw and I can see us finishing in the lower parts of the 8. It means * all though unless we can actually win a final or 2. Hopefully the list is healthy at the pointy end.
Tasmania will need advanced cryogenics in order for him to be a foundational star when they finally join the competition in 2028Trade him to Tassie for a kings ransom as their foundational star.
Hope you are wrong. My bank balance will be a lot better if we doJesus, we're unlikely to even make finals, let alone win one.
But yes it will be a battle to get in. With the extra game you will most likely need 13 wins to get in.Us still being 4-5 years away from being a serious side, with the list we currently have, would be completely unacceptable. We have Merrett, Parish, Ridley, Wright, Langford, McGrath, Redman and Stringer in their primes, with guys like Caldwell, Setterfield, Durham, BZT, Martin, Perkins, Draper and Jones on the verge of entering their prime years, and lots of promising young talent beneath them. If we aren't aiming to challenge for top 4 by 2025 then you may as well trade half the list. Obviously pushing up the ladder is easier said than done, and we've had false dawns before.
I think letting Parish go would be dumb. We need to keep adding to the list we have right now, not shipping off our best players. We aren't at the beginning of a rebuild.
Merrett will be 28 by the end of the year, Wright 27, Stringer 29 - we can't afford to spend another 4 years outside the top 8 not making progress. A lot will depend on how Reid and Cox develop over the next 2 years.Top 4 in two years? Think that’s a big ask. Our list is only around average at the moment, with a lot of holes. We have a long way to go. Our spine especially is pretty ordinary.
The hope suddenly feels less like blind hope and more hope that Wright, Reid, Cox, Tsatas and the Daveys all get on the park and fireTop 4 in two years? Think that’s a big ask. Our list is only around average at the moment, with a lot of holes. We have a long way to go. Our spine especially is pretty ordinary.
The hope suddenly feels less like blind hope and more hope that Wright, Reid, Cox, Tsatas and the Daveys all get on the park and fire
If that happens we are a top 4 side in another year.
Still need to see more leadership, personal wise and also the buy in when Scott has to introduce a bit more defense. Right now we are playing 90% of the offensive game plan we played in 2021 and a basic defensive plan. Our downfall under all coaches has been trying to introduce the next defensive step.The hope suddenly feels less like blind hope and more hope that Wright, Reid, Cox, Tsatas and the Daveys all get on the park and fire
If that happens we are a top 4 side in another year.
Merrett 2021Can’t remember a Restricted Free Agent putting contract talks on hold till end of year and staying. (Apart from De Goey but that was bc of clauses in contract he never wanted to leave). Just got married reckon he’ll set up his life near Geelong.
If that's the road he takes, then all the best to him. I personally would not bat an eyelid over it.Can’t remember a Restricted Free Agent putting contract talks on hold till end of year and staying. (Apart from De Goey but that was bc of clauses in contract he never wanted to leave). Just got married reckon he’ll set up his life near Geelong.
Actually Merrett signed mid year. And yes Parish said end of year in an interview with Twomey.Merrett 2021
Also no one said end of the year. They've just said "let the footy do the talking". Will be concerned if we get to July and they aren't even at the table to negotiate.
We're currently in early May.Actually Merrett signed mid year.
Do you have a link and a quote? I can't find "end" anywhere. "later/deeper into the season", but not "end".And yes Parish said end of year in an interview with Twomey.