Player Watch #3: Dion Prestia

There is only 1 person to blame for our lack of quality and depth ............ Francis F Jackson

For way too long this bloke had the entire Richmond football clubs destiny in his hands, I have been saying it now for 10 years that he is hopeless and totally out of his depth.

Just have a good look at some of the new players that sydney have found in the draft even finishing so high on the ladder they have found some real guns
Geelong,Adelaide,Essendon have all done exceptionally well
http://www.footyalmanac.com.au/will-francis-casino-jackson-ever-learn-his-lesson/

Francis Jackson, Richmond’s head recruiter should buy Blair Hartly a beer. In fact, he should buy him dinner and a beer. The recent good publicity the Tigers recruiting has been getting has been all due to Blair not “Casino “ Jackson.

I want to first make the distinction between the fine work Blair Hartly has done as distinct from what Francis Jackson has done, which he seems to universally be getting credit for. Blair was responsible for Houli, Grigg, Maric and now Knights and Chaplin. That is trading not recruiting and yes, the club has been very good in that area of late.

I would just like to look at the last four/five years and you can analyse how many Francis would get a tick for right now. I think there are three categories. Fail, pass and jury still out. I understand it is subjective, but I can’t give him any more than 4 ticks over the past four years.

Let me start by throwing these names at you who are either all gone or are definite “fail” in my view. Relton Roberts, Ben Nason, Jeromme Webberly, AndrewBrowne, Dean Macdonald, Jaydon Post, Andrew Collins, Angus Graham, Mitch Farmer, Troy Taylor, . I don’t think is is too many arguments about any of these is there? I would also add Tom Derickx in . That is a lot of names in the space of a few years for a recruiter who is getting patted on the back.

Next category- Jury out.- Ben Griffiths ,Mat Dea, Tyrone Vickery David Astbury Jake Bachelor, Bret O’Hanlon, Todd Elton Conca,….happy to concede jury out with most of these but don’t have a lot of faith that the uncompetitive Griffiths nor the treacle slow Bachelor will be guys you want on your team in a Grand final. Conca is a “jury out” because he was pick 6…do you think he looks like pick 6 ? We passed on Heppell to take a guy who can’t kick left foot and is terribly undisciplined and is a nice footballer at best. Pick 6?

A lot of the above who gambles on guys from obscurity. Have a look at the phantom drafts leading into it and check out Derricks or Astbury and see where they were rated.our Francis just loves a gamble. To think Astbury was given Richo’s number 12..i can’t think of a single game where this guy would have made the best players yet his re-signing this year came under the heading of “Young Gun Re-Signs’ . Can you believe that? Pick 18 for Griffiths…please.

Wins? Well, clearly Grimes as a pre-season selection (effectively pick 100 or so) was a great choice. Ellis and Morris look fine and Martin looks better that Trengove, so probably have to concede them as wins. The manager of Dimmeys could have got Martin right

Given all of this, i think the media is being very kind to Francis and the club. Do you know that Richmond have only 9 people in recruiting (3 full time 6 part time) compared to Hawthorn (27) and Collingwood (30).

I am not sure if you agree but I just think Francis Jackson is getting credit for Blair Hartly’s hard work.

THIS ARTICLE WAS WRITTEN IN 2012!!!!

The club held onto Jackson for far to long, his complete and utter failure as a head recruiter is astonishing.

Sent from my HTC 2PS6200 using Tapatalk

It's a real worry. I think the club was hoping C.Ellis or Menadue would be the ones to step up but neither of them look like getting anywhere near it.
The real loss for mime was Oliver.
Played VFL for the club and was right under their noses.
Instead of cutting Vickery and trying to couple it with our second round pick to elevate our position in the draft .
We used our second on Yarran and kept Vickery for 12 months to long.

http://www.footyalmanac.com.au/will-francis-casino-jackson-ever-learn-his-lesson/

Francis Jackson, Richmond’s head recruiter should buy Blair Hartly a beer. In fact, he should buy him dinner and a beer. The recent good publicity the Tigers recruiting has been getting has been all due to Blair not “Casino “ Jackson.

I want to first make the distinction between the fine work Blair Hartly has done as distinct from what Francis Jackson has done, which he seems to universally be getting credit for. Blair was responsible for Houli, Grigg, Maric and now Knights and Chaplin. That is trading not recruiting and yes, the club has been very good in that area of late.

I would just like to look at the last four/five years and you can analyse how many Francis would get a tick for right now. I think there are three categories. Fail, pass and jury still out. I understand it is subjective, but I can’t give him any more than 4 ticks over the past four years.

Let me start by throwing these names at you who are either all gone or are definite “fail” in my view. Relton Roberts, Ben Nason, Jeromme Webberly, AndrewBrowne, Dean Macdonald, Jaydon Post, Andrew Collins, Angus Graham, Mitch Farmer, Troy Taylor, . I don’t think is is too many arguments about any of these is there? I would also add Tom Derickx in . That is a lot of names in the space of a few years for a recruiter who is getting patted on the back.

Next category- Jury out.- Ben Griffiths ,Mat Dea, Tyrone Vickery David Astbury Jake Bachelor, Bret O’Hanlon, Todd Elton Conca,….happy to concede jury out with most of these but don’t have a lot of faith that the uncompetitive Griffiths nor the treacle slow Bachelor will be guys you want on your team in a Grand final. Conca is a “jury out” because he was pick 6…do you think he looks like pick 6 ? We passed on Heppell to take a guy who can’t kick left foot and is terribly undisciplined and is a nice footballer at best. Pick 6?

A lot of the above who gambles on guys from obscurity. Have a look at the phantom drafts leading into it and check out Derricks or Astbury and see where they were rated.our Francis just loves a gamble. To think Astbury was given Richo’s number 12..i can’t think of a single game where this guy would have made the best players yet his re-signing this year came under the heading of “Young Gun Re-Signs’ . Can you believe that? Pick 18 for Griffiths…please.

Wins? Well, clearly Grimes as a pre-season selection (effectively pick 100 or so) was a great choice. Ellis and Morris look fine and Martin looks better that Trengove, so probably have to concede them as wins. The manager of Dimmeys could have got Martin right

Given all of this, i think the media is being very kind to Francis and the club. Do you know that Richmond have only 9 people in recruiting (3 full time 6 part time) compared to Hawthorn (27) and Collingwood (30).

I am not sure if you agree but I just think Francis Jackson is getting credit for Blair Hartly’s hard work.

THIS ARTICLE WAS WRITTEN IN 2012!!!!

The club held onto Jackson for far to long, his complete and utter failure as a head recruiter is astonishing.

we are a joke on and of the feild

They're both failures

I wouldnt call Hartley a success, He is very average to below average imo

That article was in 2012 , I have been calling for his head since 2007 and never have rated him at all

We spend a sh!t load of money on players and coaches but the most important part of building a team is the drafting of new players and we have failed big time.

Just have a look through Essendon,Sydney,Adelaide,Geelong & Hawks lists and see where some of these players were selected

We cant even get our 1st round selection right with Conca,Lennon,Vickery,Cellis and even Vlaustin was the wrong player for us at the time

Conca - Should have been Heppell (no brainer)
Cellis - Lachie Weller was the player we all wanted and was expected
Vlaustin - Grundy was a screaming need for the Tigers who were desperate for a ruck atm
Vickery - Ziebell,Davis,Sidebottom,Shuey all went directly after him
Lennon - Wow there are about 10 players that went begging ( Zak Jones,Patrick Cripps,Zach Merrett,Blake Acres,Rory Lobb,Luke Dunstan,Matt Crouch and list goes on

We could have had Heppell,Weller,Ziebell,Grundy,Lobb currently in our team combined with Cotchin,Martin,Riewoldt,Rance
Thats a Premiership right there

That article was in 2012 , I have been calling for his head since 2007 and never have rated him at all

We spend a sh!t load of money on players and coaches but the most important part of building a team is the drafting of new players and we have failed big time.

Just have a look through Essendon,Sydney,Adelaide,Geelong & Hawks lists and see where some of these players were selected

We cant even get our 1st round selection right with Conca,Lennon,Vickery,Cellis and even Vlaustin was the wrong player for us at the time

Vlaustin - Grundy was a screaming need for the Tigers who were desperate for a ruck atm
Lennon - Wow there are about 10 players that went begging ( Zak Jones,Patrick Cripps,Zach Merrett,Blake Acres,Rory Lobb,Luke Dunstan,Matt Crouch and list goes on

We could have had Heppell,Weller,Ziebell,Grundy,Lobb currently in our team combined with Cotchin,Martin,Riewoldt,Rance
Exactly as i said ,they're both failures and the results speak for themselves. No BS there mate.

Bit of perspective - I remember seeing Prestia in full flight and thinking he is definitely an A grade mid. Look at players like Treloar – He didn’t have an interrupted preseason and didn’t really hit his straps in his first year with Collingwood. The best comparison to be made is Shared Wellingham. His first year at west coast had an interrupted preseason with minimal skills work as kicking puts maximum pressure on lower limb joints. His disposal was shocking and could barely even find a touch in the WAFL ressies! Second year was when he was playing the footy everyone knew he could and that’s what will happen with Prestia.

I would settle for Prestia to not hit his straps this season and finish equal fifth in the Brownlow like Trel;oar last year with 21 votes, and second in the Copeland Trophy behind Pendlebury!!

LOFL

Just stop it!!! :'(

Hartley has done good work, for what we got, and what we achieved with some of the retreads he identified we done ok. Our drafting however, has been completely s**t, 15/16 draft crop to early to tell but Jackson has had a miss on nearly every first round pick since taking Conca.

OMG!!!!

In your own comments you talked about FJ getting a player considered as nice at best at pick 6. Conca sure, should have been after Heppell as we said at the time but get this, Blair Hartley gets Prestia who was a worse pick behind Conca and Heppell for pick 6 after already losing years of performance at Gold Coast while Conca, despite the injuries has been more effective than Prestia this year and FJ had to deal with a draft product while Blair had seen the mature product not to mention Carlton used pick 6 for SPS this year!! If anything this year proved the better value of Conca and Caddy as demonstrated in the draft order and we new years ago Smith and Lynch were already superior options

Blair gave a pick for Hampson for nothing as Hamps was available as a FA in later years, not to mention Yarran 2 second rounders for the same worth, not to mention the cost and then there was the stupid interest in Motlop!!!!

FJ is a god compared to Blair despite stuffing up Heppell, Blakely, Lever and others!!! At least we have Conca, Menadue and Ellis to work with!!

Blairs expensive conservative trades literally where shooting blanks!!! nada, nada, nothing!!!!

Sure Maric, Houli and Grigg were handy, but they cost us practically nothing, thats the difference, we had nothing to lose!!!

We are still paying for the trade loses for Hampson, Prestia and Yarran, remember those are players we would have drafted for we don't have like Docherty etc... People can see we still have Prestia and he can improve. However, 700K is a lot of money apart from pick 6 effect and if that means we lose the likes of Martin or equivalents in a bidding process that becomes a killer and highlights the problems trades lacking value create!!!!

Hartley is a joke. He is the list manager and we have no decent talls anywhere in sight. Its his job to shape the list and he has farked up entirely.

The quicker we get rid of him the better off the club will be.

Hartley is a joke. He is the list manager and we have no decent talls anywhere in sight. Its his job to shape the list and he has farked up entirely.

The quicker we get rid of him the better off the club will be.
He's the list manager, not recruiter, FJ is the one who calls out the names on draft night. Hartley has had his misses but he's gotten good value out of some of the recycled players we had picked up.

IN truth, they're equal parts to blame - one cannot work without the other.
They would work hand in glove identifying and weighing up the risks of recruiting player A as opposed to trading our first second or third round pick?
I would say both have been only moderately successful.
Jackson's finest hour would have been taking a gamble and winning on J.Riewoldt being around at pick 13.
If indeed it was him, the Rance pick has proven astute.
Short was a solid rookie pick; ditto McIntosh at 33. Reckon both are giving us value.
Talls have been catastrophic.
Hartley's had some good gets, but you would expect that givenm the unusual (as in high) numbers we have brought in. But ther's been a lot who didn't pan out.

WTF do you think the list manager does? He doesn't walk in and go these are the guys i'm looking at from other clubs, job done.

He manages the list, he decides the types of players we recruit, he decides who we keep on the list and he makes sure a list isn't built for the short term like a coach.

He has completely failed to build the list around 5 generational talents, instead he keeps looking for cheap inside mids that'll do the dirty work and directing FJ and co to use 1st round picks on good users of the ball and not talls or quality inside mids because he (and Dimma) believed they cracked the code with their game styles.

Instead like other clubs we should have been looking for our classy ball users with the cheaper picks or as re-treads and using the valuable picks on the two most valuable types of players in the game, inside mids and talls.

FJ was probably a dud but before Blair Hartley he targeted talls and inside mids with his first few picks, since Hartley came across we've mostly targeted flankers, CEllis and Conca were the only guys who'd played a lot of midfield in at colts level.

WTF do you think the list manager does? He doesn't walk in and go these are the guys i'm looking at from other clubs, job done.

He manages the list, he decides the types of players we recruit, he decides who we keep on the list and he makes sure a list isn't built for the short term like a coach.

He has completely failed to build the list around 5 generational talents, instead he keeps looking for cheap inside mids that'll do the dirty work and directing FJ and co to use 1st round picks on good users of the ball and not talls or quality inside mids because he (and Dimma) believed they cracked the code with their game styles.

Instead like other clubs we should have been looking for our classy ball users with the cheaper picks or as re-treads and using the valuable picks on the two most valuable types of players in the game, inside mids and talls.

FJ was probably a dud but before Blair Hartley he targeted talls and inside mids with his first few picks, since Hartley came across we've mostly targeted flankers, CEllis and Conca were the only guys who'd played a lot of midfield in at colts level.

We have recruited talls over the past 5-6 years, Astbury is quality and the only other one that we have drafted that has been moderately ok has been Griffiths, Elton and McBean both high second round picks, one gone and the other will be gone, we drafted Derickx with a speculative pick he's gone, Chol looks like he has talent but he's raw, Garthwaite speculative at the moment but he's young and Soldo he's in his third(?) Year of football, we have Maric, Hampson and Nankervis as rucks, one who's in his last year, Hampson who's got back issues and Nankervis who's quality but still relatively young.

The club has targetted talls, but have failed with the high picks they did use on them, Griffiths, Elton and McBean, the only pick out of those that I'd say we wasted trading was the Hampson pick.

Conca pre-injury was playing almost full-time midfield after a small stint playing back pocket in his first year, injuries and further midfield depth has meant we could move him elsewhere, ditto Vlastuin, C Ellis hasn't come on as expected, B Ellis was the right call in the type of player we needed, he's stagnated in his development, and Lennon seems like the perfect type of footballer but hasn't translated that into AFL performances.

Grundy was what, a first round pick? Quality player, but we picked one up for almost pick 50 in a trade who's just as good if not better in certain areas of his game, unless you have a top 5 pick to use on a known quality big guy, IE Hogan, Patton etc then anything else after that is speculative, we tried and failed with the drafting of big guys with high picks.

The identifying in talent is what has been our issue at the draft table, and that ultimately sits on FJ head.

We have recruited talls over the past 5-6 years, Astbury is quality and the only other one that we have drafted that has been moderately ok has been Griffiths, Elton and McBean both high second round picks, one gone and the other will be gone, we drafted Derickx with a speculative pick he's gone, Chol looks like he has talent but he's raw, Garthwaite speculative at the moment but he's young and Soldo he's in his third(?) Year of football, we have Maric, Hampson and Nankervis as rucks, one who's in his last year, Hampson who's got back issues and Nankervis who's quality but still relatively young.

8 years ago almost 9 not 5-6. Funnily enough 2009 was our last decent tall draft, guess who came over the next season. I'll give you a clue it rhymes with Chair Fartley.

Where are the talls coming through beneath Astbury? One first year player at pick 70+ in the draft (FWIW i actually rate Garthwaite). What about behind Griff? Elton who had played two games in six years and looks lost on the field and two 2nd year rookies.

The club has targetted talls, but have failed with the high picks they did use on them, Griffiths, Elton and McBean, the only pick out of those that I'd say we wasted trading was the Hampson pick.

Griff was in 2009 before Blair when for the previous five drafts we had used picks under 20 for talls and amazingly enough we got two of the best players in the game Rance and Jack. McBean was 33 and Elton was 26, very rarely do you find decent KPF outside the top 25 and both were in compromised drafts.

Conca pre-injury was playing almost full-time midfield after a small stint playing back pocket in his first year, injuries and further midfield depth has meant we could move him elsewhere, ditto Vlastuin, C Ellis hasn't come on as expected, B Ellis was the right call in the type of player we needed, he's stagnated in his development, and Lennon seems like the perfect type of footballer but hasn't translated that into AFL performances.

I know what Conca was, thats why i said only he and CEllis were mids at u/18's. Vlastuin played HBF at the knights and vic metro, he did play midfield at lower levels and younger age but has rarely done it rep levels and it shows, his best spot is in the d50 when we need him to be a mid. As for the rest no they haven't come on which makes it look worse but Lennon was always slow and unfit.

Grundy was what, a first round pick? Quality player, but we picked one up for almost pick 50 in a trade who's just as good if not better in certain areas of his game, unless you have a top 5 pick to use on a known quality big guy, IE Hogan, Patton etc then anything else after that is speculative, we tried and failed with the drafting of big guys with high picks.

Tried and failed?? We continually used first round picks on flanker types and have often traded second round picks on guys like Yarran, Hampson, Maric (success). We have basically drafted 2 talls since 2009 McBean and Elton both failures, sure the odd rookie but thats unacceptable and why we have a massive hole in our list right now.

Sure he got Ruckman right but i'm not saying rucks i'm saying KPP

The identifying in talent is what has been our issue at the draft table, and that ultimately sits on FJ head.

FJ was a problem but Blair is a bigger one and news flash the guy sitting next to FJ all those years on draft night, the defacto no.2 was Hartley. He doesn't get last say on draft night but he has a huge say and overall he gets the last say on recruiting recycled players, how many players we draft vs trade in, how many we delist, trading picks and how long we keep players for. All those areas have been huge failures in his reign.

8 years ago almost 9 not 5-6. Funnily enough 2009 was our last decent tall draft, guess who came over the next season. I'll give you a clue it rhymes with Chair Fartley.

Where are the talls coming through beneath Astbury? One first year player at pick 70+ in the draft (FWIW i actually rate Garthwaite). What about behind Griff? Elton who had played two games in six years and looks lost on the field and two 2nd year rookies.

Griff was in 2009 before Blair when for the previous five drafts we had used picks under 20 for talls and amazingly enough we got two of the best players in the game Rance and Jack. McBean was 33 and Elton was 26, very rarely do you find decent KPF outside the top 25 and both were in compromised drafts.

I know what Conca was, thats why i said only he and CEllis were mids at u/18's. Vlastuin played HBF at the knights and vic metro, he did play midfield at lower levels and younger age but has rarely done it rep levels and it shows, his best spot is in the d50 when we need him to be a mid. As for the rest no they haven't come on which makes it look worse but Lennon was always slow and unfit.

Tried and failed?? We continually used first round picks on flanker types and have often traded second round picks on guys like Yarran, Hampson, Maric (success). We have basically drafted 2 talls since 2009 McBean and Elton both failures, sure the odd rookie but thats unacceptable and why we have a massive hole in our list right now.

Sure he got Ruckman right but i'm not saying rucks i'm saying KPP

FJ was a problem but Blair is a bigger one and news flash the guy sitting next to FJ all those years on draft night, the defacto no.2 was Hartley. He doesn't get last say on draft night but he has a huge say and overall he gets the last say on recruiting recycled players, how many players we draft vs trade in, how many we delist, trading picks and how long we keep players for. All those areas have been huge failures in his reign.
We'll have to agree to disagree, I don't believe in using top picks on talls unless they are standouts.