Past #3 Dylan Stephens

12SyGW20DC0774.JPG

Dylan Stephens
The Sydney Swans used their first pick five since Jarrad McVeigh in 2002 to lock in a talented midfielder from South Australian club Norwood at the 2019 AFL Draft. Dylan Stephens is a prolific ball-winner and creative user of the footy by hand and foot. He played predominantly on a wing in the early matches of the 2019 AFL Under-18 Championships before starring on the inside in the final match, gathering 33 disposals in a best-on-ground performance. A penetrating left-footer, he averaged 23.8 disposals and 4.8 tackles across the 2019 AFL Under-18 Championships and was rewarded with All Australian honours. He also played some excellent football at senior level with Norwood, averaging 18.2 disposals and 4.6 tackles in 12 matches. Stephens enjoyed a breakout season for the Bloods in 2020 with a memorable AFL debut in Round 6 against Richmond alongside fellow debutant, Chad Warner. Stephens finished the campaign with eight appearances, averaging 12.5 disposals and 3.4 marks per game, while also kicking two goals.

Dylan Stephens
DOB: 08 January 2001
DEBUT: 2020
DRAFT: #5, 2019 National Draft
RECRUITED FROM: Red Cliffs (Vic)/Walkerville (SA)/St Peter's College (SA)/Norwood (SANFL)

Adelaide will offer pick 37, we’ll ask for pick 5 & they’ll meet in between at pick 23. And a few years down the track a fair few on here will be pissing & moaning that we gave him away like we did Mitchell.

Then rinse & repeat as the usual suspects move onto someone else.
Turning pick 5 into pick 23 would be a masterstroke from the list managers.

If he was tracking where he should be he would be best 22 and we wouldn’t be talking about taking a 2nd for a player we took at 5 a couple years ago

Not about Dyl so much but a general point.
You buy/bid for what a player MIGHT become. You sell/trade for what a player HAS become.

He’s best 22 atm. He played last week & the week before. That’s best 22 as we speak. It’s not who we think should be in the side when people get out their spreadsheet and imagine their best side in their head it comes down to who the coaches think are best 22 and like I’ve said atm he’s best 22.

There's a good possibility he'll go. If there's interest from a South Australian club where his family is based and he's not making in-roads at the Swans, that's a genuine draw card for him to return home.

For conversation's sake, a comparative trade would be that of Jye Caldwell and Jackson Hately. Both left GWS as former first round picks after their second years being fringe players in and out of the Giants' 22, near identical to Stephens' situation. Caldwell got to Essendon for two second rounders, Hately to Adelaide in the pre-season draft.

I personally hope he stays, as I have high hopes for him and am not deterred by what has been an uneventful first year and a half on the list. We also invested a lot in him and he fits a need in our team if he gets it together, so it would be a failure on our list management team to lose him for what we'd likely get for him.

There's a good possibility he'll go. If there's interest from a South Australian club where his family is based and he's not making in-roads at the Swans, that's a genuine draw card for him to return home.

For conversation's sake, a comparative trade would be that of Jye Caldwell and Jackson Hately. Both left GWS as former first round picks after their second years being fringe players in and out of the Giants' 22, near identical to Stephens' situation. Caldwell got to Essendon for two second rounders, Hately to Adelaide in the pre-season draft.

I personally hope he stays, as I have high hopes for him and am not deterred by what has been an uneventful first year and a half on the list. We also invested a lot in him and he fits a need in our team if he gets it together, so it would be a failure on our list management team to lose him for what we'd likely get for him.
Except his family isn't in SA.

"Stephens grew up in Mildura in country Victoria, where his family still lives. Except he moved to Adelaide six years ago to take up a scholarship at St Peter's College."

"Deep down, I grew up as a Victorian boy and I love South Australia … but I'm probably a Victorian."

Similar themes for Dawson, Gould, slightly for Hewett (hometown is closer to Adelaide). Being from SA doesn't equal being from Adelaide (having moved from the bottom of SA (near JD, WG hometowns) to Adelaide at age 18 for uni, I know this). It's not like they'll have everyday family support if they moved to Adelaide. They won't be able to drop around on parents after training or do heaps of day trips, family are still going to have to set aside several days to visit (like they would if they stayed in Sydney). Sure, they've probably got friends, maybe extended family in Adelaide, but after a few years in Syd, you'd have some reasons to stay there too.

Would it be a failure of our list management team though? He showed enough to be a high draft pick. He showed some last year. His development appears to have stalled somewhat. Is that not more an issue for our development coaching, welfare and the kid himself?
I've kept an eye on McInerney from an early stage and reckon he often curbs his instincts to make sure he performs his role. Perhaps Dylan is struggling with that aspect of being a professional footballer.
I don't pretend to know but sure hope it works out for the best for the player and the club.

Don't you lot think his development may have stalled due to not playing last year? Or rarely, in a team that was getting beaten weekly?

Comparisons to Jones are just crazy... He debuted in 2014, played in a team that was flying...

Stephens got recruited in 2019, and then got stuck with the COVID year... Gees Louise, give the kid a break!

Would it be a failure of our list management team though? He showed enough to be a high draft pick. He showed some last year. His development appears to have stalled somewhat. Is that not more an issue for our development coaching, welfare and the kid himself?
I've kept an eye on McInerney from an early stage and reckon he often curbs his instincts to make sure he performs his role. Perhaps Dylan is struggling with that aspect of being a professional footballer.
I don't pretend to know but sure hope it works out for the best for the player and the club.

I mean, if the kid you've drafted wanted out after just two years... then yeah I'm gonna say some of that responsibility would lie with the list management team!

Nothing against you personally, but these whole "character assessment" type of posts give me the absolute shits. Because he doesn't carry on like a pork chop if he kicks a goal or seems reserved on the field he's somehow less than. If you want to doubt him then keep it isolated to his footballing ability because you likely know nothing about him personally. There's no evidence that a young player who is a quiet, reserved type can't grow into their own. When Jake Lloyd and Harry Cunningham started it was difficult to imagine them ever being leaders at the club, but they grew in confidence with each season. Maybe you should wait until after the fact to pass judgments on what Stephens as a person has been like at the Swans?

And for the record, it's actually not rare at all for kids to struggle with confidence in their early seasons. That some of our other kids have that confidence is why our group of youngsters have been talked about as among the best in the comp.
Fair enough. At the end of the day I'm just going off what I see out there. If it changes then I'd be more than happy to eat my words.

Precisely like what you said that our other kids seem to be already have it. That means they're already half way there. When selecting a player, character most certainly matters imo, you're also drafting their personality. It's clear he has a long way to go in improving his mindset and building his confidence. But it's a long road compared to other kids who are more established in that area. And there's no guarantee he'll pull through.

He may be a very talented player but for me he lacks that hunger for the contest , seems a little too lathargic. When rowbottom was drafted, you could tell straight away that he wants to get the most out of himself and relishes the challenge. I don’t see that from Stephens. I’ll be shocked if he doesn’t request a trade this year

I remember watching him last year, at times he was going for the loose ball and tackling like he was possessed (at least for a young, lightly built kid). I've said it several times on this thread/others, it just stood out as I was expecting an outside runner. He's still doing some good tackle work a few times each game, but does seem to loiter/hover more and appear indecisive. Wonder if he's being coached out of it somewhat when it comes to seniors games as he isn't one of the top midfield dogs (as he is in reserves) and it's not the role we're expecting, but is now in two minds as to what his role is, is affecting his confidence/composure generally and when he does need to crack in he hesitates.

Just had a look at the 2019 draft. After the first 3 the talent is few and far between. In hindsight imo we should have taken serong at 5

As I said a few weeks back, if we take Serong we probably don't take Warner. Or we still do take Warner but he can't get a game in our midfield so he's in the VFL all year.

But he's not James Rowbottom, he's Dylan Stephens FFS. Why are we trying to make every Swans player the same?

Just had a look at the 2019 draft. After the first 3 the talent is few and far between. In hindsight imo we should have taken serong at 5
While I also wanted Serong pre-draft, I think it's far too early for 'in hindsight'. I mean at this point in respective careers, Lewy Taylor had also won a rising star, like Serong (a similar drop-off hopefully doesn't occur, unless temporary and conveniently timed, since he was a Swans fan, he might be open to a trade later on).

I see your point, but Taylor had already began to drop off in his second year. Serong has built upon his impressive Year 1 this year.

I don't think Stephens was a reach, most had him around the spot we took him. If we didn't take him Adelaide would've at the next pick. Someone like Ling was a reach, but sometimes it's just a case of the player not really developing. Regardless writing him off because of two ordinary games is silly, just look at Florent.

I remember watching him last year, at times he was going for the loose ball and tackling like he was possessed (at least for a young, lightly built kid). I've said it several times on this thread/others, it just stood out as I was expecting an outside runner. He's still doing some good tackle work a few times each game, but does seem to loiter/hover more and appear indecisive. Wonder if he's being coached out of it somewhat when it comes to seniors games as he isn't one of the top midfield dogs (as he is in reserves) and it's not the role we're expecting, but is now in two minds as to what his role is, is affecting his confidence/composure generally and when he does need to crack in he hesitates.

Totally agree. He isn’t strong enough right now to play inside the contest and his outside game is very much under development, but his only position in the senior side right now.

If I recall his parents are travelling between east coast games with their caravan or some such. I could have that wrong but they said something like that in their interview recently. His sister if i recall is in Newcastle.

So family in Adelaide shouldn’t be a draw card as the rest are seemingly in country Victoria.

Past #3 Dylan Stephens