Retired #3: Paul Chapman

• Thread starter Thread starter Doss

I've noticed quite a few Geelong and AFL fans in general this Chappy left because he didn't want to play at the cattery anymore. Frustrates me they aren't willing to give him enough respect by learning the truth. HE LEFT BECAUSE THE CATS COULDN'T GUARANTEE HIM GAMETIME!
Right on...travesty and the reason I didn't sign up this year at the Cattery. The treatment of Chapman was a disgrace.

Chappy was good tonight. DIdn't hit the scoreboard as much.. but boy is he clean..

What a great pick up bombers.. two games in and already made your money back I reckon!

I've noticed quite a few Geelong and AFL fans in general this Chappy left because he didn't want to play at the cattery anymore. Frustrates me they aren't willing to give him enough respect by learning the truth. HE LEFT BECAUSE THE CATS COULDN'T GUARANTEE HIM GAMETIME!

Not 'couldn't', Foxxy. Point-blank WOULDN'T.

Man I love Chapman. Enjoyed seeing him dominating yet again. Just awesome.

Getting Goddard and Chapman for free (in trade terms) was daylight robbery. Our two best decision makers, and have helped turn a weak part of the ground into our strongest.

It's sweet when a small/mid sized forward gets it 20 times a game. And he is an EXCELLENT user and can kick goals. Not many of these players in the AFL.

Proficient as usual in the final term. That's his trademark, comes up big when it's really needed.

Lovin watching him play at the moment and hope it continues. I suspect Bomber will want to win quite a few more games before he decides to rest him up 1 week, play 3 games, another rest and even manage him via the sub so it does not start to wear him down as the season draws to a conclusion.
It's not just his game that we enjoy but his presence in the rooms would be unreal. He demands attention because he is able to speak the words but his actions are backed up on the footy field.
I'd imagine the younger Essendon players would be picking his brain to death at the halftime breaks and leading upto matches....that's probably the most underrated aspect of acquiring his services, that knowledge and somewhat sureness feeds off on the younger blokes.
I hate Hawthorn and it sux his goal was negated by '20 minute special' Cyril but you will get them later in the year.

It's sweet when a small/mid sized forward gets it 20 times a game. And he is an EXCELLENT user and can kick goals. Not many of these players in the AFL.

This has been a big, big, big missing link from our line up for 3 years hence our incapability when guys like Winderlich, Kommer, Jetta, Zaka aren't there.

Chapman's smarts are worth 2 goals a game on there own whilst his ability to hit the scoreboard is something we haven't had for years.

Stellar work by the Football Department :thumbsu:

Prediction on games/goals/goal assists?

16/26/32

Still don't understand how this bloke was told he was 'no longer required' down at Geelong. Champion player, champion bloke and clearly can still 'cut it' at AFL level.

Their loss is our gain, but boy what a stuff up... I realise Geelong are still a very good footy team, but I think it might become more and more of a problem the deeper into the season we go.

Very happy to have chappy don the sash.

Right on...travesty and the reason I didn't sign up this year at the Cattery. The treatment of Chapman was a disgrace.

I believe Chapman left because his favourite coach, Bomber Thompson, is coaching.

The breakdown of contract negotiations is just too convienient. Bomber ummed and ahhhed about being senior coach, but he knew that he really wanted to do it. Maybe, the fact that he and Chappy are close, Chappy wanted to play under his mate, and for a club in a premiership window (which he must think Geelong no longer are in, or he wouldn't have left).

That's fine. If Chappy wanted to move, that is on him. But he owed the club the truth, rather than make the club the villian just to keep his fans on side (look at how Ablett was treated when he defected).

This so-called Geelong fan has shown his true colors, and has put player before club, so I would ignore him.