Delisted 31. George Burbury (2011-)

Re: 2010 Rookie Draft selection no. 40 - George Burbury

At 186 ATM, great! another SJ maybe.

Be interesting between George-Horlin and George Burbury, both got mega talent, so Wells says, wouldn't discount the Tassie boy!

These are the type of Rookie selections I like. Guys that have a great deal of potential but aren't quiet there yet for what ever reason. In George Burbury's case he hasn't played a lot of footy.

To get interviewed by four clubs based on playing six games for Hobart is a great effort especially considering the focus on rowing. It says to me that the guy has some good natural attributes to work with.

Doesn't mean he will make it but he needs to come to Geelong and work his butt off and he can succeed. However, he has a lot of time to catch up on and he will need to work hard to make it. I think a lot will depend on work ethic.

Re: 2010 Rookie Draft selection no. 40

Also makes a steady stream of Tasmanians we've rookied recently: Moles, Allwright and now Burbury. Reckon we must have a pretty good scout down there...

Street, Thurley, Grima, Garth.

Some trend for Burbury to break. Haven't had a lot of luck drafting the Tassie boys.

If you get one Rookie up from a draft - you have done well IMO.

We just need Walker to make it and we have very, very well.

And I reckon were due !

Welcome Ms Burbury!

Tell us what type of player your brother is. I notice that the Mercury article describes him as a "utility", which would fit with Wells' penchant for versatile players.

Not sure if its his brother or cousin i played alongside...but definitely from good stock - all round achievers with great attitudes and great smarts. Is one of those kids that will make you envious because there so ****ing good at everything!!! Good pick up for sure!

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2010/12/08/191761_sport-news.html

"I really enjoyed training with St Kilda," he said.
"It was a real eye-opener as to what you've got to do to make it.
"It's pretty unexpected to go to Geelong but it's exciting and we'll see what comes of it.
"I had an interview with Geelong at the Tassie state screening but other than that, hadn't heard anything.
"Geelong is a good club, a pretty exciting club to go to."
Burbury, who has just finished his Year 12 school exams, will relocate to Geelong next week.

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2010/12/08/191761_sport-news.html

"I really enjoyed training with St Kilda," he said.
"It was a real eye-opener as to what you've got to do to make it.
"It's pretty unexpected to go to Geelong but it's exciting and we'll see what comes of it.
"I had an interview with Geelong at the Tassie state screening but other than that, hadn't heard anything.
"Geelong is a good club, a pretty exciting club to go to."
Burbury, who has just finished his Year 12 school exams, will relocate to Geelong next week.

Podsiadly?

Yes RH - he will be a successful Rookie for us - well he already really has made that step IMO.

But Pods is sort of different being a mature age Rookie - to these 18 / 19 y.o. Rookies.

But yes I had forgotten all about Pods when I made the statement we were due for a Rookie to come good.

Now I am looking forward to another making it over the next 2 seasons.

If I had a choice it would be a tall KP Rookie - but as I have stated before if you get any up and play 100 games in the seniors you have done very well.

Fear not Bel, Jack Weston and Ben C Johnson will fulfill your need for "rookies to make it". Here's hoping this year's rookies might end up doing the same.

Burbury is no longer our "mystery forward" because there's finally a pic of him in the hoops on the website (good to also finally see Bathie on the playing list, I was worried we had sent him overseas or something because he wasn't on the website :D).

Fear not Bel, Jack Weston and Ben C Johnson will fulfill your need for "rookies to make it". Here's hoping this year's rookies might end up doing the same.

Footy is a bit slow at the present - so PO please give me a bit of a run down on Weston and Ben Johnson please. Just like to think we have some up and comers in the twos - just needing a couple of seasons to get up to speed.

I have read a few others on this Board that have written good things about Weston - and I read somewhere that the GFC have high hopes for Ben Johnson. So your report on their progress would be good to read.

I just hope we sign them up well before GWS can do another Mumford to us.

Footy is a bit slow at the present - so PO please give me a bit of a run down on Weston and Ben Johnson please. Just like to think we have some up and comers in the twos - just needing a couple of seasons to get up to speed.

I have read a few others on this Board that have written good things about Weston - and I read somewhere that the GFC have high hopes for Ben Johnson. So your report on their progress would be good to read.

I just hope we sign them up well before GWS can do another Mumford to us.

Weston is like THunt, just as quick, provides great run out of the back half, takes the game on etc. Played some good games the back half of the year. Should be ready by this time next year I reckon.

Ben Johnson is a really good mark (well not as great as Pods, but no one is, BCJ is still a pretty good mark), good skills, covers the ground well and is reasonably agile for his size. Was our leading goalkicker in 2010 so had a good year, and I reckon would be ready to step in this year if an injury crisis necessitated it.

I think it's pretty clear from the player review and general coaches comments across the year that they really rate both and plan to elevate them for 2012. And we certainly need more quick guys such as Weston, and any potential KPP is something we need too, so both can fill a need for us.

Thanks PO.

I like hearing that Weston has some pace about him - that is something we can use.

And also good to hear that we have a decent sized player who can take a grab in B. Johnson.

I look forward to seeing them at sometime making a debut.

If we add Duncan, THunt and Menzel as well to the list we have appear to have some good prospects for the future.

I like the idea of THunt and Weston making it as they really were fairly rank outsiders to do so, given their position in the draft. Picks like like this give you hope that other late draft picks/rookies that we have just selected this year - might also just make it (like Walker and Schroder).

I for one would really like to see big Dawson Simpson make some headway and get a few games in the firsts - but not sure he is anywhere near as likely as those players mentioned above. We have a real need for a tall ruckman who can seriously compete and take an over head mark.

Thanks PO.

I like hearing that Weston has some pace about him - that is something we can use.

And also good to hear that we have a decent sized player who can take a grab in B. Johnson.

I look forward to seeing them at sometime making a debut.

If we add Duncan, THunt and Menzel as well to the list we have appear to have some good prospects for the future.

I like the idea of THunt and Weston making it as they really were fairly rank outsiders to do so, given their position in the draft. Picks like like this give you hope that other late draft picks/rookies that we have just selected this year - might also just make it (like Walker and Schroder).

I for one would really like to see big Dawson Simpson make some headway and get a few games in the firsts - but not sure he is anywhere near as likely as those players mentioned above. We have a real need for a tall ruckman who can seriously compete and take an over head mark.

I too would like to see Dawson make the grade - but I'm wondering if the aerobic demands of ruckman under the new rule will be too much for him?

The other concern I have is with his marking - I seem to recall that he had a tendency to drop them in the couple of games I saw, although that's probably not fair assessment as I've only seen him play once or twice.

Thanks PO.

I have high hopes for Weston.

I saw him make a dash late in the season along the Moorabool street wing where he kicked a lovely goal at the river end. He has good pace, but steadies before disposing of the pill. He is a reasonable height at 189cm (think Max Rooke, Cam Ling height) and I think that he has the ability to play forward or defense.

If the back end of his 2010 season is any indication of what he is capable of in 2011, then he may find himself an AFL player in 2012.

God knows we could do with some pace coming out of half back.

These height and weight measurements are from when george was in u/16's

He now weights 80kg and is 186cm tall.

The footy club on his profile has George at 78 kgs and 186cms.

Good to hear he is bulking up quickly then. I would recon his sister would have more up to date figures than whatever the club gets round to posting on the internet. Or she might be rounding. Either way, if his history is rowing then the upper body and core strength is already there. Also, I just read that he is supposed to have a big engine, which you would expect for an elite endurance athlete. A year or two in the system to learn all the pure football tricks and you have the makings of a good rookie.

Look forward to following this guy through the year.

http://www.geelongcats.com.au/geelongnews/newsarticle/tabid/3933/newsid/109057/default.aspx

GEELONG rookie George Burbury has emerged as one to watch for Dream Team players after an impressive performance in the Cats' NAB Challenge loss to Port Adelaide at AAMI Stadium last weekend.

The 18-year-old Tasmanian impressed both teammates and coaches alike with his effort against the Power, and his chances of being promoted to the senior list during the season have improved as a result.