Player Watch #34: Liam McBean

Will McBean be an AFL standard forward for Richmond ( 150 + games)

• No

• Yes

Results are only viewable after voting.

Yeah I get that and happy to play the kid, but unless he starts putting on bulk and taking grabs he is no good to us. No point having a crumbing 202cm player.

Fair point about size, he does need to put on more will somewhat take away from his mobility but on the flip side will make up for it on one on one contests....

McBean is an odd one... As a 32 yo bloke who has struggled to put on weight (except the last year where my metabolism has calmed down) all my life, I know how bloody hard it is even when scoffing 6 meals, protein shakes and daily weights sessions. I don't necessarily blame the fitness staff for mcbean as some bodies just don't want to put on size and definition especially when you throw in a lot of cardio into the equation.

But he needs to find a few tricks quickly as beating up on vfl standard defenders isn't going to cut it. he need to become a tackling machine in the forward half

I hear what ur saying about weight gain but mcbean has put on since he arrived about 15 kgs, happy to stand corrected if wrong...
But he does need to get bigger if he is to play in the ruck also, maybe another 5-7 kilos of muscle...And i do blame the fitness/conditioning staff as thats their job, its not only him many of our players arent physically stronger than some other players from other clubs....

I do think we need a change in this dept as seasons end....

So yes ok u are stating the dogs game where i was talking bout the ess game fair enough but u obviously knew i was talking bout the ess game cause someone who is having a crack at a 3rd gamer (dogs game) would surely know beanies stats from yesterday...So instead of simply saying hey man think ur got ur games crossed u come huffing n puffing like some big shot...

So u viewed beanies game as very poor against the dogs ffs its his 3rd game first game in a year, 200cm+ with little senior experience most know he needs a run of games maybe when he's played 20 or 30 we can ascertain better.
Look at Griff was gifted soo many games early on but he was given those multiple chances and is looking good...Time will tell on Liam I'm just happy he's getting game time the rest is up to him....

No need to be calling anyone idiot especially when an honest mistake of discussing a players output on different games, you're obviously not intellectually capable of having a meaningful discussion but u pride urself on having a crack at posters and ive seen these posts on the crowds board (the footy industry), membership board etc so if u wanna debate all good but if u wanna keep going on with name calling etc by all means PM happy to discuss this any which way u want...

It was pretty obvious I was discussing the game last week, given the post was a week old and there were a fair number after it.

You had a dig at me though for the same reason others did, you think the guy is immune to criticism

He did have a very poor game, but as I also said from the start, ty was just as bad so regardless mcbean deserved to keep his spot. Also very poor isn't a massive slam. I didn't call it horrid, putrid, or some of the stuff others have said about broad Lennon Lambert and even recently rioli. He had no impact on the game, and didn't even provide a decent foil or defensive roll. That's not a good game or even an adequate one.

And playing three games doesn't change that. It does change how we respond and react to it (ie he does get more leeway rightly), but it doesn't change how effective the performance was.

You started with the personal stuff BTW, I was responding in kind

We have to give him a decent go at it.
Like some i think it is looking grim for Bean. Has not done a lot and as stated in another post he is way off the mark physically.

My preference was to throw Callum Moore in the deep end and give him 4 or 5 games because he is a totally different type of tall.
Thing is we have started to play the Beaner so lets give him plenty of opportunity and see if he can offer something.
What do we have to lose ? Simple answer to that is nothing, losing 4 points in the home and away matters little for us atm.

It was pretty obvious I was discussing the game last week, given the post was a week old and there were a fair number after it.

You had a dig at me though for the same reason others did, you think the guy is immune to criticism

He did have a very poor game, but as I also said from the start, ty was just as bad so regardless mcbean deserved to keep his spot. Also very poor isn't a massive slam. I didn't call it horrid, putrid, or some of the stuff others have said about broad Lennon Lambert and even recently rioli. He had no impact on the game, and didn't even provide a decent foil or defensive roll. That's not a good game or even an adequate one.

And playing three games doesn't change that. It does change how we respond and react to it (ie he does get more leeway rightly), but it doesn't change how effective the performance was.

You started with the personal stuff BTW, I was responding in kind

Actually no it wasn't obvious i hadn't read through it all and that's being honest.
I only had a crack in defence but k lets leave that there...
Trust me on this if Liam had played 30 games and his output was pitiful ill be pointing that out like i do with Ty, all im saying is he has played 3 games (up to that dogs game) we need to cut these players some slack...

Lennon has been unfairly treated imo but i think he too will get his chance in the coming week or 2 has played well last few weeks, on ball too, guess he needed to add another string to his bow....

Lambert deserved criticism more so that he didn't just stink it up for one or 2 games it was like 8-9 straight well 1-2 good games out of say 10-12...

Against ess i was on the AFL members wing and mcbean was leading up half fwd/wing and marking several times, he chased his opponents like buckery he didnt catch em but he chased that i liked and he's movement around the fwd 50 was good...

v the dogs he was so so maybe even lost but i looked at that game hey great he's now getting his chance he needs as u said some leeway more so to get up to speed of playing in the seniors...

Like some i think it is looking grim for Bean. Has not done a lot and as stated in another post he is way off the mark physically.

My preference was to throw Callum Moore in the deep end and give him 4 or 5 games because he is a totally different type of tall.
Thing is we have started to play the Beaner so lets give him plenty of opportunity and see if he can offer something.
What do we have to lose ? Simple answer to that is nothing, losing 4 points in the home and away matters little for us atm.
I'm all for having a look at everyone on our list. But I reckon the McBean issue ~ keep him or trade him/delist him ~ is one of the more critical list decisions we have to make. Hate to get it wrong and get rid of him & he blossoms. So we must play him every game, see if he can take Vickery's place and improve on what TV has been dishing out

We have time with Moore.

I hear what ur saying about weight gain but mcbean has put on since he arrived about 15 kgs, happy to stand corrected if wrong...
But he does need to get bigger if he is to play in the ruck also, maybe another 5-7 kilos of muscle...And i do blame the fitness/conditioning staff as thats their job, its not only him many of our players arent physically stronger than some other players from other clubs....

I do think we need a change in this dept as seasons end....

Yeah agree we need a change for sure... I don't think we're that undersized but when we have blokes like mcbean Menadue Markov and short in the same team, we will look under sized and wearing black is more slimming.... Please don't laugh Haha

I'm all for having a look at everyone on our list. But I reckon the McBean issue ~ keep him or trade him/delist him ~ is one of the more critical list decisions we have to make. Hate to get it wrong and get rid of him & he blossoms. So we must play him every game, see if he can take Vickery's place and improve on what TV has been dishing out

We have time with Moore.
With Griffiths Vickery McBean and now Chol, at seasons end i am all for off loading one of them. But over the next couple of seasons im all for offloading two. We THEN go and get some more traditionally sized key forwards rather than having so many what is effectively 200cm fwd /rucks.

To me if i have a 200cm kpf i want him to be a very good contested mark and crash packs.I have always felt Griffiths is the most likely in doing this.
F/F really is Griffiths position it always has been, yet for some reason we have failed to play and properly develop him there.
Trouble is Griffiths has been a chronic underachiever and just too inconsistent it really is time for him to become a good consistent afl player or we will be looking to get rid of him as well.He is no longer a kid and he really MUST play good footy on a regular basis rather than the odd cameo that we are still getting from him.

On Moore just play him even as a hff atm.I really think Callum will surprise playing at senior level.Again the season is shot we have nothing to lose and everything to gain.Callum unlke the other kpf's we have is genuinely quick and agile and a super strong mark which is exactly what Vickery and McBean lack atm.

Yeah agree we need a change for sure... I don't think we're that undersized but when we have blokes like mcbean Menadue Markov and short in the same team, we will look under sized and wearing black is more slimming.... Please don't laugh Haha

Can add in Shane Edwards too, grimes also but he defies his size with those octopus arms and is relatively strong...

Just another thing.
Imo the three tall structure has failed for us because of the types we play in the roles and their attributes.

Replacing Vickery with McBean imo is not the answer not when you also have Griffiths at 200cm and JR at 195cm who is not the quickest hombre going around.It makes for a really slow and cumbersome fwd half and the fwd problems are exacerbated if those talls cant take a contested mark or crash a pack ie Bean and TV.

I have said this a lot of times, say JR got injured there is no way we will play any three of Vickery 200cm ,Griffiths200c McBean 200cm and now Chol 199cm in the one fwd line. We really do need to find a different type of tall. They are all just too similar.
At the moment jack is the diferent type of tall we have yet he is slow. Jr is such a good player because of his footy smarts and works hard.

I think the type of structure we need to be looking at is Jr 195cm hit up fwd. Griffiths 200cm genuine f/f who is basically our power fwd.
C Moore a 193cm strong marking very quick and agile third tall type who attacks the ball hard..Get on leads into space he would be an absolute handful and defenses would suddenly be looking to fill holes.
It is much shorter but much quicker and imo a stronger aerial threat. all will work hard without the ball and all will tackle and apply pressure.

Just another thing.

I think the type of structure we need to be looking at is Jr 195cm hit up fwd. Griffiths 200cm genuine f/f who is basically our power fwd.
C Moore a 193cm strong marking very quick and agile third tall type who attacks the ball hard..Get on leads into space he would be an absolute handful and defenses would suddenly be looking to fill holes.
It is much shorter but much quicker and imo a stronger aerial threat. all will work hard without the ball and all will tackle and apply pressure.

I like c.moore too only thing he could brush up on is his kicking....
Mcbean im happy for him to have a run of games i still think he can be a valuable player but as stated if he's played 30-40 games and not providing what we hoped then well its sayonara!!!

C.Moore and Mabior Chol are waiting in the wings, Griff as a FF is where its at for him...Ty given more than enough chances he will go imo and im happy for him to go anywhere and also hope he gets a paid a truck load to improve our compo pick...
I dont know his $$$ contract at Richmond but no doubt would be in the upper echelon of the highest paid players at the club...

Not sure the bean wants it enough. Looks lazy and lost out there. Bot strong enough as a tall. Not fast enough as a small. Doesnt get enough ball. Not sure what he offers really
I think that the Bean has #eco

Quite funny reading this thread. Bean is not setting the world on fir but **** me, the dude competes in contests and actually gets the ball to drop front and centre and hussles and bussles to get at least a 0.5%er. IMO ****ing heaps to work with and work on and persevere after the nothingness of the witches hat he took over from. IMO there is a direct connection with Bean helping out in the ruck and Hampson actually taking a mark or 3.

I think he will get another game, then they will give Moore a crack.

Quite funny reading this thread. Bean is not setting the world on fir but **** me, the dude competes in contests and actually gets the ball to drop front and centre and hussles and bussles to get at least a 0.5%er. IMO ******* heaps to work with and work on and persevere after the nothingness of the witches hat he took over from. IMO there is a direct connection with Bean helping out in the ruck and Hampson actually taking a mark or 3.

Hahaha righto Robin Hood, draw that long bow son :drunk:

I'll bite, how????

Hahaha righto Robin Hood, draw that long bow son :drunk:

I'll bite, how????

he acctually competes in the ruck and affords Hampson some kind of breather...be it Hampson not having to run forward to take ruck contests, be it at the center bounce, Bean does affect the contest and Hamspon can play a kick behind the ball which makes life a little easier for him mark wise.

Not sure the bean wants it enough. Looks lazy and lost out there. Bot strong enough as a tall. Not fast enough as a small. Doesnt get enough ball. Not sure what he offers really

That's pretty much me in a nutshell, I just don't get the fuss. He maybe McJesus but right now if someone offered a second rounder for him I couldn't sign quick enough.

Fully agree

he acctually competes in the ruck and affords Hampson some kind of breather...be it Hampson not having to run forward to take ruck contests, be it at the center bounce, Bean does affect the contest and Hamspon can play a kick behind the ball which makes life a little easier for him mark wise.
Those same allowances were made even with Ty in the team.

I havent seen anything to get me excited, but he has been no worse than Ty was in the past 2 months, so atleast we are losing nothing by giving him a go. Need to remember he has played 5 mins of senior footy and atleast wait until the end of the year to see what he has got.

Those same allowances were made even with Ty in the team.

Yes but when Ty was in the team he was doing SFA in the ruck contests which had Hamspon having to get to them in the FL. There wasnt even a ****ing contest to suggest ok, we can at least halve it into a pack play, it was continually swept away at will..Bean doesnt afford them that ease..well IMO anyway, hence Hamspon can float across the next kick away area..

Player Watch #34: Liam McBean