Past #37: Kyron Hayden - delisted end '22 - 12 NM games/ 0 NM goals - thanks Ronny

Really tough getting this in his debut - at least when McKay got knocked out in theory he could come back a week later. Crossing everything I have for a great recovery. Seemed very comfortable with the pace of the game on Saturday.

Waussie

Nov 26, 2017
Really tough getting this in his debut - at least when McKay got knocked out in theory he could come back a week later. Crossing everything I have for a great recovery. Seemed very comfortable with the pace of the game on Saturday.
Yep after being around elite footy players a number of years, you can watch them for a while and pick em. So much to look for, fitness, fundamentals,vision, power, brain, attitude and what a lot of the indigenous blokes have that I call flare. Not saying I'm always right.

Kimbo

Veteran 10k Posts
Dec 14, 2002
Sturt, Liverpool
Yep after being around elite footy players a number of years, you can watch them for a while and pick em. So much to look for, fitness, fundamentals,vision, power, brain, attitude and what a lot of the indigenous blokes have that I call flare. Not saying I'm always right.
No, you're right. Look at the flares on this brother...

70s-afro-disco-men-350x468.jpg

Dec 29, 2008
Mornington Peninsula
Hey everyone,

Sorry to hear about Kyron and his ruptured Achilles. I remember watching his highlights the day he was drafted by North and was very impressed by his athletic ability. Hope to see hi out there again next year at full capacity.

If anyone's interested in understanding Achilles issues, I'm a Physio whose passionate about trying to understand why they happen - beyond all the cliche's of overuse, training surface, bad luck etc. I've put together some thoughts on what I find to be the mechanical cause of Achilles issues, with a focus on Tendonitis more than anything. Hope it's appropriate to post and happy to answer any questions.

http://yourwellnessnerd.com/achilles-tendonitis/

Themanbun

Apr 19, 2019
Hey everyone,

Sorry to hear about Kyron and his ruptured Achilles. I remember watching his highlights the day he was drafted by North and was very impressed by his athletic ability. Hope to see hi out there again next year at full capacity.

If anyone's interested in understanding Achilles issues, I'm a Physio whose passionate about trying to understand why they happen - beyond all the cliche's of overuse, training surface, bad luck etc. I've put together some thoughts on what I find to be the mechanical cause of Achilles issues, with a focus on Tendonitis more than anything. Hope it's appropriate to post and happy to answer any questions.

This is really neat. Thanks mate.

Apr 24, 2013
Arden Street Hill
Essendon Lawn Bowls Club
I spent two years with a physio who specialises in Achilles rehab and injury prevention and he drummed into me that stretching wasn’t necessary but strength work was.

That's sorta stretching anyway.

A quick warm up helps, but I reckon there's a lot of overblown crap about stretching.

That's sorta stretching anyway.

A quick warm up helps, but I reckon there's a lot of overblown crap about stretching.

He very specifically asked me not to stretch it again and instead had me doing all manner of specific Achilles strengthening exercises. I hated going to see him as it was a full on workout in business clothes. It worked anyway.

Hey everyone,

Described every symptom/sign I've had for the last 18 months on my left Achilles. Not on Brisbane at all?

On SM-G965F using BigFooty.com mobile app

He very specifically asked me not to stretch it again and instead had me doing all manner of specific Achilles strengthening exercises. I hated going to see him as it was a full on workout in business clothes. It worked anyway.
Would love a PM with some info on the exercises TT

On SM-G965F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Dec 29, 2008
Mornington Peninsula
I spent two years with a physio who specialises in Achilles rehab and injury prevention and he drummed into me that stretching wasn’t necessary but strength work was.
I agree with you mate. Traditional stretching doesnt really do much of anything to be fair - not just for Achilles. The passive stretch holds we've always spruiked just dont make the genuine change we all hope for to tight muscles. The key difference here is that for the most part I'm talking about joint mobilization with something like a band - which genuinely works.

For the rest we're looking at something like PNF stretching which is more of an active "contract-relax" type technique. Again this is where the gains happen compared to basic traditional stretch "holds".

Without wanting to go off on a tangent I speak about the difference in detail here:

The key with Kyron is that from what I can see as an outsider looking in there are some mechanical issues that potentially underpinned his injury - despite being a great athlete and physical specimen.

After reading two days of posts on how ruthless we will be this trade period. does Kyron get another Rookie contract?
An elevation to the seniors, maybe. Spent a lot of time learning the run with roll, was ok on Pendlebury until he did his achilles. Seems like he would be more likely to get on the park than Jacobs, imo.