ClarkeM

Either a dickhead or an idiot or both
shawry3.gif
Heath Shaw
hshaw.jpg

Heath Shaw (born November 27, 1985) is an Australian rules footballer in the Australian Football League
After being drafted under the father-son rule in the 2003 AFL Draft at pick 48, Heath made his AFL debut in 2005 against St Kilda at the Telstra Dome. He was a solid contributor since making his debut, with his best game being his first. A running defender, Heath has pace and good ball skills which can make him into a good footballer. He played all possible remaining 6 games of the season and kicked his first goal against Adelaide in a game that saw Collingwood lose by more than 100 points.

2006 season

Heath had a stunning 2006 season where he became quickly noted for his ball winning ability out of the back-line and his consistency and reliability which was a key to the success of the Magpies. Heath played 22 games, with his first being in Round 2 against Hawthorn after being a late replacement for Scott Burns. Shaw had played for VFL affiliate Williamstown, where he had 30 touches in wet and windy conditions, only 24 hours before his call up. Shaw kept his spot for the rest of the season, building game-time each week early on to becoming a valuable player to the side. In Round 4 on ANZAC Day against Essendon he had 23 touches and 10 marks, and in the following week he won a AFL Rising Star nomination. Shaw had 16 games with 18 or more disposals during the season, which showed his consistency. He somewhat tailed off at the end of the season, but still was effective with his 1%ers. Shaws ended up having 448 disposals (313 kicks, 135 handballs) at an average of more than 20 touches a game. His best game being against Port Adelaide where he had 27 kicks, 6 handballs, 11 marks and kicked a fantastic goal in a thriller at AAMI Stadium. Heath also had 160 marks and accumulated 2210 Champion Data ranking points at an average of 100, and was ranked inside the top 10 in a game on 13 occasions, including 2 no.1 game rankings.
Shaw played in his first final against the Western Bulldogs, but sadly Collingwood lost. Shaw also came third in the 2006 AFL Rising Star behind Danyle Pearce of Port Adelaide Power and Andrew Raines of the Richmond Tigers. Shaw also polled six votes in the 2006 Brownlow Medal, including a game high of three votes in the Round 12 game against the Sydney Swans. Shaw also placed fourth in the 2006 Copeland Trophy.

2007 Season

Shaw started the season in great fashion. He would have a solid pre-season and then become one of the players of the first quarter of the year; leading the league in kicks (114 @ 19.0) after round 6. He had an extraordinary opening game of the season, where he had 27 touches, and collected two Brownlow votes despite having 13 clangers and giving a 50m penalty which resulted in a Shannon Grant controversial miss. On ANZAC Day, Shaw would put on a show of courage and determination in where he won the ANZAC Day Medal, racking up 23 kicks, 9 handballs and 13 marks against the Bombers. Essendon coach Kevin Sheedy labeled the Shaw boys as trouble and a pair that needed to be stopped. Heath would be on notice by opposition coaches for the majority of the season, with taggers Kane Cornes and Kane Johnson to name a few would be told to restrict his run off half-back. Shaw's All-Australian form would deteriorate with the extra attention, as well as a corked thigh/quad he encountered against Fremantle in round ten. He would be heavily bandaged on his left leg for the rest of the season.
Shaw played an exciting brand of footy late in the season, including a good finals series. He would have 25 disposals in the losing preliminary final in which the club lost to the eventual premiers, Geelong by five points. Shaw would poll seven votes in the Brownlow Medal, as well as finish equal fourth (fifth on the new countback system) in the Copeland Trophy. Shaws absence from the All-Australian squad puzzled the public, but wasn't nominated by the club to selectors. He averaged 19.5 disposals a game

Family Relations

Heath is the son of former captain Ray Shaw, and brother of Rhyce. He is also the nephew of premiership captain and Norm Smith Medallist, Tony Shaw and former Collingwood player Neville Shaw. His cousin, Brayden (son of Tony) was drafted in the same year as Heath, but failed to play a game before being delisted in 2005.​

__Heath_Shaw_135px.jpg

Heath Shaw

Fast Facts

Jumper No: 39
Height: 182cm
Weight: 82kg
DOB: 27 November 1985
Recruited From: Diamond Creek/Northern U18
Career Matches: 53
Career Goals: 12 (career matches/goals at the end of the 2007 season)

2007 Home & Away Totals

Matches: 22
Goals: 2
Marks: 146
Disposals: 426
Kicks: 321
About

In his third season on the list after making his debut and managing six games in 2005, the former father-son selection was one of the most improved players in the competition, eventually finishing fourth in the EW Copeland Trophy voting. Came into the side for his first game for season 2006 in round two against Hawthorn as a late replacement for Scott Burns, after playing the day before for Williamstown, and from there didn’t look back, playing every remaining game and finishing third in the AFL Rising Star award. Averaged just over 20 disposals per game running off half back, and had the third most kicks at the club (313). The younger brother of Rhyce has shown he has a huge future with the Magpies.

Records

Brownlow Medal:
2006 votes 6; career votes 6

Draft history
2003 AFL Draft 3rd round father-son selection (Collingwood) No. 48 overall.

Jock McHale Trophy (4th best and fairest) 2006 (equal)
Gavin Brown Award (most courageous) 2006
Phose Kyne Award (services to the club) 2006

AFL
AFL Rising Star Nominee 2006
3rd AFL Rising Star Award 2006

Debut:
Round 17, 2005 v St Kilda @ Telstra Dome

A quote from Strauchanie's book 'Bryan Strauchan: My Story' about Heath.

"39. Heath Shaw - Heath 'R U' Shaw has been a revelation because, to be honest, we all thought he was going to be a bit shit. Look at him now, he should be All Australian this year. Years ago, after training one night, I remember saying to Mick "Cut him, cut him now", to which Mick replied, "You ran all this way to tell me that?". But Mick persevered and the rewards have been pleanty."

:D

I actually bought it for my Dad for fathers day but he doesn't read much so I read it instead. (I don't even think he wanted it TBH lol)

And what are you buying your father for Christmas, MagpieGirl 13, a poster of Dale Thomas? I'm sure he'd love that.:p

Anyway, here's Heath with two of the greats.
727w5xv.jpg

I reckon this layout isnt too bad.

Anyways...

What i think about Shawy,

Commitment is what comes into mind when i hear or see the name shaw. My automatic response has now changed to heath after succeeding Tony (his Uncle).
Heath has the athletical movement like no other player in the AFL and can play almost anywhere on the field even though we havnt been shown. I think Heath has been one of our greatest improvers of 2007 and he will continue to show his dominance on the half back line throughout his career.

He has to stay a Collingwood man just so he can prove himself what he is capable of acheiving.
Good luck Heath!

I reckon this layout isnt too bad.

Anyways...

What i think about Shawy,

Commitment is what comes into mind when i hear or see the name shaw. My automatic response has now changed to heath after succeeding Tony (his Uncle).
Heath has the athletical movement like no other player in the AFL and can play almost anywhere on the field even though we havnt been shown. I think Heath has been one of our greatest improvers of 2007 and he will continue to show his dominance on the half back line throughout his career.

He has to stay a Collingwood man just so he can prove himself what he is capable of acheiving.
Good luck Heath!

No worries there. Can't even conceive of him going elsewhere. We wouldn't let him.

MY locker number was #39 this year but it was a bottom locker sadly.
I moved to a top locker (16) because i can't bend over to use the bottom one cause i broke my leg:thumbsu:.

MY locker number was #39 this year but it was a bottom locker sadly.
I moved to a top locker (16) because i can't bend over to use the bottom one cause i broke my leg:thumbsu:.

When did you break your leg? And how has that affected your various, and sometimes quite novel sporting activites? A very thin line to Heater here.:p

August 06 but its still buggered. broke the femur behind the kness thus creating pain when i am bending it and putting pressure on it.

You didn't say how you did it. Was it the frisbee?:D

Back on topic - what would we have done without Heath in Dubai?

Heater - Keeping the Team Red-Hot.:p

Scotty - a brilliant story, and so well written. Would make a terrific teen short novel. Just expand it a bit and write it up. Just think, Heath may be a great footballer, but he's never had that experience (thank god) and he wouldn't be able to write a story like that. There's an upside to everything.

im sick of heater being tagged! as soon as he runs off the backline his direct oponent is breathing down his neck! cant they rely on there midfielders to stop heath and get a quik break,? he is my fav player and it sucks watching him wen he only gets a few possesions!
his 2 goals today were great :)

do you guys think he will captain collingwood some day?