Past #39: Tom McKenzie - will play for NMFC VFL team

Heaps of fun

Goatered on the sticks
Sep 13, 2013
Obvious re-sign unless his back is gonna keep him out for another year, then you'd move on. Good prospect but losing development time hurts him going forward.

koshari

Mar 24, 2011
You re-sign Tom, you might miss out on the next 32 yo Farren Ray.
he was worth it for nickname alone, gotta love the Fazz-Razz

5405060-limpiador-de-hornos-razzfazz.jpg

Nov 14, 2012
Gold Coast
Doutta "Porn" Stars

Lightning quick midfielder who can also play across half-back. Sets up the play with his run and kicking. Demonstrated his speed at the NAB AFL Draft Combine, where he recorded the best 20m sprint time. Displays his footy smarts to win the ball and also uses it well. Was impressive for Vic Metro against Vic Country at the MCG. Composed player with good distribution by hand using his vision and awareness.

Sounds great. Wonder if he’ll ever play a game? Did he have a brother at the club a few years back - a bit slow but a a nice kick. I’ve been whacking my brain trying to remember his first name.

Apr 17, 2007
melb home of the kangas
hellas,liverpool,storm,au
Reckon he is cooked our rookies next year will be Hosie, Hayden, Murphy and the last rookie spot would be either this guy or a round 1 rookie draft pick

And I reckon I’d back a new bloke in who is healthy ready to go day 1 for a full preseason

I’d delist Murphy - he’s not up to it.
Only thing he has going for him is a good kick.
He’s slow , doesn’t get it enough and no urgency

Apr 24, 2013
Arden Street Hill
Essendon Lawn Bowls Club
If you delisted Murphy based on this then you might has well delisted half the list. Murphy’s kicking is exactly what we need coming off half back.

It's not that simple mate.

Kicking doesn't come in to it when you aren't tall enough or quick enough to get the ball.

Brad McKenzie was an even better kick.

Pykie

10k Posts A Star Wars Fan Pokemon is Life North Melbourne - North 2007 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2013 Daw, Black and Gibson Player Sponsorship
Sep 17, 2006
Lord's
Leeds United
If you delisted Murphy based on this then you might has well delisted half the list. Murphy’s kicking is exactly what we need coming off half back.

McKenzie is an equally good kick.

He was one of the best kicks in the entire draft pool last year. Might not have Murphy’s penetration but probably more accurate.

Had the best kicking efficiency in the TAC Cup last year and he played a % of the year as an inside mid.

Apr 24, 2013
Arden Street Hill
Essendon Lawn Bowls Club
McKenzie is an equally good kick.

He was one of the best kicks in the entire draft pool last year. Might not have Murphy’s penetration but probably more accurate.

Had the best kicking efficiency in the TAC Cup last year and he played a % of the year as an inside mid.

I actually think he still could have played AFL in a side like Hawthorn.

We just didn't suit him.

Sep 21, 2008
Vic
Tom Murphy isn't going anywhere. Shaw said in the pre-season last year that he was a big fan of his progression.

It would be very stiff to cut McKenzie, but if we feel there is someone better available then we have to do whats right for the club.

Could always have him continue to train with the VFL side with the intention of picking him up in the Mid Year draft if he makes progress from his back injury.

Pykie

10k Posts A Star Wars Fan Pokemon is Life North Melbourne - North 2007 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2013 Daw, Black and Gibson Player Sponsorship
Sep 17, 2006
Lord's
Leeds United
I actually think he still could have played AFL in a side like Hawthorn.

We just didn't suit him.

I was referring to Tom McKenzie, not Brad.

Apr 17, 2007
melb home of the kangas
hellas,liverpool,storm,au
It's not that simple mate.

Kicking doesn't come in to it when you aren't tall enough or quick enough to get the ball.

Brad McKenzie was an even better kick.

What snake said

If you can’t get it - you’re useless to the side if kicking is practically your only strength.
I’d love this guy to make me look like an idiot as it’s one of our glaring weaknesses but unfortunately I don’t think so