3aw, MMM or 3LO

• Thread starter Thread starter Michael23

Michael23

Just want to know what all the Big Footy fans thinks what is the best radio station in melbourne to listen to on the weekend whether your teams plays or not...As for me im am a 3aw fan..I love sundays with Rohan Connolly...I dont mind mmm when dermie isnt there..His dribble sometimes is too boring for me...I try to listen to 3LO once in a while..Tim Lane is great football commentator and I love listening to Stan Alves....I didnt knwo how to do a Voting pole...So if anyone can tell me that would be great/...

AW rules supreme...be it the morning show with Ross and John..to Neil Mitchell, to ernie in the arvo..to dickhead steve price to the sportshow with gerard healy hooksey and and gary lyon to bruce and phil...and lets not forget nightline with alan pearsal...oh keith magowan is gay!

The review on Sunday afternoon on 3AW immediately after 12 is excellent, before Rex comes in and takes over and we are back to Rex promoting himself.
Triple MMM is usually pretty good, except for Dermie & Sam. Has anyone ever noticed how many predications Dermie makes in a game that never eventuate. He'll say "Thompson will be the target for this kickout", as if he has great insight, and the ball goes nowhere near him, yet nobody ever mentions it. On the odd occasion he guesses one right, he is considered to be so analytical. I would be too, if I had that many tries at it.
Sam is now playing the fool, and rarely has something worthwhile to say.
I used to be an ABC listener, but for some unknown reason have gone off them.

Yeah the sunday review is excellent on sunday...Clinton Grabarse or whateva his name is quite good as a prensentor and a commentator..He reminds me of Huddo....I cant take Dermie seriously in whateva he says because he said Adelaide and Wce would make the top 8...His dribble is so boring...Maybe him and Dan could get together...Sam was an excellent commentator on 3aw...On MMM he is just used to argue with Dermie and look like an idiot....

i listen to the games through the AFL web-site.

If there's a choice between 3AW and abc.net.au i'll go for the abc - mainly because you can use real player for abc which sounds better, and you can't for 3AW.

I sometimes listen to 630am in Sydney on the weekends.

For pre and post game, I tend to flick between LO and AW depending on the topic of convo.

Must admit that, this season moreso than ever before, Rex's antics are driving me away from AW. Who is this gravel-voiced Peter Beaton character he wants to impersonate every 5 minutes? :confused: Drives me up the proverbial.

I reckon Rohan Connolly's great value on the trans. Love his cynical wit. Tony Shaw oughtta stick to commenting on what's happening ON the field, and not off it; particularly when it comes to AFL membership. Helps if you have a smidgen of knowledge on a topic before you go shooting off at the gob for all to hear.

As for Aunty ABC, I enjoy listening to Stan Alves; his sincerity and passion for football come across loud and clear. Tim's a good caller, but his Carlton bias is seemingly becoming more and more pronounced as each season passes. Not a fan of Dwayne, although his puns tickle the funny bone from time to time. And what's with his Governor Frontbottom laugh?

I rarely venture onto the FM band for footy. BT's a goose, Dermie's a know-it-all, Sam is Sam, and I wouldn't trust Ed as far as I could throw one of his chins.

3AW wins easily. I can't stand Eddie's call of the game. I think Rex is great as well as Robert Walls and Garry Lyon. ABC is OK but can be very boring.

oh.. i've only listened to am630 (here in syd).. sure am pissed when my team isnt the one getting the call... hehe

havent tried the afl.com.au or the 3aw website...
will do so this weekend...

Originally posted by Mr Ripper

As for Aunty ABC, I enjoy listening to Stan Alves; his sincerity and passion for football come across loud and clear. Tim's a good caller, but his Carlton bias is seemingly becoming more and more pronounced as each season passes. B]

I disagree. Any Carlton bias that he shows on radio is almost always tongue in cheek.

I think LO are the best by a street - and I think Rex is the worst caller in football. I don't find him 'entertaining' at all.

I like to know whats going on on the field so I listen to ABC, Rex is a complete dickhead as are most of the on-air 'talent' at 3aw-both in football and during the week. Why would anybody listen to self serving and self-opinionated windbags like Price and Mitchell is beyond me. Although it does explain a lot about FitzroyJamesDio and his opinions if thats what he spends his time doing.

3LO is easily the best for any non-Carlton game.

But for pre-game entertainment you can't go past the 'Coodabeens' on 3AW. Rex Hunt can be tiresome though.

I rate Dermott reasonably highly for his knowledge of the game but McGuire is dreadful.

I like Tim Lane on 3LO and Peter Daicos on 3AW. I don't like MMM much - they carry on about nothing relating to the game and it drives me crazy the way BT always says "MMM 'rocks' football" and they all laugh like they've never heard him say it like that before (and it's not even funny).

Originally posted by TigerTank
3LO is easily the best for any non-Carlton game.

Why non - Carlton games only??

If you think Tim Lane's commentarty is biased then you've been fooled into it - like I said its all tongue in cheek and it never gets in the way of his call.

MMM all the way. Steve Quartermain is my favourite out of all the guys at MMM, the only complaint I have is the same as Kristin - when Brian Taylor says 'Triple M rocks football' and they all laugh as if it's the first time he's said it.
I don't even mind Eddie comentating :eek:

Blues2001 wonders

If you think Tim Lane's commentarty is biased then you've been fooled into it - like I said its all tongue in cheek and it never gets in the way of his call.

Up until a year or two ago, I would have agreed with you; but recently I've noticed Tim's true colours shining through a fraction more obviously thanwhat once was the case.

Went (as a neutral) to the Carlton - Hawthorn match a few weeks ago and thought Tim's commentary wasn't dissimilar to how Landy used to call Hawthorn games on the rare accasion they were gettin' done. Had that tinge of bitterness and disappointment in his voice. He also went off his nut about a couple of umpiring decisions that went against the Blues; decisions that, to my eyes, were quite correct.

I prefer MMM, I just find the commentary more fun. And I guess it's just me, I giggle inanely every time BT does that ' Triple M rocks football' thing, perhaps I'm just letting go of the stresses of the week? :D Yeah right. hehehe. But yeah. I prefer listening to Quarters and BT, but find Eddie and Sam amusing on occasion.

Originally posted by Blues2001

Because Tim is biased towards Carlton. He's not the worst I've heard though. That said I'll listen to LO over AW any day. Rex gives me the sh1ts. He thinks he is the entertainment instead of the football.

And if you think it isn't genuine you need to take your Navy Blue & Whiite glasses off :) I've never heard him so disgusted as during the Carlton St Kilda call when he went off tap about a free that didn't go Carlton's way. And no way was what he said tongue in cheek, it was full of passion & outrage, just the way a supporters should and a commentators should not be.

I'm also waiting with baited breath to see if he can work in as many references to last years prelim in this years call as he did last year with '99's :D :D :D :D

Tim does continue the tradition of great sports callers on the ABC. However this year he has been very obvious in his feelings for Carlton. The analogy with Landy and Hawthorn is a good one. A couple of times this year he has gone completely over the top in his criticism of umpiring decisions that have gone against the Blues. I also notice that ABC have also done an inordinate of Carlton games-Maybe that is Carlton have played a lot of saturday arvo games?-but then so have the Bulldogs and we havent been covered by the ABC once on a saturday afternoon.

Having said that the ABC are still by far and away the best in the business. And Tim Lanes knowledge of football is amazing-for a Carlton supporter!

I'm a MMM person. Didn't mind Rex Hunt, until I saw him come out of Waverley one day, two kids were playing kick to kick outside the ground, and he walked into their path and accidently got hit with the footy. Well, he had the foulest mouth I've ever heard in 20 years of going to the football - and it completely changed my perception of him. If Channel 10 / 9 can make Quarters and BT part of their commentary team, they'll do ok.