Player Watch #4: Dustin Martin

I love the comfort the #lolnorf fans are getting from Ralph Carr attending a game.

Despite the fact that he was in Hobart on promotional business, I also note the following:

1. I have sighted Ralph as attending 3 Richmond games this year (note I haven't attended every home game) sitting in the President's Function allocation of level 2 of the Olympic Stand, and I have commented on same;
2. I have sighted Ralph at Punt Rd Training sessions; and
3. I have sighted Ralph in the rooms post game.

I have also sighted Paul Connors and other player managers in attendance including Alex McDonald, who I believe manages Mr Lever at the Crows.

Haere Ra

I love the comfort the #lolnorf fans are getting from Ralph Carr attending a game.

Despite the fact that he was in Hobart on promotional business, I also note the following:

1. I have sighted Ralph as attending 3 Richmond games this year (note I haven't attended every home game) sitting in the President's Function allocation of level 2 of the Olympic Stand, and I have commented on same;
2. I have sighted Ralph at Punt Rd Training sessions; and
3. I have sighted Ralph in the rooms post game.

I have also sighted Paul Connors and other player managers in attendance including Alex McDonald, who I believe manages Mr Lever at the Crows.

Haere Ra

So you're saying we are getting Lever? :P

Richmond finish 2nd
Geelong finish 3rd
Week off after round 23 dusty signs a 6 year deal with us
Cotch b.o.g, Dusty not far behind, Prestia runs with Selwood and destroys him
Richmond win by 5 goals
:fire::'(
Stop. You're getting me hard.

Let the trolls keep playing it's too funny.
Martin might end up leaving Richmond who knows. But I just about wet myself laughing at the notion of Norf fans thinking they are a realistic hope.
Why the **** would anyone go there? I love that they are coming to our board to keep talking about one of our players because they have none worth talking about.
It's even funnier that they've even gone down the self depreciation line.
"Martin will come to us because we are shit and nobody supports us or talks about us, and Dusty likes that".
Just think about how desperate that is.

If our offer is 1.2 million and lolnorf offer 1.3 million and he still decides to leave for norf, then surely we will have to match in order to force a trade. In that scenario we'll either get something back for losing Martin or we keep Martin albeit compromising our list management a bit.

What I'm worried about is if the media reports of the offer being $1.5 million.
Didnt the Ox on SEN report Essendon had tabled a 1.6m a year contract?
Just makes you wonder what these flogs use to take a story to air.

Didnt the Ox on SEN report Essendon had tabled a 1.6m a year contract?
Just makes you wonder what these flogs use to take a story to air.
Essendon have been in contact with Carr about Martin for ages. Since before the season.
But they'd be idiots not to.

Essendon have been in contact with Carr about Martin for ages. Since before the season.
But they'd be idiots not to.
I reckon every AFL club would have enquired about him. Theres no way the bombers could afford a 1.6m a year salary with all their young guns coming up for contract renewals plus they are paying their existing "stars" big dollars.

You've got to remember Essendon don't necessarily always play by the rules.

Martin might end up leaving Richmond who knows. But I just about wet myself laughing at the notion of Norf fans thinking they are a realistic hope.
Why the **** would anyone go there? I love that they are coming to our board to keep talking about one of our players because they have none worth talking about.
"Martin will come to us because we are shit and nobody supports us or talks about us, and Dusty likes that".

He wants to leave a club in Melbourne to get away from the "fishbowl" and move to another club...based in Melbourne

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA #lolnorf

He wants to leave a club in Melbourne to get away from the "fishbowl" and move to another club...based in Melbourne

Yeah Ive explained that Dusty relishs playing for a big club in front of big crowds on the field but hates the attention off the field and in his private life. They don't seem to grasp that concept.

What's dumber about that type of comment is you're not going to pay a player 1.3+ mill and not have him as the face of your club and the main part of marketing.

At Richmond Dusty has Jack, Rance and Cotch to take that sort of exposure off of him.

What's dumber about that type of comment is you're not going to pay a player 1.3+ mill and not have him as the face of your club and the main part of marketing.

At Richmond Dusty has Jack, Rance and Cotch to take that sort of exposure off of him.
Maybe Norf are relocating to Las Vegas. Maybe thats why Dusty is interested.

Carr has told Fairfax that Dusty will make a decision in the break before finals.
That looks good for us. I doubt he would make a decision then, leave us and play finals for us still.
If he was leaving i think they would still say they wont make a decision until after finals

TBF if Martin went to North it'd keep the media attention on them for the off-season but then they'd fade into obscurity again...so you know...not really a fishbowl. ;)

The media will follow Dusty anywhere he goes. If it was WA/SA fishbowl effect there is 10x what it is in Melbourne. In QLD he'd have to be the face of the club. Maybe the Swans and to a lesser extent GWS would he get slightly less media attention.

Talk about trolling your own footy club!

Murley Williams is doing that part of it for him. It's part of the deal.
... I don't eve. ****ing know who Murley Williams is.
Is Murley even a name?