List Mgmt. 4 Talls

• Thread starter Thread starter theGav56

I remember Lloyd saying on the radio a few weeks ago that unless a stand out tall was still around at 13 they would be taking a mid. He said the club had invested in talls in the last two drafts were very happy with what they had. He even named several players.

No way is he or the club going to signal intentions though.

From my reading their is an evenness about the draft picks from 5-20 (ish). Also given the different needs of clubs we are almost certainly going to have a highly rated tall (Goddard, Durdin, Wright) available as well as a highly rated small/medium (de Goey, Duggan, Cockatoo etc). Unless things unfold in an unexpected manner I think we will get the type of player we want.

The thing with talls, is that their are more misses than hits. Midfielders and Flankers you can always get. We need to replacement Johnson, McPharlin, Pavlich, and Samdilands in the next 1-3 years. Need to stockpile bigs as only a few will make it.

It's an interesting draft for us. While we are definitely thin on KPP's who are presently capable at the senior level, Brad Lloyd is correct in pointing out that we have invested in quite a few in the last couple of drafts (i.e. T.Smith, M.Taberner, M.Apeness, A.Pearce). The issue is that it's too early to know whether they will develop. The upcoming draft has been touted since last year as rich with quality talls, so I believe we will again go tall with our first pick as we did last year with Apeness assuming one of the prime targets is still available. The various predictors have us keen on Durdin and perhaps Goddard but not sure what the official line is and we won't know until draft day I gather. Maybe we've been spooked about Wright like others appear to be as he is said to be slipping.

I cannot see us taking another tall with our remaining picks. Again, listening to Lloyd's interview, they are mindful of reinforcing the midfield / engine room.

Who knows, Bondy and the LLoyds (the one in recruitment and the one in development) might combine to just yet deliver Nirvana - the above 4 talls all develop into prime KPP's and we snare another in this draft. We'll have an embarrassment of KPP riches and we'll all soon be screaming out for some flankers!

No way is he or the club going to signal intentions though.

From my reading their is an evenness about the draft picks from 5-20 (ish). Also given the different needs of clubs we are almost certainly going to have a highly rated tall (Goddard, Durdin, Wright) available as well as a highly rated small/medium (de Goey, Duggan, Cockatoo etc). Unless things unfold in an unexpected manner I think we will get the type of player we want.
How is Lloyd saying we will be looking at mids unless a standout tall is around going change who Richmond pick at pick 12 or any of the 11 other picks before us.

Gold Coast and GWS both have picks before us (but outside of the top 3) and not long after us (Gold Coast at 15). Gold Coast are rumoured to be interested in Goddard in particular. Quite realistic that they can adjust their picks to ensure they get him if they think we are a chance to take him. We did it when we drafted Pavlich and Haselby, dancing around Richmond's needs.

Lloyd giving a non-committed answer is the right strategy.

Would be extremely surprised if one/either of Durdin or Goddard are not still available by our pick. Durdin looks a ripper and would be my first choice. Maybe then catch a mid for our second pick followed by perhaps Keitel or McGovern as the local pick tall.

The four aforementioned talls are all worthy picks in their own ways. However I said it before & I'll say it again... I want Cameron Loersch in purple. Probably with a later pick, rookie even.

Would be extremely surprised if one/either of Durdin or Goddard are not still available by our pick. Durdin looks a ripper and would be my first choice. Maybe then catch a mid for our second pick followed by perhaps Keitel or McGovern as the local pick tall.
That describes exactly how I would like this draft to unfold for us. And of course it won't eventuate like that.

Gold Coast and GWS both have picks before us (but outside of the top 3) and not long after us (Gold Coast at 15). Gold Coast are rumoured to be interested in Goddard in particular. Quite realistic that they can adjust their picks to ensure they get him if they think we are a chance to take him. We did it when we drafted Pavlich and Haselby, dancing around Richmond's needs.

Lloyd giving a non-committed answer is the right strategy.
Lloyd did not give a non-committed answer he stated our first choice would be a mid unless an outstanding tall was still around ( saying how happy the club was with our young talls). It fair to say that Gold Coast don't have any more idea how Freo rates the picks in the draft than we do. Neale being classic example.

I think you are reading it incorrectly. He is clearly leaving the options open. Plus if you are after a tall the best strategy is to hint you will take a mid. May force others to go mids first.

That strategy would also appease fans the most, if that is possible. The majority want a tall, so if they take a mid then it's we told you so. If they take a tall its because they're the second coming of Pav and we won the draft.

Can't wait for this draft. I know its probably been said previously and failed to deliver but this years top 20 just seems packed full of quality. Not to mention the gems we seem to pluck with our second rounders and rookies

That strategy would also appease fans the most, if that is possible. The majority want a tall, so if they take a mid then it's we told you so. If they take a tall its because they're the second coming of Pav and we won the draft.
I'm sure they're really considering the draft in terms of appeasing the fans. :rolleyes:

It's an interesting draft for us. While we are definitely thin on KPP's who are presently capable at the senior level, Brad Lloyd is correct in pointing out that we have invested in quite a few in the last couple of drafts (i.e. T.Smith, M.Taberner, M.Apeness, A.Pearce). The issue is that it's too early to know whether they will develop. The upcoming draft has been touted since last year as rich with quality talls, so I believe we will again go tall with our first pick as we did last year with Apeness assuming one of the prime targets is still available. The various predictors have us keen on Durdin and perhaps Goddard but not sure what the official line is and we won't know until draft day I gather. Maybe we've been spooked about Wright like others appear to be as he is said to be slipping.

I cannot see us taking another tall with our remaining picks. Again, listening to Lloyd's interview, they are mindful of reinforcing the midfield / engine room.

Who knows, Bondy and the LLoyds (the one in recruitment and the one in development) might combine to just yet deliver Nirvana - the above 4 talls all develop into prime KPP's and we snare another in this draft. We'll have an embarrassment of KPP riches and we'll all soon be screaming out for some flankers!

Good post. I watch a bit of WAFL and I think between AFL and WAFL Tabs and Pearce have shown enough signs to say they will at least be serviceable players although obviously all need development. Tanner has missed a lot of footy now, seems ok esp. 1:1 defensive when he can play but needs a clear run. Apeness is uncertain and needs more time to show his potential - bit concerned about his kicking for a KPF but again has time. So I reckon 3 of those four will make it all things being equal.

I am still leaning towards us getting a KPP with our first pick unless someone like Pickett has somehow slipped to us. After that yes I think we will get mids/running defenders as best available.

Best available.

Can't see Wright or Durden being there.

This may sound odd but if Wright drops to us, I probably wouldn't want him ...too many Q's.

Goddard or Weller probably will.

AFL web site's Cal Twomey reckons we'd be in the mix to select Peter Wright if he slips down to us. Re-watched his highlights package and he sure is a bullocking type at 203cm/102kg. He's got 6cm/15kg on Durdin and 7cm/8kg on Goddard which makes for a very different type potentially. I know we're talking different stages of their careers but Pav is 192cm / 99kg by comparison to Wright.

Again, solely from watching the highlights package, Durdin and Goddard are nimble and speedy types who can play down back whereas Wright is principally going to be a forward but noted as a ruck given his stature. Wright plays like a beast and akin to Apeness who measures up at 199cm and 101kg. Both have played as Ruckmen in their junior days I read.

Soo all of that leaves me wondering if we'd be prioritising one of Durdin and Goddard for their potential flexibility as DEF/FWD talls rather than Wright given we already have the FWD/RUCK combo in Apeness. Or could it be that the man mountain Wright is too good a forward target to pass up on?

Interesting days ahead and how cool is it being in with a chance to make a choice on KPP's for a change.....

7 Out of the top 15 are a tall's. I really don't understand not taking a tall unless a really good midfielders slips. Next year is a midfield draft, as with cooking go what is in season.

If you are right I'd go tall with our 1st pick. The only thing that worries me is the age of Mundy and Barlow, not to mention Sandi feeding them.

Clubs choosing Wright versus Durdin/Goddard are basically having to predict which way the game is going tactics wise. Fair bit of evidence to say transition is getting faster and speed and mobility is key. Sydney had tippet in the GF who is a monster like Wright and he didn't contribute much but can on his day if delivery is good enough for him to mark it. Hawthorn were smaller and more mobile. I think you could have one player like that in your forward line not two plus a resting ruck. So if we pick Wright he and Apeness would be competing for one spot or one of them becomes 2nd ruck. Durdin could play forward or back. Only risk with Durdin is getting weight onto him but maintaining his mobility.

If pickett goes early (e.g. GWS) and Wright slides to our pick or below then the comp is looking at a Hawthorn model not Sydney.