40 minute halves

Apr 30, 2015
A mate who follows NRL asked me today why footy is divided into 20 minute quarters, unlike rugby and soccer which play 40/45 minute halves. I couldn't really give him a proper answer, and just said something about tradition, and maybe the game takes more out of someone than rugby and soccer, therefore more breaks needed.

But it got me thinking as to what impact it would have to get rid of 1/4 and 3/4 time breaks? Is there any legitimate reason it couldn't be done? Would it have the effect of creating so much fatigue that the game returns to more positional play? Or would it ruin the game as we know it?

Please note, I'm in no way advocating such a drastic change, just genuinely curious as to what consequences it would lead to. If any. Fire away.

Personally I believe 10 minute 8ths could produce a great spectacle. Or to add some variety maybe one 20 minute period, followed by a 5 minute 'powerplay', a 30 minute play-off, a 10 minute play, followed by five 2-minute blitzs that could see some real fast footy intertwined with 1 minute time-outs

not a dig at this thread.

of all the sports in the world we are the greatest changer/fiddler with the rules, can not think of another sport that even comes close. suppose you get that when our game is so unique, and a lot of the rules are very open to interpretation. would be a hell of a hard game to umpire especially at the elite level where it is played at such a frantic pace.

No doubt it would slow the game down a fair bit. Obviously we'd have to return to unlimited rotations. Maybe even an extra player or two on the bench.

Interesting thought experiment but will never happen.

league in particular is a lot of jogging in formation with occasional bursts of speed.
Even in Rugby the modern version is too commit as little as possible to the ruck and again jog in a line.
It's nothing like the constant ruñning of AFL.
I'm sure Scully loves the idea though, I reckon he sleeps on a treadmill.

not a dig at this thread.

of all the sports in the world we are the greatest changer/fiddler with the rules, can not think of another sport that even comes close. suppose you get that when our game is so unique, and a lot of the rules are very open to interpretation. would be a hell of a hard game to umpire especially at the elite level where it is played at such a frantic pace.

Everything you just sad only applies to the last 20 years, the fans never felt the game needed rule changes. It was just a group of suits at AFL house who felt they needed to change the game from Aussie rules to AFL.
I have watched and been involved with our sport as a player and coach for over 40 years and not once no matter what role I have been involved in have I left a game thinking a rule change is required. Not ever!

People always miss the point about our game. It is totally unique, it's played with an oval ball, it's quirky, nobody really knows the rules, it's played on a huge ground with 4 posts for scoring. It has four Qtrs.
Don't try explain anything other than that is the unique game of Australian Rules Football. Why change to be like some other code?
It's only been going for over 150 years!

Even up the effects of the wind. The variance is likely to be less with quarters. Imagine kicking with the breeze for a half and then having the wind stop
A humongous fan installed at each ground could help with this. Or have one at either end of the ground and choose which one gets turned on depending on who needs the wind assistance. Could produce more closely contested games.

Personally I believe 10 minute 8ths could produce a great spectacle. Or to add some variety maybe one 20 minute period, followed by a 5 minute 'powerplay', a 30 minute play-off, a 10 minute play, followed by five 2-minute blitzs that could see some real fast footy intertwined with 1 minute time-outs

save it for JLT

40 minute halves