Player Watch #40 Tyler Sonsie - Re-Signed For 2026

I can feel it in my bones that the hawks are going to try to offload couple of decent but replaceable midfielders to get some quality in and also will make a late play for the sonz and try and get him on the cheap.
They don't come any cheaper as delisted free agents.

Do people ever stop and ask themselves what would you give up for a player like Sonsie.
Id rather we go and see if we cannot find another Retchsko than keep him.

Don’t agree with this take. Did you foresee Butler, Castagna, Townsend, Lambert, McIntosh, Broad, Grigg etc as part of premiership sides in the years before we saluted? Tipping you and many others like me didn’t. You need many types with different skill sets to make up a premiership side. Have a look at recent flag winners, many players in them I didn’t rate. Sonsie in particular has some good traits and I wouldn’t be delisting him but they might, and that’s the clubs call, they see him every day at training.
You’d be replacing them with youngsters coming from a poor draft this year in terms of depth so I’m not sure that’s the best strategy but our recruiters and List Manager are best placed to make that call. Hartley has already said they can’t offer them new deals at this point as they are yet to finalise draft scenarios and therefore how many list spots are available.
People keep saying he has some good traits for afl. Rather than just saying it point them out.

Part of the debate is he does not have enough good traits and none that that will seperate him from others at the level.

Im no hater in fact a fan in his draft year, but the last 4 years have shown his severe short comings for the level.
Those short comings have been spoken by lots of people here but are generally ignored for whatever reason.

I'm practically certain that he will be delisted along with Dow, purely because we will want to go into the draft with 5 open main list spots IMO, to give us a maximum flexibility for potential trades.

1 of them (Sonsie probably ahead) might be considered as a rookie or even as an SSP signing along with a few other players.

I'm practically certain that he will be delisted along with Dow, purely because we will want to go into the draft with 5 open main list spots IMO, to give us a maximum flexibility for potential trades.

1 of them (Sonsie probably ahead) might be considered as a rookie or even as an SSP signing along with a few other players.
Spot on assessment

People keep saying he has some good traits for afl. Rather than just saying it point them out.

Part of the debate is he does not have enough good traits and none that that will seperate him from others at the level.

Im no hater in fact a fan in his draft year, but the last 4 years have shown his severe short comings for the level.
Those short comings have been spoken by lots of people here but are generally ignored for whatever reason.
Rather than just saying he has shortcomings points them out ....

They don't come any cheaper as delisted free agents.

Do people ever stop and ask themselves what would you give up for a player like Sonsie.
Id rather we go and see if we cannot find another Retchsko than keep him.
welcome back king

in the middle?
22 Dimma gave him games in the middle with rusty Dusty, aging Cotch, injured Prestia
2023 combo of 2 mids IN.....Dimma or Mini didn't play him at all.
2024 ~ Yze has Dow in the middle ~ Sonz gets injury cover games up fwd/wing.
2025 Dow on the wing

no coach sees him as a mid and he has not great at kicking goals..
Has played in these roles at VFL level and played good footy so they haven’t been playing him there for no reason.

I would much rather have seen him get regular games over Pickett in pickets last season.

Our mid mix has been a disaster and screaming out for youth for some time. What have we gained by rolling KMac, Pickett and a half paced Prestia through the midde for the last 2 years? I would have much rather seen more youth given time.

Has played in these roles at VFL level and played good footy so they haven’t been playing him there for no reason.

I would much rather have seen him get regular games over Pickett in pickets last season.

Our mid mix has been a disaster and screaming out for youth for some time. What have we gained by rolling KMac, Pickett and a half paced Prestia through the midde for the last 2 years? I would have much rather seen more youth given time.

I noticed Sonz amongst the running stats a bit
GWS loss he ran 15.1 kms
fastest player on the ground 32.5km h

named as half fwd but most disposals at half back

Swans loss; our 2nd with 14.5kms

not sure how Kmac gets replaced Round 1 in the middle, last game wing

Tresize been wing a bit 2025.

Rather than just saying he has shortcomings points the out ....
Would have thought there are plenty of posts pointing out his short comings maybe you need some glasses.

Most are being labeled haters for simply pointing out his shortcomings but noone is saying why he should be kept.

What are his strengths what is it that he has done so well that demands we keep him?

I say what the issue is every post on here. He shits himself when any chance of body contact. So does Ralphshit

Tipping we take max 4 at draft possibly only 3 then go ssp

Mate, going back to the heydays of the 70s, we had players transform from one position to another EG Dick Clay! From top forward to one of the best fullbacks. Gosh, can you remember even the great Hart played CH back? They either have it or don't, and this modern game, if you haven't got it, it's unforgiving. Even top players nowadays, if they are having a bad day, they move them around to find some form.

Of course.

But players are good at certain things, and playing them to their strengths was part of the Dimma dynasty.

Last year we started playing Sonsie doing wrestling outside stoppages and doing unrewarded running. Those things are not his strengths. But if the club reckon Sonsie isn't good enough to be a pure AFL mid then it all makes sense that they are making him do the grunt work that makes him a much more flexible player.

Part of this is that it looks like Sonsie hasn't been good at learning to widen his skill set. He's looked soft and hasn't worked hard enough. But last season he really did crack in on field. He was 1/2 glass full, 1/2 glass empty overall. I hope he is kept and really does improve overall to become that genuine AFL player.

Player Watch #40 Tyler Sonsie - Re-Signed For 2026