Player Watch #43: Todd Elton

Remove this Banner Ad

Lukey D

All Australian
Apr 9, 2010
Bundoora
AFL Club
Richmond
I'm not going to harp on this too long as it has only been 1 practice match however these types of games can be so important to players needing that added confidence to help them understand that they can have a career at the highest level.

Last year I was a statistician for the Richmond VFL team and I saw young Toddy working tirelessy to improve his game and really bust his backside to make a fist out of becoming a key defender.

There were signs there all year and he was one of the standouts as the year went on and it left me with hope that under proper guidance, he could really develop into another solid key defender for us.

Today he showed this.

There was no intimidation regarding the fact he was playing on the much hyped million dollar boy(d), he just did what he had to do and I think he did it terrifically. There is no doubt it would've done his confidence the world of good and I for one am very excited to see what he may be able to produce this year onwards.

*note: change the above words 'key defender' to 'midfielder/small forward' and the name 'Todd Elton' to Matt Arnot' and the post applies to both.

Our youngsters ALL showed something today that fills me with not the hope, but the knowledge that we are going to do great things in the coming years.

Yep, he's a big solid build now.

He has the attributes to become a monster defender. He's strong, so strong that Minson couldn't nudge him over (and he tried) and ended up nearly killing himself.

I'm really liking the look of Elton and expect him to run for Chaplin's position next year.