Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

Yes we all know that, he does not do the hours of running at home requiring self motivation, that is pretty obvious. But as post #5758 above, he is in good shape, not the overweight tubster that some on here were running with.

I am not making excuses, just not worried in the least that in 4 months time he won't be in great shape and ready to go.
I wouldn't say he's in good shape at all. Has been getting soundly beaten by the bloke in second last (MJ) in our running drills so far.

I could see the club going the other way

If he wants to act like a part time footballer despite knowing he’s on thin ice the club may just cut ties because he clearly isn’t learning from mistakes or even trying make up for them by being in the best condition he could be

If he’s content with that so be it, Go play in a country league earning a grand a game under the table

But the trouble is the RFC is not in the business of telling people what to do, RFC is in the business of winning premierships. That means working with the best resources you can get not controlling them and being overbearing.

The truth is mentally it might be better for Stack to simply play backline and forward line to ensure he is continually engaged. For him the midfield and running up and down might simply be too boring and not a big enough challenge. Stack might simply struggle to see the point of running up and down in the midfield when he is wired to win games and not lose games. Stack might be a competitor and what kicks him into gear is stopping goals kicked on him or near him in the backline and help him and his team mates kick goals in the forward line because the causation/linkage towards winning a game is more evident sharpening his focus so his natural competitiveness kicks into gear especially when a opponent is near him for him to contest against.

But the trouble is the RFC is not in the business of telling people what to do, RFC is in the business of winning premierships. That means working with the best resources you can get not controlling them and being overbearing.

The truth is mentally it might be better for Stack to simply play backline and forward line to ensure he is continually engaged. For him the midfield and running up and down might simply be too boring and not a big enough challenge. Stack might simply struggle to see the point of running up and down in the midfield when he is wired to win games and not lose games. Stack might be a competitor and what kicks him into gear is stopping goals kicked on him or near him in the backline and help him and his team mates kick goals in the forward line because the causation/linkage towards winning a game is more evident sharpening his focus so his natural competitiveness kicks into gear especially when a opponent is near him for him to contest against.
We won our flags off the back of a culture of hard work and winning habits, every player doing their bit for the best outcome for the team and not putting the individual over the group and trusting the process

Training and being prepared for games is a key part of that process

Flags are won just as much off the field as they are when the ball is bounced

Before stack even considers what position he might be playing he needs to be fit enough to get a game

We won our flags off the back of a culture of hard work and winning habits, every player doing their bit for the best outcome for the team and not putting the individual over the group and trusting the process

Training and being prepared for games is a key part of that process

Flags are won just as much off the field as they are when the ball is bounced

Before stack even considers what position he might be playing he needs to be fit enough to get a game

We won our flags partially from culture and partially of ability like Martin having match winning games and Pickett and Graham doing their thing from little games at all but doing what they had to do game time once they crossed the white line.

Just because you think your prepared does not mean one can rest easy once you cross the white line

We won our flags partially from culture and partially of ability like Martin having match winning games and Pickett and Graham doing their thing from little games at all but doing what they had to do game time once they crossed the white line
Maybe have a read of Konrads books and reassess everything you just wrote

It all starts off field

Maybe have a read of Konrads books and reassess everything you just wrote

It all starts off field

Maybe not.

I am more interested in the finishing line, sometime you need to show light at the end of the tunnel rather than snuff them out with darkness.

at the finishing line you know if they have been prepared or not. You only know you have won when Richo and others cry on the sidelines, like in the GF, because they know they cannot be beat.

Its about picking your battles. Why start WW1 in the first place?

Maybe not.

I am more interested in the finishing line, sometime you need to show light at the end of the tunnel rather than snuff them out with darkness.

at the finishing line you know if they have been prepared or not. You only now you have won when Richo and others cry on the sidelines, like in the GF, because they know they cannot be beat
How do you think the team got into that position?
I don’t think you’ll find rocking up to pre season unfit one of the ingredients of success

Who is straw man?

I am settled. If one cannot embrace the good times and the bad times they are not prepared
It means you a bringing up a point unrelated to the discussion

The reality is stack returning from an extended break underdone isn’t good enough, and it seems the club also thinks the same otherwise they wouldn’t of made public comments about it

It means you a bringing up a point unrelated to the discussion

The reality is stack returning from an extended break underdone isn’t good enough, and it seems the club also thinks the same otherwise they wouldn’t of made public comments about it

I think you are over playing the situation.

Not everything is black and white.

Life is like a box of chocolates.

One would be wise to run a football club with a bit of sophistication because it involves human beings and not everyone is the same and is dialed in like you may like. The point is running peoples lives is not what football clubs are about, winning premierships is what football clubs are about including managing cohesive teams but that does not mean everyone is instructed in a certain way as part of the management tool. Part of the management tool should allow for diversification including mental diversification because what is relevant is winning premierships and focus and getting to winning grand finals in the moment. If that is not compromised including the cohesive collective including the playing group it is not relevant.

Some wonder why clubs start to get on a roll and get a surge of momentum as they grow and start winning game after game through a season or over a season or to. Part of it I think is belief, part of it is the cattle has found the right timing and synergies are found but a lot of it is belief. It is not all about instruction, part of the game is enabling the players to believe they can get to and succeed to get the ultimate prize. Running lap after lap of itself does not necessarily forge belief. Why would it??? If wining GF's was about running laps why not simply pick athletes?? That is why a sophisticated approach helps clubs kick more goals to win the prize

One would be wise to run a football club with a bit of sophistication because it involves human beings and not everyone is the same and is dialed in like you may like. The point is running peoples lives is not what football clubs are about, winning premierships is what football clubs are about including managing cohesive teams but that does not mean everyone is instructed in a certain way as part of the management tool. Part of the management tool should allow for diversification including mental diversification because what is relevant is winning premierships and focus and getting to winning grand finals in the moment. If that is not compromised including the cohesive collective including the playing group it is not relevant.

Some wonder why clubs start to get on a roll and get a surge of momentum as they grow and start winning game after game through a season or over a season or to. Part of it I think is belief, part of it is the cattle has found the right timing and synergies are found but a lot of it is belief. It is not all about instruction, part of the game is enabling the players to believe they can get to and succeed to get the ultimate prize. Running lap after lap of itself does not necessarily forge belief. Why would it??? If wining GF's was about running laps why not simply pick athletes?? That is why a sophisticated approach helps clubs kick more goals to win the prize
Run into a bit of form yourself.

Good luck with trying to run a club where everybody has different training schedules and are all treated differently and around their suitability
flexibility is great but consistently taking the piss by turning up day 1 of preseason not upto standar for multiple seasons is not acceptable

Lets just let every player do as they like provided they rock up to play round 1 FMD
I wonder how people would feel if it was Parker in the same position

Good luck with trying to run a club where everybody has different training schedules and are all treated differently and around their suitability
flexibility is great but consistently taking the piss by turning up day 1 of preseason not upto standar for multiple seasons is not acceptable

Lets just let every player do as they like provided they rock up to play round 1 FMD
Side note but did you check out the report on PRE today
Parker is apparently tearing up the track and looking fantastic

Footy is prolly what Stacky can easily do...making it his sole focus may be not what he can do easily...fecked if I know...
Issue maybe for Stacky is he prolly gets paid well for playing with RFC...but prolly has too many other distracting interests that don't pay well...being a rapper!
Reckon all eyes are on RFC and watching how they handle/nurture such a volatile footy talent in SS...
Just take it a day at a time...at least SS is doing Pre-season...who knows what's going to happen with him...I reckon even SS doesn't know that hisself!
Plays in 2022 GF...we will all be singing his praises...
was that a post or a rap?
Try reading it to this.... You'll need to sort the breaks, but it can be done!

Lol, don't the forwards and mids etc.. have their own sessions.

Not everyone has the same role.

Its about fitting a jigsaw together, if all the pieces where the same everyone could do it.

Obvious all would be within reason, and balance would be in the equation. Stack could not be a extreme bludger and drag the whole group or his area down and if his onfield efforts did not measure up from application then he will not make it anyway. It would be a risky play to rely on match time performance all the time for Stack as well especially if anomalies occur like injuries

Side note but did you check out the report on PRE today
Parker is apparently tearing up the track and looking fantastic
Unless he learns to kick a footy I don’t care 😅

So what dicipline do you want to give him.
This is where you need the captain to come up and gently tell him a few home truths. Things like if you want to play seniors you have to train like a senior. That doesn't mean you have to discipline him at all. You just remind him that games are not gifted to guys that don't put in the hard yards.

Stack to me is someone who needs structure and and a group setting to get himself motivated to train as hard as he needs to train. As we witnessed when he was brought in for the trial prior to finally getting picked up, it was once he got into that setting that he actually pushed himself to his limits where he was throwing up on the track from pushing himself to the limit. When he is on down time away from the club, he'll only do the bare minimum asked of him by the club to ensure he comes back in 'good' nick, but not absolute peak condition. So in the early stages of preseason he lags behind the rest of the group a bit, but by time R1 rolls around he gets himself near enough to his peak fitness. Once the games start and he is playing week to week, he rarely seems to be looking for a spell or lacking that explosiveness that has made him such a weapon off the HB line. As much as we'd all like to see every player roll up to day 1 of preseason looking like they could do the Hawaii Ironman Triathlon, but the fact of the matter is that some blokes just aren't good trainers.

In all honesty I couldn't care if any player turns up in November and is struggling to match it with the blokes who dot every i and cross every t when it comes to preparation for preseason, what I care about is that once the serious stuff starts i.e. the season proper, they are all fit and raring to go, because 4 points aren't handed out in November for winning or setting personal bests times in the time trials, they are awarded when the games are played. We've had player previously who could run rings around blokes in November but when it came to performing on the field in games weren't in the same league as the blokes they were lapping in November.