Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

He’s right to go
Get him in the team, take sheddas spot
Shedda takes Aarts spot as sub
I can't see Dimma making many changes. Getting games into Sonsie, Hugo, Miller and Noah C is good. Gibcus not going that well last game. Is he injured? this week Ross and Soldo are available. + Parker, Mansell and Brown went OK in the VFL = Stack not playing this week either IMO. Tragic that he'll slide off the list I reckon. I mean some other club always picks our players. Stengle FFS. I reckon Stack's got a career elsewhere

Last edited by a moderator:
I can't see Dimma making many changes. Getting games into Sonsie, Hugo, Miller and Noah C is good. Gibcus not going that well last game. Is he injured? this week Ross and Soldo are available. + Parker, Mansell and Brown went OK in the VFL = Stack not playing this week either IMO. Tragic that he'll slide off the list I reckon. I mean some other club always picks our players. Stengle FFS. I reckon Stack's got a career elsewhere
I really hope not
What a ****en waste, I’ll be shattered
Hope he crushes last part of year and we give a him a new contract

Exceptional effort from there but during his time at the tigers apart from his first season has lacked that discipline or effort. No doubt he has the skill to improve our side but unless he can find the hunger and the discipline to reach the required fitness level he will not make it
You obviously weren't at the last couple of VFL games, he is playing hungry, which is something that our AFL team could do with more of. Bring him into the team against Fremantle, broken cheekbone and all

He tore freo apart at Optus last season off half back

He was one of our better players when he came back in off half back

He’s alway been involved in the games, sometimes he won’t find much of the ball he always finds ways to stay involved

That eagles game is a prime example of that, a very clever player

He tore freo apart at Optus last season off half back

He was one of our better players when he came back in off half back

He’s alway been involved in the games, sometimes he won’t find much of the ball he always finds ways to stay involved

That eagles game is a prime example of that, a very clever player

That was one of the promising games ex 2019

Perhaps I’m too hard on him, that 2019 was sublime , sadly he has never got anywhere near it , most and I mean most of his senior games since have been from piss poor to average , 1-2 promising unfortunately I’m not sure he has the dedication to be a pro footballer , listen to the coaches and develop his craft , wish he proved me wrong however I see several jumping the queue in front of him
There was a footballer I absolutely adored as a kid and through to my mid 20's and his name was Phil Egan. He was probably in the 10 most naturally gifted players I'd seen to that time in my life. Phil on his day could explode and look like Ablett Senior , but more often than not he would just play an average game to hold his spot. Some days he would never be sighted. Crackers Keenan the ABC Commentator described him as so gifted he would win a Brownlow on his ears if he could play a half of footy let alone a full game. I pretty saw nearly everyone of his 125 games and used to wait for that magic to come out as he was so spectacular, but in the end inconsistency was his nemesis. Stack is nowhere near the talent of Egan, but still has some natural qualities and skills. However, the inconsistencies are very similar and I doubt that Stack will ever get to 125 games for us and would even struggle to play one game for another club which Phil managed to do, but bc of an18 club competition he may get a lifeline. He will IMHO be just be that bottle in most clubs recycling bin and every now and then they will pull it out and modify to a temporary funnel, fuel container, bird feeder and even a hanging basket. In the end he will be found out and eventually the recycling bins of the AFL clubs dispose of these types and chance their arms on the next lot available as they snoop in the midseason and rookie drafts. The Stack types then find their niche in a secondary or tertiary level of Aussie Rules where with a bunch of similar players, lots of developing lads and inferior players beneath them they eventually recycle and blend together to build a 240l recycling bin where they hold all the team of recyclable waste together.;)

Appreciate what you’re saying and I too saw Phil Egan play his entire career. I think Stack easily has as much ability as Phil, and he has a chance to make a great career for himself, as he’s playing with much better players in a much better side.
I’ll back him in, hope they pick him this week

Appreciate what you’re saying and I too saw Phil Egan play his entire career. I think Stack easily has as much ability as Phil, and he has a chance to make a great career for himself, as he’s playing with much better players in a much better side.
I’ll back him in, hope they pick him this week
Possibly mate, but Phil's best was well and beyond Stack's, but it's just a matter of opinion here. THE MUCH BETTER PLAYERS ARE UNFORTUNATELY ENDING THEIR CAREERS AND HE'S ONE OF THE BLOKES IN THE 4-5YEARS AT THE CLUB THAT WE WANT TO STEP UP, BUT HE'S AN ENIGMA ATM.
sorry caps on again. lol

Possibly mate, but Phil's best was well and beyond Stack's, but it's just a matter of opinion here. THE MUCH BETTER PLAYERS ARE UNFORTUNATELY ENDING THEIR CAREERS AND HE'S ONE OF THE BLOKES IN THE 4-5YEARS AT THE CLUB THAT WE WANT TO STEP UP, BUT HE'S AN ENIGMA ATM.
sorry caps on again. lol
Yep, need Stacky in particular to step up to the big time Mate. He’s got the talent to be a genuine A grader imo

Yea remember him well , I think stacky is what’s oft referred as a space cadet , being in elite sports environment just ain’t his thing , he hasn’t thrived , just goes through motions , unfortunate but it happens

He won't make it. Too inconsistent and doesn't want it enough. I wish he did, he could have been a wonderful replacement for Shane Edwards.

Both poignant and depressing all at the same TI 😞 I want stack to make it so badly, but I worry his time is gonna come to an end at the tiges without ever fulfilling that potential he showed in his first year

Yep 100% true

and the funny thing is the longer stack doesnt play the better he becomes " apparently "
We should just hold off until next year and we will have Andrew McLeod on our hands

will come in but be played out of position in the forward line again and then go straight out

You want him in Riolis spot? We seem to love playing Vlas + 4 taller defenders. Broad, Grimes, Tarrant and Gibcus/Miller. I think the days of Broad and Grimes being able to play on smaller players is coming to an end and we should definitely play 2 smaller defenders.

yes as hes better than rioli who goes to water any time the heat is on

Don't know how long since anyone looked at this but here's Syd's 2019 highlights. If he can recreate anything like this in the future it will be worth the wait:

You won’t find a better set of highlights
He’s ridiculously good on those
So clean and balanced all the time and hits the ball at pace

This is why I keep hope for Syd

Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack