Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

Interesting that he's training with the backs as a rebounding defender.
this is one area i dont get with our club

Houli, Short, Ellis, Markov Vlasuin, Broad, naish, and turner.
Here we have a genuine mid and we want to play him in an area we have an abundance of player types.

How many genuine outside mids do we have who get heaps of ball and can get a bit of inside ball for themselves.? McIntosh he has his knockers and rightly so, Menadue has failed every time he has been given a go.Grigg most want him phased out. Who else?

I was thinking about how our great club as set us up for sustained success.
So many good young players coming through and we have pretty much covered all positions on the ground except the ruck.
That would be a good exercise map out the team to take us into the future.
It's bloody exciting and I haven't felt this genuine progression in a long time.

Dimma is a legend of a bloke, how many coaches would go out of their way to do that?
I'm sure Buckley wouldn't have taken in the troubled teen (Adam)
Absolute rubbish. Bucks will do it next year

Yes. They are planning to develop Stack in defence. We have a surplus of small forwards, and it only makes sense.

How close was he to signing with Carlton...........s******......

Sent from my iPad using righteous Bhodi manpower

Yes. They are planning to develop Stack in defence. We have a surplus of small forwards, and it only makes sense.
Gotta start somewhere.......reminds me a bit of Daniel Wells, has great vision and seems to be able to find the time to deliver and open up that player. Only seen his highlights but has had consistently high numbers.

this is one area i dont get with our club

Houli, Short, Ellis, Markov Vlasuin, Broad, naish, and turner.
Here we have a genuine mid and we want to play him in an area we have an abundance of player types.

How many genuine outside mids do we have who get heaps of ball and can get a bit of inside ball for themselves.? McIntosh he has his knockers and rightly so, Menadue has failed every time he has been given a go.Grigg most want him phased out. Who else?
He is unlikely to force his way into the midfield given his size in his first year. If he does that is very impressive. He might do well to learn the defensive structures before going onto a wing, but again unlikely to be fit enough to play there this year except in bursts.
We are short of a hard nosed defender, and he does look to have a hard edge to him. So they are probably just finding his spot for the year. Anyway most likely will be playing a fair amount of VFL, and possibly might run through the midfield there.

I recon Buckenarra is wrong kid on pure talent is top 20.I agree though i think his spot at AFL should be more outside than in and on a wing.

Sheesh an accountable quick winger who will go both ways and win plenty of ball and use it well.

Would make a difference to the years of Chipendale and Bower bird lol

Sumich’s stack of praise for new Tiger

The final addition to Richmond’s playing group for season 2019, exciting young prospect Sydney Stack has been hailed by Western Australian football great and the state’s under-18s coach Peter Sumich as a special football talent.

Sumich coached Stack at last year’s under-18 national championships and thoroughly enjoyed watching the high level of football that the teenager produced throughout the series.

Stack was rewarded for his efforts by being selected in the under-18 All Australian team, but failed to be picked up in the AFL national draft at the end of the year, much to Sumich’s great surprise.

Richmond subsequently used the AFL’s new Pre-Season Supplemental Selection Period to secure Stack’s services with its last remaining rookie position.

1549975033420.png

In the lead-up to the 2018 national draft, Sumich provided a glowing assessment of Stack, who also performed impressively in three senior appearances for WAFL club Perth.

“I think this kid is the best of what I’ve seen in our batch of 18s talent-wise and ability to play the game at a capacity of AFL level, which is hard and fast and tough. This kid has got it all,” Sumich told ‘The West Australian’ newspaper.

“I had him in the top 10 prior to the under-18 carnival, and I still did even after that because I don’t think he was fully fit and he still played a really good role in his three games . . . I thought he played really well with a great attitude.”

Stack will wear guernsey No. 44 in his debut season at Tigerland.

I am just saying Stack can be developed in a similar role.
A relatively smaller, half-back flanker, running through the lines.
Given the eventual retirement of Houli and Grigg.
I was exactly thinking we should be on the look-out for a tall, athletic mid-forward like Bontempelli.
He can play forward and revert to defence if needed.
Hopefully RCD can be developed in the role.

I got a theory that pre draft as Balmey was giving his a crew a pep talk , he wrapped it up as he threw his 7/11 coffee cup in the bin and exclaimed , IDGAF , just get stacka. Meanwhile floppy ears sos was walking past and caught what he thought was get stocker , Once out of sight, he bolted to their camp and like a gleeful kid that couldn’t wait to tell his mates about his first $&@& he spells out the Tigers draft plan. We should be so lucky

:thumbsu:
:think:

Ever since i have seen this kids highlights back in September /October last year i have been thinking this kid reminds me of somebody but just could not for the life of me work out who it was.

Today i was having lunch with a friend (bombers supporter) and was just about to leave and the feed come through that we had signed him up and told my mate that we had signed Sydney Stack and he had no idea who he was (understandably ) as he doesnt follow the draft.

I went and played the highlights for him and we were watching it and about 30 seconds into it my friend gavin said, Kid looks good and plays similarly to Michael Long
and right at that moment i thought thats who it was but for the life of me i just couldnt work out who he reminded me off.

Would be interested to see if anybody els can see the resemblance

Michael Long was 178cm
I am getting Phil Krakouer

I will repeat what my brothers friends (who live and follow footy in W.A) said about Stack
"He's got a bit of M.Rioli about him and talent alone, about the best in years, tough as nails"
Go Tigers
High praise indeed