Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

Ironically two of our best youg guns in Higgins and Stack have both been called out for having low IQ’s
Highlights a big problem with our society and schooling systems that such a meaningless indicator determines if someone is smart or not

Anyone can ace a test if they can have a good memory but you can ace every test at school but it can be meaningless if they have no practical problem solving skills

Seen plenty of young apprentices not make yet who have been very book smart and a lot of who have who aren’t but have huge amount of practical knowledge

What does it bloody matter anyway? They are footballers, not brain surgeons.

The story was that Perth got him a job at a bank mid last season and he lasted 3 days before quitting - cited the job being boring as the reason he left...
I've done that! Left a boring job when i was young, now look at me...a fine key board warrior! :)

Gonna go buy a Stackhat off eBay and wear it to the footy.
Just like Green Bay Packer fans in the USA, USA, USA wear cheese hats to support the Packers!!!
https://www.foodandwine.com/fwx/why-do-green-bay-packer-fans-wear-cheese-hats
We ought to start a trend of wearing Richmond coloured Bicycle Stack hats in support of SStack! We could be the first AFL Club to start a fashion/trend!
Think of the marketing opportunitie$ for the Club with over 100,000 fans wearin stack hats in support of Sydney! The marketing right$!

How Sydney Stack went from being ignored in two drafts last year to cult hero status in four games
Sam Edmund, Herald Sun
an hour ago
The final straw for one club came when Sydney Stack failed to show up for work.
Stack had last year started a bank traineeship in Perth, but his sudden no-show was enough for this club’s recruiting team.

“You’re just thinking, ‘Gee whiz mate, footy is a grind. You can’t just not turn up whenever you feel like it’,” the recruiting chief said.

“You obviously start asking: ‘How will he go meeting the requirements and punctuality at AFL level?”
In a year in which Stack was turfed from the AFL Academy, kicked out of the WA State Academy, stood down for the first game of the under 18 championships and lost his licence, AFL clubs assessing his draft worth didn’t need Sherlock Holmes to discover his wayward nature.

Despite possessing an on-field talent many clubs rated as first-round worthy, they were outweighed by the off-field problems.
It goes some way to explaining the now inconceivable — how Richmond’s four-game, 18-year-old cult-hero could be ignored in last year’s national and rookie drafts.

[IMG='width:375px;']https://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/47359b16e94ee6b1ef669bc33931d685?width=316[/IMG]

The Tigers themselves didn’t take him with any of their four national draft picks and then overlooked him with their five rookie draft picks before choosing the ‘try before you buy’ approach in the new supplemental selection period.

Rival recruiters contacted by the Herald Sun praised Richmond for taking the risk they were never going to.

“I still remember when he left our interview thinking, ‘S. t i’d love to take a punt on this kid’. You realised footy could change his life, but we didn’t have the foundations set up enough to support him off-field,” one talent spotter said.

“It’s not a cheap exercise relocating a kid and you’re trying to evaluate where will they live and who will they mix with. There’s a lot that goes into it.

“Full credit to Richmond … but keep in mind they’ve got 100,000 members so budget isn’t such a big deal. For other clubs you’re weighing up risk versus reward.

“You hope it does all hold together because if it’s not footy there is no future for this kid. He’s not going to become a builder or something like that because he lacks the discipline.”

6b1519666f1371713f4687d781bb3303

Sydney Stack pulls down a huge hanger during Richmond's win over Melbourne. Picture: AAP Image/Julian Smith.

One club’s list manager said: “He’s at the lower end in terms of his IQ off-field, but there was never any doubting his IQ on-field.

“You have to be able to sit back and ask, ‘Does the talent stack up and is the off-field stuff going to affect the on-field?

“You then have to assess your own club. Have we got the resources to give this a chance?

“This is where Richmond have done really well. They’ve clearly put things in place to minimise that risk.”

Incredibly, Damien Hardwick took Stack under his roof in December and for a week in January. He now lives with former Saint and Lion and development coach Xavier Clarke.

“It was massive for ‘Dimma’ to take him in,” one recruiter said.

“Daniel Rioli was completely different. He’s got a good sense of humour and is quite cheeky, whereas Sydney was a bit of a hard-arse … and didn’t trust many people and you can’t blame him for that because that’s what he’d grown up with.”

One recruiter who had followed Stack’s journey said idle time had been the danger.
“He comes from a really tough background, but during the footy season he always had focus. When there was no footy was the big worry,” he said.

“But perhaps the only way he was going to make it was how Richmond did it.”

Shame on the recruiters quoted in this article!!
They sound like they’re sitting at an antique writing desk on the balcony of their Toorak mansions watching Stack run around in the fenced garden below.

Shock horror indigenous kid who has a rough childhood and loves footy gets put into a city bank and doesn’t adjust or enjoy the work...

“If he doesn’t make it in the AFL he has no future” why would they even publish that? What a load of bollocks, it’s 2019, wake up. We now understand that you don’t need to be in a secure job with a degree by 20, or working in the family business, or working on the farm since the age of 15. Imagine writing a kid off who’s been through hell growing up, with limited stability and support, at the ripe old age of 18?

“He’s on the lower end in terms of his off-field IQ”!? **** me.

I hope Sydney reads this shit and comes out next week and kicks it up a notch.

They sound like they’re sitting at an antique writing desk on the balcony of their Toorak mansions watching Stack run around in the fenced garden below.

Shock horror indigenous kid who has a rough childhood and loves footy gets put into a city bank and doesn’t adjust or enjoy the work...

“If he doesn’t make it in the AFL he has no future” why would they even publish that? What a load of bollocks, it’s 2019, wake up. We now understand that you don’t need to be in a secure job with a degree by 20, or working in the family business, or working on the farm since the age of 15. Imagine writing a kid off who’s been through hell growing up, with limited stability and support, at the ripe old age of 18?

Yeah thats ****ing harsh hey. But goes to show they will put anything in there if it gets readers

Funny how the HS can publish an article attacking an 18 year old kid yet dance around subjects like why the umpires are so shit.

Even funnier how they can write an article attacking an 18 year old kid, then dance around the issues that had a profoundly negative impact on the kids upbringing.

Maybe that’s why they write the conservative trust fund bull**** that they publish week in week out, so there is more disadvantaged kids for them to attack next week?

Upon re-reading that article, it certainly calls in the question the quality/nature of journalism by the writer!
Under the guise of explaining how smart and diligent the many recruiters were in avoiding picking SS (only have to look at our own!) for some unknown reason they have decided to smear the character of SStack with derogatory comments...it is sensationalist pathetic click bait material!
Did the so called writer even bother to check with SStack about the veracity of these statements?!?
It is embarrassing so called journalism, i would be embarrassed to write such an article and put my name to it...
In fact it makes me angry and i hope the Club comes out with a quality statement in full support of Stackey! This sheet needs to be addressed!

Upon re-reading that article, it certainly calls in the question the quality/nature of journalism by the writer!
Under the guise of explaining how smart and diligent the many recruiters were in avoiding picking SS (only have to look at our own!) for some unknown reason they have decided to smear the character of SStack with derogatory comments...it is sensationalist pathetic click bait material!
Did the so called writer even bother to check with SStack about the veracity of these statements?!?
It is embarrassing so called journalism, i would be embarrassed to write such an article and put my name to it...
In fact it makes me angry and i hope the Club comes out with a quality statement in full support of Stackey! This sheet needs to be addressed!

Shouldn’t be able to make anonymous off handed comments like that and smear shit against someone’s character... then they go a step further and actually publish it.

If you want to be a bigoted fwit at least put your name to it, own your comments.

It’s easy to treat people like walking meat bags when you don’t have to own up to your words.

Ironically two of our best youg guns in Higgins and Stack have both been called out for having low IQ’s
Highlights a big problem with our society and schooling systems that such a meaningless indicator determines if someone is smart or not

Anyone can ace a test if they can have a good memory but you can ace every test at school but it can be meaningless if they have no practical problem solving skills

Seen plenty of young apprentices not make yet who have been very book smart and a lot of who have who aren’t but have huge amount of practical knowledge

I’d rather be good at footy and earn 10x what I earn in a year.

People that publicly comment on other people’s IQ (not you BTW) are fukwits.

IQ is bullshit. That's why organisations now call IQ tests "aptitude tests" because that's all they measure - your aptitude to do them. A few examples demonstrate this. The first is the fact that the US has been conducting the same IQ tests on all its citizens now for 100 years or so and every generation is about 10 points "smarter" than their parents. An average student from the 1920s would be considered borderline intellectually disabled today. Why this is the case is not entirely certain, but what it clearly proves is that what is being tested is learned rather than innate ability. Another example is a cousin of mine whose Dad was an academic psychologist. When my cousin was about 4 he served as a guinea pig for a bunch of postgrads who were tasked with designing IQ tests for toddlers. He got so much practice that he ended up recording Einstein level results. Believe me, my cousin wasn't that smart. I myself experienced this when I was trying to get a job as a computer programmer in the late 1980s and had to do a lot of really seriously hard aptitude tests. I never got a gig as it turned out, but when I eventually sat the public service exam, I was so practiced I nearly topped the bloody thing. So an indigenous kid from the wrong side of the tracks is considered to have a low IQ, whoopy do! Tyrone Vickery was supposed to be near genius. Go figure.

Saw this as well- disgusting.

He'd have no future not playing footy? Would love to know this recruiter's basis for deciding he wouldn't have become a successful tradie, office worker, employee in a non playing capacity or other fields.

Low IQ off field? Did this recruiter put him through an IQ test to confirm this suspicion?

I'd also be fairly comfortable assuming neither of these points would have been brought up if he wasn't an indigenous youth.

Saw this as well- disgusting.

He'd have no future not playing footy? Would love to know this recruiter's basis for deciding he wouldn't have become a successful tradie, office worker, employee in a non playing capacity or other fields.

Low IQ off field? Did this recruiter put him through an IQ test to confirm this suspicion?

I'd also be fairly comfortable assuming neither of these points would have been brought up if he wasn't an indigenous youth.

Mate clearly he has got no future, he didn’t want to work in the bank. :drunk:

The IQ test shouldn’t even be an issue. It’s just another way for society’s elite to put those “below” them in a box.

It’s easy to be a bigot without a name.

Own your comments or don’t make them imo.

Why publish this at all if you’re not willing to have names put to the comments?

IQ is bullshit. That's why organisations now call IQ tests "aptitude tests" because that's all they measure - your aptitude to do them. A few examples demonstrate this. The first is the fact that the US has been conducting the same IQ tests on all its citizens now for 100 years or so and every generation is about 10 points "smarter" than their parents. An average student from the 1920s would be considered borderline intellectually disabled today. Why this is the case is not entirely certain, but what it clearly proves is that what is being tested is learned rather than innate ability. Another example is a cousin of mine whose Dad was an academic psychologist. When my cousin was about 4 he served as a guinea pig for a bunch of postgrads who were tasked with designing IQ tests for toddlers. He got so much practice that he ended up recording Einstein level results. Believe me, my cousin wasn't that smart. I myself experienced this when I was trying to get a job as a computer programmer in the late 1980s and had to do a lot of really seriously hard aptitude tests. I never got a gig as it turned out, but when I eventually sat the public service exam, I was so practiced I nearly topped the bloody thing. So an indigenous kid from the wrong side of the tracks is considered to have a low IQ, whoopy do! Tyrone Vickery was supposed to be near genius. Go figure.

Absolutely agree mate, a load of shite.

Most important issue though is the bank. ;)

I mean banking is the universal job for everyone isn’t it? Usually when I pick my friends, mentors and people in my life that’s the first test to pass.

“Did you work in a bank?”

One of my friends studied finance for 3 years (under the pressure of his parents), got a job and said **** this and now works in a warehouse. So surely an indigenous kid from a broken home wouldn’t have any issues transitioning from footy to banking?

Absolutely agree mate, a load of shite. Most important issue though is the bank. ;)
I mean banking is the universal job for everyone isn’t it? Usually when I pick my friends, mentors and people in my life that’s the first test to pass.
“Did you work in a bank?” One of my friends studied finance for 3 years (under the pressure of his parents), got a job and said **** this and now works in a warehouse. So surely an indigenous kid from a broken home wouldn’t have any issues transitioning from footy to banking?
giphy (1).gif

Spot on. The tone of the article was really off. They could address his challenging upbringing and lack of discipline with some sensitivity FFS.

But but but the Blues nearly stole him from us. Havent you heard Ralphy mention it around 100 times already :rolleyes:

Wouldn’t be surprised if the comments came direct from the Blues. Imagine SOS’s outrage if someone published articles about SOS junior like that.

Mate clearly he has got no future, he didn’t want to work in the bank. :drunk:

The IQ test shouldn’t even be an issue. It’s just another way for society’s elite to put those “below” them in a box.

It’s easy to be a bigot without a name.

Own your comments or don’t make them imo.

Why publish this at all if you’re not willing to have names put to the comments?
Absolutely agree mate, a load of shite.

Most important issue though is the bank. ;)

“Did you work in a bank?”

One of my friends studied finance for 3 years (under the pressure of his parents), got a job and said **** this and now works in a warehouse. So surely an indigenous kid from a broken home wouldn’t have any issues transitioning from footy to banking?

The IQ thing is wrong on about three levels
1- IQ is flawed in general
2- IQ is irrelevant for an AFL footballer and many out there in the general public
3- I strongly doubt they have put Stack through an IQ test to confirm their suspicion

Spot on. The tone of the article was really off. They could address his challenging upbringing and lack of discipline with some sensitivity FFS.

Also spot on. The article was written as a simple puff piece about how so many teams passed on him and how lucky and coincidental it is for Stack to get where he is. Edmunds seems completely unaware of the gravity of the statements he's publishing.

I'm sure there is a much greater story to be told involving the adversity he's had to over come, as well as the hard work he's put in to get to where he is. I hope the Herald Sun doesn't get to publish it.