Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

The problem is that they don't......

Without going into details look up the double slit experiment and problems explaining what occurs below the Planck Length let alone the disagreement at what happens beyond the event horizon.......
Well if yer havin' trouble with yer plank lengths for yer event I'd be asking a carpenter not a friggin' physicist. (F*$K me! I just realised after I typed that that my Dad was a physicist and HIS Dad was a carpenter!)

Hahahahahah Ralphy is a bloody good troll , By mentioning it 100 times he is putting the question into their minds to talk about - He's a bad man our Ralphy

Just on IQ Levels , As another poster before mentioned it Tyrone had a very high IQ as well as Will Minson and a few other who were not really great footballers.

The Great Maurice Rioli would never be drafted in todays football , Anybody who knows about the inner sanctum of the RFC could tell you stories about some of the stuff MR did that no club today would tolerate and society would not accept from a public person ( alot of things would also need to be answered to the law also)

SS Is looking like a great recruit and im hoping that he along with Rioli , Edwards , Bolton , Egg can create and have a bond together and support each other through their careers and become great footballers and great people
Tell you another thing the club getting Xav on board has been awesome too. Blokes a legend of a fella and has had a profound influence on the indigenous boys and also a few others such as Jacob Townsend.

Just on that bump.
Melbourne are gonna decide on Monday whether or not to out Viney in for surgery, they probably jabbed hom up and it’s still too swollen to get a read onnit.
Check this out...
034443D9-D150-4775-939B-C6048B950471.jpeg
“Like what may occur in a motor vehicle accident”
Haha

Sydney Stack the Collar-bone collector

Just on that bump.
Melbourne are gonna decide on Monday whether or not to out Viney in for surgery, they probably jabbed hom up and it’s still too swollen to get a read onnit.
Check this out...
View attachment 662297
“Like what may occur in a motor vehicle accident”
Haha

Sydney Stack the Collar-bone collector
I think we know have the 3 strongest pound for pound players in the league- Martin, Lynch and Stack.

Tell you another thing the club getting Xav on board has been awesome too. Blokes a legend of a fella and has had a profound influence on the indigenous boys and also a few others such as Jacob Townsend.
I was over the moon and posted about X and the benefit of having such a great leader of men and some of the fantastic work he has done in the NT.

Caracella / Leppa / X / McCrae should all be given 5 year extensions , I am so happy with our coaching staff and have never see a better group of assistant coaches at Richmond

How Sydney Stack went from being ignored in two drafts last year to cult hero status in four games
Sam Edmund, Herald Sun
an hour ago
The final straw for one club came when Sydney Stack failed to show up for work.
Stack had last year started a bank traineeship in Perth, but his sudden no-show was enough for this club’s recruiting team.

“You’re just thinking, ‘Gee whiz mate, footy is a grind. You can’t just not turn up whenever you feel like it’,” the recruiting chief said.

“You obviously start asking: ‘How will he go meeting the requirements and punctuality at AFL level?”
In a year in which Stack was turfed from the AFL Academy, kicked out of the WA State Academy, stood down for the first game of the under 18 championships and lost his licence, AFL clubs assessing his draft worth didn’t need Sherlock Holmes to discover his wayward nature.

Despite possessing an on-field talent many clubs rated as first-round worthy, they were outweighed by the off-field problems.
It goes some way to explaining the now inconceivable — how Richmond’s four-game, 18-year-old cult-hero could be ignored in last year’s national and rookie drafts.

[IMG='width:375px;']https://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/47359b16e94ee6b1ef669bc33931d685?width=316[/IMG]

The Tigers themselves didn’t take him with any of their four national draft picks and then overlooked him with their five rookie draft picks before choosing the ‘try before you buy’ approach in the new supplemental selection period.

Rival recruiters contacted by the Herald Sun praised Richmond for taking the risk they were never going to.

“I still remember when he left our interview thinking, ‘S. t i’d love to take a punt on this kid’. You realised footy could change his life, but we didn’t have the foundations set up enough to support him off-field,” one talent spotter said.

“It’s not a cheap exercise relocating a kid and you’re trying to evaluate where will they live and who will they mix with. There’s a lot that goes into it.

“Full credit to Richmond … but keep in mind they’ve got 100,000 members so budget isn’t such a big deal. For other clubs you’re weighing up risk versus reward.

“You hope it does all hold together because if it’s not footy there is no future for this kid. He’s not going to become a builder or something like that because he lacks the discipline.”

6b1519666f1371713f4687d781bb3303

Sydney Stack pulls down a huge hanger during Richmond's win over Melbourne. Picture: AAP Image/Julian Smith.

One club’s list manager said: “He’s at the lower end in terms of his IQ off-field, but there was never any doubting his IQ on-field.

“You have to be able to sit back and ask, ‘Does the talent stack up and is the off-field stuff going to affect the on-field?

“You then have to assess your own club. Have we got the resources to give this a chance?

“This is where Richmond have done really well. They’ve clearly put things in place to minimise that risk.”

Incredibly, Damien Hardwick took Stack under his roof in December and for a week in January. He now lives with former Saint and Lion and development coach Xavier Clarke.

“It was massive for ‘Dimma’ to take him in,” one recruiter said.

“Daniel Rioli was completely different. He’s got a good sense of humour and is quite cheeky, whereas Sydney was a bit of a hard-arse … and didn’t trust many people and you can’t blame him for that because that’s what he’d grown up with.”

One recruiter who had followed Stack’s journey said idle time had been the danger.
“He comes from a really tough background, but during the footy season he always had focus. When there was no footy was the big worry,” he said.

“But perhaps the only way he was going to make it was how Richmond did it.”

Thanks for sharing this post . I remember watching the National Draft and the commentary was all about when he would be drafted , and the surprise he wasn’t . Ever so thankful that the Tigers took a chance . So far so great !! Let’s hope he gets through his downtime unscathed, even then stiff sh$t.

I was over the moon and posted about X and the benefit of having such a great leader of men and some of the fantastic work he has done in the NT.

Caracella / Leppa / X / McCrae should all be given 5 year extensions , I am so happy with our coaching staff and have never see a better group of assistant coaches at Richmond
Hopefully we have enough money to look after him.
I know there were bonuses attached with the flag in 2017 but assistants aren’t paid as handsomely as a lot probably think. He was contemplating heading home to set up there and coach too but they must have given him a little bit more so that’s great. Very important to us as you point out.

That’s genuinely the shittest article I’ve ever read.
Whoever that coward anonymous recruiter was is s disgrace and should be sacked by whichever club he works at

That’s genuinely the shittest article I’ve ever read.
Whoever that coward anonymous recruiter was is s disgrace and should be sacked by whichever club he works at
A lot of the recruiters opinions are BS anyway.Everytime I've heard him speak he has spoke intelligently and has been very humble.

As far as I can see he was from a tough background and missed a meeting and didn't show up to work once.Sounds like a lot of 17 to 18 year olds to me. The recruiter who said **You hope it does all hold together because if it’s not footy there is no future for this kid. He’s not going to become a builder or something like that because he lacks the discipline.***
That sounds borderline racist to me.He obviously had the dicipline to get his fitness to the elite AFL level and he hasnt assauluted anyone or pissed on a police station or anything.
Yeah I'm with you on that last bit, really dont think they should have included that comment or the one saying he has a low standard IQ.

Poor form.

But that aside I love Stack and glad he is a tiger!
Well he’s only 18

I’m not sure that it’s borderline racist but it’s certainly a bleak way of looking at a troubled young person’s future and it shows a lack of awareness of what good mentoring and, even, a good psychologist can bring to the development of a young person. The unidentified author sounds like a typical, limited middle class white male. I hope it wasn’t Stephen Silvaggni. More power to the Tiges and, especially, to Hardwick for taking him on. Let’s hope it works out really well.
I was a bit surprised they printed a couple of those comments regarding IQ and other broadsides who was the campaigner who scribed that , irresponsible journalism talking about an 18yo like that
Sydney can hold his head high. Being called out based on so-called IQ or professionalism by an industry with Gil, Robbo and Eddie in leadership positions is the greatest of compliments. They are the stupidest, most unprofessional and incompetent bunch of drongos going around.

Don’t listen to the doubters Syd, and keep doing what you’re doing! :thumbsu:
Aside from making the obvious sh.t comment about his IQ or aptitude for academia it really shows how kids are looked at like cattle or a potential race horse.
I think I read somewhere that it’s less than 4% or registered footy players that make it to an AFL list and if you drill down onnit...50 kids or so at the draft combine half a dozen kids each team for the rookie list every year and academies, father son and that and then if you had a look at who makes it from outside the private school feeder systems it’d be bugger all I reckon.
I get it that recruiters have to make a decision on each and every prospect as efficiently as possible and if there’s a few red flags that make em feel they’re not playing the percentages..no worries, that’s fair enough.
But to publish those comments for Millions of people to read, that’s shithouse and irresponsible.
There’s no merit in that.
Shame on you Sam Edmund...wanka
Ironically two of our best youg guns in Higgins and Stack have both been called out for having low IQ’s
Highlights a big problem with our society and schooling systems that such a meaningless indicator determines if someone is smart or not

Anyone can ace a test if they can have a good memory but you can ace every test at school but it can be meaningless if they have no practical problem solving skills

Seen plenty of young apprentices not make yet who have been very book smart and a lot of who have who aren’t but have huge amount of practical knowledge
Shame on the recruiters quoted in this article!!
They sound like they’re sitting at an antique writing desk on the balcony of their Toorak mansions watching Stack run around in the fenced garden below.

Shock horror indigenous kid who has a rough childhood and loves footy gets put into a city bank and doesn’t adjust or enjoy the work...

“If he doesn’t make it in the AFL he has no future” why would they even publish that? What a load of bollocks, it’s 2019, wake up. We now understand that you don’t need to be in a secure job with a degree by 20, or working in the family business, or working on the farm since the age of 15. Imagine writing a kid off who’s been through hell growing up, with limited stability and support, at the ripe old age of 18?

“He’s on the lower end in terms of his off-field IQ”!? **** me.

I hope Sydney reads this shit and comes out next week and kicks it up a notch.
Saw this as well- disgusting.

He'd have no future not playing footy? Would love to know this recruiter's basis for deciding he wouldn't have become a successful tradie, office worker, employee in a non playing capacity or other fields.

Low IQ off field? Did this recruiter put him through an IQ test to confirm this suspicion?

I'd also be fairly comfortable assuming neither of these points would have been brought up if he wasn't an indigenous youth.
Shit insensitive article. Questioning his intelligence is ridiculous, he's a footballer!

I don't count myself as extremely smart, I'm pretty shit at maths and alright at English,
I work in I.T and understand how to fix computers and what common issues are. Some intelligent people are some of the worst people on computers, Every one has their strengths and weaknesses.

If you're good at something and can do it for a job Go for it.
Stack seems like a future star so he'll stick to that, it doesn't matter if he quit his job at a bank obviously not an interesting place to work...
Agree so much with all of these posts. As the father of a son who has a language disorder I can imagine these arseh*le recruiters dismissing him as he would interview poorly and they would question his "IQ"... lack of football ability would probably do for him but the point remains.
Like Sydney, my boy would struggle without a strong support network, his mum, but is now working and has further work prospects coming up.
Really was an extremely insensitive article.

public service exam,.
same here, shat it in,
then ****ing hated the job too and wanted to leave immediately

i've read many biographies of famous musicians and i can say two things,
1. many of them admit they'd be useless in any 9 to 5 job
2. many of them were streetwise but not book smart

same here, shat it in,
then ******* hated the job too and wanted to leave immediately

i've read many biographies of famous musicians and i can say two things,
1. many of them admit they'd be useless in any 9 to 5 job
2. many of them were streetwise but not book smart

Should watch a ted talk by Sir Ken Robinson about how schools kill creativity. Changed my entire perspective on education.

Clean As A Whistle

DkK0PVr.gif
Just want to acknowledge Grimes’ role in this play - he recognises that Stack is there - spoils deliberately to him - then continues to run to receive the perfectly weighted handball.
Quality from Stack but brilliant from Grimes as well - shows a great connection between the two already.

Just want to acknowledge Grimes’ role in this play - he recognises that Stack is there - spoils deliberately to him - then continues to run to receive the perfectly weighted handball.
Quality from Stack but brilliant from Grimes as well - shows a great connection between the two already.

Absolutely our backs are connecting well. Our mids and forwards need to start connecting better. All that hard work done up the defensive end needs to start paying off. I have a feeling we are going to absolutely flog some teams in the second half of the season.

Ned Stack is dead....there's Arrya Stack but she just had a blacksmiff popped her cherry...

Sansa Stack has never wielded a weapon in her life, how's she gonna save us from the White Walkers ?

Bran is just sitting around daydreaming...

Only one Stack can save us now......c'mon Sydney...these Valyrian Steel cap shoes are yours...

Before I delete a crapload of posts let me say one thing.
Posting unsubstantiated rumours of any player involved with our club will be dealt with.
There is a rumours site for that.
Go ply your trade there and spare us the crap.

What are the IQ levels of these recruiters?

Are we drafting professors or footballers?

FMD!
I’d be seriously questioning the IQ of a recruiter that determined coz he couldn’t stick with a bank job he wouldn’t cut it as a footballer , good, luck to the club with that oxygen thief on the payroll