Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

How Sydney Stack went from being ignored in two drafts last year to cult hero status in four games
“It’s not a cheap exercise relocating a kid and you’re trying to evaluate where will they live and who will they mix with. There’s a lot that goes into it.

“Full credit to Richmond … but keep in mind they’ve got 100,000 members so budget isn’t such a big deal. For other clubs you’re weighing up risk versus reward.

[/QUOTE]

I'm not sure if anyone has really highlighted this, it might be incidental to some, but this comment particularly stood out to me.

Some people tend to think that wanting and celebrating having the biggest membership in the AFL is just a big circle jerk, that it's not really that important. Well, obviously there are serious practical benefits that you can actually see on the football field. Because we are so big we can literally 'afford' to take the risk of recruiting the Sydney Stacks of football. Not every club can do that (which goes a long way in answering the frustrated question of rival supporters of 'why didn't we recruit Sydney Stack?'). Likewise would Lynch, coming from a a family of hardcore magpies, had come to Richmond if not in part because we are so massively supported and resourced.

So if anyone knows a Tiger fan who isn't a member and who needs a reason to as to why they should join, just tell em, 'Sydney Stack'.

In general it was a good article and enlightening, just a disgraceful couple of comments that were off putting . I really hope our media department sends a strongly worded please explain on behalf of Sydney and his family, the football department and members.

I’d be seriously questioning the IQ of a recruiter that determined coz he couldn’t stick with a bank job he wouldn’t cut it as a footballer , good, luck to the club with that oxygen thief on the payroll
There was a bloke who used to post on another forum who was a Tiger supporter who was also a draft expert - he stopped posting after he got a job with one of the West Australian clubs. Back when we recruited Brandon Ellis he was against doing so because of Brando's "bogan mates". So there is a class bias to this sort of thing as well as a racial one. That's what makes it so delicious to me as an unreconstructed Marxist Aboriginal to see that bump. It's not just the old thing about his Dad racially vilifying Lewis - it's seeing the private school kid from the establishment club dumped by a kid from the wrong side of the tracks.

Agree so much with all of these posts. As the father of a son who has a language disorder I can imagine these arseh*le recruiters dismissing him as he would interview poorly and they would question his "IQ"... lack of football ability would probably do for him but the point remains.
Like Sydney, my boy would struggle without a strong support network, his mum, but is now working and has further work prospects coming up.
Really was an extremely insensitive article.

These tunnel visioned clowns need to read a monograph by Howard Gardner titled "States of Mind". Gardner identified the existence of seven intelligences that went beyond the simplistic reduction of that concept to linguistic and logical/mathametical. These included spatial (the ability to hold in your head a model of the organisation of the world around you) and bodily/kinaesthetic (the sort shown by performers in the use of the whole or parts of the body to fashion some product or performance). If that doesn't describe the artistry of Sydney Stack, I'm buggered if I know what does.

There was a bloke who used to post on another forum who was a Tiger supporter who was also a draft expert - he stopped posting after he got a job with one of the West Australian clubs. Back when we recruited Brandon Ellis he was against doing so because of Brando's "bogan mates". So there is a class bias to this sort of thing as well as a racial one. That's what makes it so delicious to me as an unreconstructed Marxist Aboriginal to see that bump. It's not just the old thing about his Dad racially vilifying Lewis - it's seeing the private school kid from the establishment club dumped by a kid from the wrong side of the tracks.
The best footy snub was Gerard Neesham rejecting Andrew McLeod because he looked like an undisciplined "pirate" after attending a predraft interview, with a hooped earing and bandana on his head. The rest is history

I think that was Weaver youre referring to , was critical in fact wild about us drafting jack Riewoldt , I don’t doubt what you say above

IQ is bullshit. That's why organisations now call IQ tests "aptitude tests" because that's all they measure - your aptitude to do them. A few examples demonstrate this. The first is the fact that the US has been conducting the same IQ tests on all its citizens now for 100 years or so and every generation is about 10 points "smarter" than their parents. An average student from the 1920s would be considered borderline intellectually disabled today. Why this is the case is not entirely certain, but what it clearly proves is that what is being tested is learned rather than innate ability. Another example is a cousin of mine whose Dad was an academic psychologist. When my cousin was about 4 he served as a guinea pig for a bunch of postgrads who were tasked with designing IQ tests for toddlers. He got so much practice that he ended up recording Einstein level results. Believe me, my cousin wasn't that smart. I myself experienced this when I was trying to get a job as a computer programmer in the late 1980s and had to do a lot of really seriously hard aptitude tests. I never got a gig as it turned out, but when I eventually sat the public service exam, I was so practiced I nearly topped the bloody thing. So an indigenous kid from the wrong side of the tracks is considered to have a low IQ, whoopy do! Tyrone Vickery was supposed to be near genius. Go figure.
I have said before when people say this- theres a bloke who isnt that bright yet earns millions as a AFL player, yet i reckon im pretty smart and i dont earn truckloads. So who is the smarter of the 2???? Not me!!

In general it was a good article and enlightening, just a disgraceful couple of comments that were off putting . I really hope our media department sends a strongly worded please explain on behalf of Sydney and his family, the football department and members.
I noticed on insta he was reading the article too , get balmey onto it

Was watching Francis Bourke highlights tonight in a bit of a stupor on the couch and saw a bit of resemblance between he and Stacky. Stack's obviously not built like St Francis, doesn't quite have the size, but both are incredibly courageous, physical, gutsy players who crack in with no regard for self, while also having mercurial abilities. Obviously Syd isn't there yet, but its interesting.

Also, he looks great in #44 but I'd love him in Francis' #30...

I think that was Weaver youre referring to , was critical in fact wild about us drafting jack Riewoldt , I don’t doubt what you say above

Yeah I remember that, he was fuming - he also said Deledio would never be a high possession player ie 15-20 possessions was his forte. In fairness to him he was also ranting about why Rockliff got overlooked and said he was a steal

I thought he got a gig at Collingwood? Could’ve sworn it was the pies

Should watch a ted talk by Sir Ken Robinson about how schools kill creativity. Changed my entire perspective on education.

Still the best and most important TED talk in my opinion. Ken is an incredible guy and such an important topic. It’s so hard too because the system treats teachers like shit and even if you are passionate and really care about that sort of stuff you can only do so much against the curriculum.

And to top it off parents blame teachers too as they’re the first point of contact.

Awful for everyone.

Yeah I remember that, he was fuming - he also said Deledio would never be a high possession player ie 15-20 possessions was his forte. In fairness to him he was also ranting about why Rockliff got overlooked and said he was a steal

I thought he got a gig at Collingwood? Could’ve sworn it was the pies
Fremantle , don’t think it lasted. , funny about dat

Hope stacky sticks it all up those racist pricks shades of the dees not even interviewing Dustin Martin because he wasn’t a private school posh figjam w***er

We've been blessed with some tough players in recent times. Cotchin, Vlaustin, McIntosh, Martin, Broad, Grimes. But this kid could easily be the toughest.
Maybe tougher than previous players like Scotty Turner , Tony Free, Mark Coughlan, Duncan Kellaway dare I say it.
Not going back further than that because incomparable to Dyer, Balme, Bourke etc.

We've been blessed with some tough players in recent times. Cotchin, Vlaustin, McIntosh, Martin, Broad, Grimes. But this kid could easily be the toughest.
Maybe tougher than previous players like Scotty Turner , Tony Free, Mark Coughlan, Duncan Kellaway dare I say it.
Not going back further than that because incomparable to Dyer, Balme, Bourke etc.
Oh sorry how could I forget Towner

Being at the game the one thing I was struck by was stacks understanding of the game plan. Flossy, Dave, Grimesy and Broady didn’t really need to direct him at all.

He got stuck into melksham a couple times off the ball (which I loved) but his positioning 1-2 kicks off the play was veteran-like. This kid has a footy brain + skills and talent. Dead set gun.

20190426_234120.jpg