Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

Yeah, was quoted on RFC page
View attachment 729725
Not saying every injury is the same, especially with younger players you have to be more conservative etc. just happy it doesn’t seem to be super serious (fingers crossed)
Fingers crossed aye mate, thanks for going to that effort!

Surely has to hold on some hope then.

Of course not.

Why is it so hard to accept that some people believe he shouldn’t have been plying vfl and hence was an unnecessary injury.
1) if he was sore then rest him
2) if he was dropped for one poor performance then it’s a head scratcher given there are others who’ve played plenty of poor ones throughout the year.
3) dropped for zero tackles? Isn’t he 7th for tackles? So this was an outlier.
4) Coaches want to try him in another role? You don’t do that at this stage of the season.
I don’t accept any of those reasons.

Sure he could do it at training or the seniors but you wear that, it’s obviously different. This just reeks of getting too cute.
I just don't accept the non reasons some are putting up for his dropping to VFL level, as I think he was coasting and not working hard enough. Could he have stayed in the team, sure but the MC are much closer to the situation than us. The resulting injury is just footy, and correlating both just isn't knowledgeable about footy at all.

Any update anywhere today on the scans. ie severity?

I was hoping it was exactly what Grimes has done.
Rolled outwards, blows up, walking with pain after 24 hours, light jogging after 2-3 days, good to go after 5-7 days. Did a few myself before I started strapping for every game, not good, but come good quickly.
Sounds like Stack has done something more serious than that. Just a question of how bad now.

Any update anywhere today on the scans. ie severity?

I was hoping it was exactly what Grimes has done.
Rolled outwards, blows up, walking with pain after 24 hours, light jogging after 2-3 days, good to go after 5-7 days. Did a few myself before I started strapping for every game, not good, but come good quickly.
Sounds like Stack has done something more serious than that. Just a question of how bad now.
Went into surgery about 3 hours ago

Had surgery a few hrs ago. Very similar injury to Lamberts last year

Didnt Ross and Turner both have similar injuries and take 8-12 weeks?
Reckon best case its 4 weeks, and short of an injury or form disaster for others, you'd think he'd be very hard pressed to get a gig in the seniors given how tight it is for spots, blokes on the vfl banging the door down and how hard it would be for selectors to bring in a first year player into a do or die final cold after a decent injury layoff ... such a shame, he was our finals wild card

Didnt Ross and Turner both have similar injuries and take 8-12 weeks?
Reckon best case its 4 weeks, and short of an injury or form disaster for others, you'd think he'd be very hard pressed to get a gig in the seniors given how tight it is for spots, blokes on the vfl banging the door down and how hard it would be for selectors to bring in a first year player into a do or die final cold after a decent injury layoff ... such a shame, he was our finals wild card

Think those two were full syndomosis where stacks like Lambo and Butler last year are just partial

I just don't accept the non reasons some are putting up for his dropping to VFL level, as I think he was coasting and not working hard enough. Could he have stayed in the team, sure but the MC are much closer to the situation than us. The resulting injury is just footy, and correlating both just isn't knowledgeable about footy at all.
Agreed. It's like saying we shouldn't have played Rance in Round 1 because the MCG surface contributed to his ACL tear.

The result I agree with. But i think what most people are annoyed at is that his backline position he excelled at, then we moved him forward and then dropped him then? We have baker in the backline line and everybody knows stack is better in that position.

He was dropped for disciplinary reasons - I am not against that.

All the talk of being dropped for coasting, not working hard enough, shit form was just pie in the sky rhetoric. Good to know the coaching staff didnt drop him for form like was dubiously suggested from a disappointingly large contingent of supporters.

He was dropped for disciplinary reasons - I am not against that.

All the talk of being dropped for coasting, not working hard enough, s**t form was just pie in the sky rhetoric. Good to know the coaching staff didnt drop him for form like was dubiously suggested from a disappointingly large contingent of supporters.
Where did you hear this?

The result I agree with. But i think what most people are annoyed at is that his backline position he excelled at, then we moved him forward and then dropped him then? We have baker in the backline line and everybody knows stack is better in that position.
Yep that's fair and reasonable, but there has been the correlation with injury too. I would 've kept him, dropped short and played in the backline.

? Mentioned in here earlier he went into surgery and his injury was similar to Lambert’s. I hope I’m wrong as I would love to see him back. Maybe a vfl chance as I’m not sure if the club will risk him at AFL if he has nearly a month off.